We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fusion

Fusion
4 Calle Oriente #5, Antigua, Guatemala
7832 8023
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 222 restaurants in Antigua
Price range: $7 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Langley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We really enjoyed our dinner at this restaurant, the cost was reasonable, nice atmosphere, friendly sevice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    61
    23
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This place came highly recommended, but was very disappointing. The black bean soup was very thin and had little taste, and the steak was tough. My dining companions told me that their salads and pork tenderloin were good. Setting is in a Guatemalan version of a strip mall. My least favorite dining experience in my 10 days in Antigua.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Their menu had leafy salads which we were missing in Antigua, so Fusion was a good choise. The salads were very tasty. But the second course was disappointing. Both my pork and my friend's fish were overcooked to the point of being crunchy. We were disappointed with the owner and his treatment of the wait staff. The new waiter was lectured in front of us on how to open a wine bottle. Awkward for all concerned. And at the end of the meal when we told the waitress our entrees were overcooked and dry, she issued the complaint to the cook that very moment. Since the cook was an arm's length away in an open kitchen, it was agian, a very awkward moment. /The food was average. The atmosphere was tense. We would not eat here again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Atmosphere promising, drink disappointing, food terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Looking for a restaurant in Antigua, I stopped at Fusion restaurant, whose menu looked interesting and the decoration nice. I first ordered a cocktail which I thought was overpriced for the country, but wanted to make the best of my night!
The drink was really disappointing, more ice than anything else, flavorless and certainly not much alcohol whereas it claimed to be a martini. But the second and bigger shock was the food. I ordered a filet mignon, that only had exciting its name. It was floating in a pseudo mushroom sauce, and not only it didn't have any taste but also had a unpleasant aftertaste. It was not disappointing food, it was simply really bad food.
The waitress was nice and doing her job well, but a restaurant is before anything a place where you come to eat. You can put as much nice atmosphere and good service you want, if what you have in your plate and glass is bad, the rest is useless.
Overall a big deception especially considering the number of other options in town and the mid-high range of price Fusion pretends to be playing in.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Had a great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Food was great, they really knew how to not overcook a steak. It's really romantic and service is extraordinary

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fusion also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fusion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.