We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Antigua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo

Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo
Antigua, Guatemala
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 239 Restaurants in Antigua
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Guatemala
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Antigua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

This restaurant is considered the ebst in town and I agree with that. The atmosphere is just beautiful especially in the evening when they light many candles. It is a bit pricey but then if you went the best you must be expected to pay a bit more.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at "El Refectorio". We hope you can come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    43
    25
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Memorable - a must eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We did a 9 course meal - fantastic! Everything was GREAT. The reparation, plating, taste, and service was perfect. The price was cheap! In the US this meal would have been 5x more. The grounds and atmosphere was very historic and beautiful. We also drank plenty of Zacapa rum! We were there for work and also had some spouses there. Definitely worth repeating for work or there for fun!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you very much for your nice comment. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not only an excellent restaurant but a hotel with six museums inside.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Our Lost World of the Mayans tour group of 14 had just finished our 19 day tour of Mexico, Honduras, Belize and Guatemala. As we were leaving the Hotel Villa Colonial for our last supper together, we were greeted by a procession of horse drawn carriages to take us to the Casa Santo Domingo Restaurant. We had a great ride through the streets of Antigua as dusk was falling. When we arrived at the Casa Santo Domingo I was surprised to find that this was not only restaurant but a hotel with six museums inside. We did a very quick tour of the premises before dinner and caught a glimpse of the sunset over the volcano.

The dinner was superb - the food, the service and the atmosphere were excellent! I had their duck dinner and it was the best duck I have ever had. My wife had their salmon dinner which was an enormous serving of beautiful moist salmon. Their plate presentation was an eye to behold. (my photos of them do not do them justice) It was a great way to wind up an excellent tour of the Mayan ruins or as our Tour Leader "Guiper" would say Mayan structures.

As my wife and I and another couple were staying an extra day in Antigua, we decided to go back the next day and REALLY see what the Casa Santo Domingo Hotel / Museum was all about. What an experience! The Casa Santo Domingo was an old convent built in 1547. It was then destroyed by earthquakes and abandoned by the Dominican padres who left it to squatters for centuries. The present building is the restored church and convent of Santo Domingo and Santo Tomás de Aquino (Saint Thomas Aquinas) College. At the time of the Spanish domination in the area these places constituted one single unit. The site has amazing gardens, with beautiful in-doors museums and the great archaeological ruins.

Although we never stayed in the hotel, it looks very intriguing with it location here in the old restored church and convent. If the restaurant and museums are any indication, it would be a great place to stay.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 5 days ago
We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your visit to La Antigua Guatemala and our restaurant "El Refectorio". We hope next time you will be here, you can stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

My daughter and I loved this place, with it's creatively presented and delicious food. The service was excellent and nicely paced. We would definitely return here on our next visit.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed visiting "El Refectorio " and hope you can come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Reunion, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Excellent food in a very romantic setting....the feel of this restaurant takes you back to what Antigua had been like. The menu was interesting and service was good.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your comment. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your visit at El Refectorio. We hope you can come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Casa Santo Domingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.