We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Party Hostal Club & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jungle Party Hostal Club & Restaurant to your Saves list
Jungle Party Hostal Club & Restaurant
6a Avenida Norte #20 | entre 3a y 2a Calle Poniente, Antigua 3001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BED BUGS!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Avoid this hostel as most of the rooms (we had a number of friends in different rooms) had bed bugs. Was not a pleasant experience.

The manager was extremely rude and unhelpful and has no idea how to run a place.

The drinks at the bar are also some of the most expensive i have seen on this trip!

AVOID this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niethivella, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Party Hostal Club & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Sorry Mate we were closed during the time you say you stayed with us!! and by far we have been bed bugs free proudly for over 4 year. We do have our matresses protected with a thin ledger of plastic which most travelers that had ever experience bed bugs on their traveling will rather to have!! than to waking up covered in nasty little bites. You can complain of the plastic for sure we take that complain happily every time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    20
    14
    11
    17
See reviews for
Families
0
14
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

This place was great, in a really good location in Antigua, right between the mArkets and the main square, very helpful and friendly staff and best of all a delicious breakfast! The rooms are nice, good atmosphere and always people to meet!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I don't normally bother with reviews, but I think people need to be warned about this place. Antigua has so many accommodation options there is no need to subject yourself to sleeping on plastic and verbal abuse. There are lockers in tiny tiny dorms, but otherwise they don't lock. Some random dude walked in on us at 2am and switched the lights on, apparently to check that everyone was sleeping in their proper beds? We had no idea who he was, and told him to switch the lights off and leave, which prompted the owner to burst in and tell us that we had a bad attitude and to get out or she will call the police.... drunk aggressive and belligerent. The staff are nice and try to manage the situation as best they can. Stay at your own risk.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Worst hostel of my entire trip. Dirty bathrooms, horrible beds (plastic covers on all of the mattresses make you wake up each time you turn in your sleep), and an owner that often yells racist and homophobic remarks at the residents. Not a fun place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niethivella, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Party Hostal Club & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
You are totally right. we are racist with anyone that does not have good manners, with people that is disrespectful.. with people that are stealing.. with people that takes drugs and think that they can do it in our premises... we are racist against people like that because we are called Jungle Party they think that they are aloud to do anything that goes beyond of behaving with respect to us and any of our guest. As for any other type of racism... please we were the first hostel that ever did a Gay Parade in Antigua and still proudly do it every year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our whole bus from Semuc came to Jungle party because the bar staff at Zephyr lodge in Semuc (which is awesome) recommended it. We stayed in the attic dorm, we stayed down the end furthest from the bar which was sweet coz it made it a little more private and quieter. Matresses were comfy, we were there in rainy season so it wasn't too hot at all. Best thing about Jungle Party is the people - everyone hangs out in the bar area, super friendly, Jordy and the rest of the staff are really friendly and helpful, pretty much the whole hostel went out to the same bar at night and was awesome. Music got shut off at 10.30/11.00 both nights we were there so was easy to sleep if you didn't want to join in. Breakfast was huge, best free breakfast we've had!

Room Tip: If you're in the attic dorm, try to get the end beds further away from the bar - quieter and mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to have a good time and partying you must go there. The staff is always nice and easygoing. The hostels is cheap and clean. Ive really had a good time. The emplacement is good you are near from the marketplace and restaurants

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's a nice place! They are very concerned with cleanliness, the staff are friendly, the security is excellent, the showers are truly HOT, there are lockers (bring your own lock though). Better yet, you get a great free breakfast and free water bottle refills. If you are looking for a dorm, this is the place for you. If you are looking for more peace and quiet, see elsewhere. It quiets down after 11 at night but it's still a party hostel full of young travelers. For what it is, it's great.

Room Tip: Take the delux dorms, they are only a bit more expensive but there are fewer beds and you have a gia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jungle Party Hostal Club & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Party Hostal Club & Restaurant

Address: 6a Avenida Norte #20 | entre 3a y 2a Calle Poniente, Antigua 3001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Party is centrally located and extremely popular with young people.We do our best to provide travelers a cheap, clean and comfortable place to stay. You will simply be spoiled on your trip kicking back and relaxing in our new terrace Lounge and splash pool.. There is not a better view of Antigua's famous volcanoes in Antigua along with the best atmosphere in town!! We have a great terrace, a tanning pool, two sunny bars, nice gardens, bean bags, swings, swinging beds and hammocks all for your relaxing pleasure, so come and enjoy while drinking the most delicious smoothies and juices in town.In the morning breakfast is full of selections to choose from a buffet table!!!! Free unlimited Wi-Fi, free movies everyday on a 42' Plasma TV. On Saturday all you can eat BBQ with lots of free drinks, games, pinatas...And don't forget our Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 3-11p.M.!So whether you are just passing through or (or staying a while) taking classes, let us take care of you here at Jungle Party Hostel!If you are interested in booking airport pickup please contact us at our email address. There is a minimum 48 hour cancellation period for shuttles to pick you up at the airport. If you cancel after this time keep in mind that you will still be charged for your shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Jungle Party Hostal Club & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Party Hostal Club & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.