We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good chain of hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada Dona Luisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Posada Dona Luisa to your Saves list
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7a Ave Norte No. 4, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good chain of hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay here and at 3 other hotels under the same chain (long story). At each place, we negotiated a rate of 25 a night which didnt include breakfadt but gave us access to good clean kitchens, wifi (except on hotel) and very lovely staff. These hotels are easy places to stay for a good price. Get involved!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
19
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very typical Posada, great location, conveniently close to everything, very friendly staff, good service, clean basic rooms... My recommendation is to avoid Room # 1 by all means, it is literally right by the reception area (3 steps), and so can be extremely noisy! Other than that, I would recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very basic lodging but conveniently located, close to restaurants and the churches. Good view of the volcanoes from the upstairs terrace. Friendly staff that spoke some English. They were really good at providing information and replying to emails before we arrived. They also arranged our transfer from Guatemala City, which was nice. Because it was during Semana Santa, the room was seriously overpriced (2-3 times). Some noise at night, coming from an outside establishment. The kitchen is more like a little open shack. There was no breakfast offered. We were able to use the pool at the sister property of Casa del Parque for a fee. WiFi was included but slow. It was an OK place for a short stay and the staff was nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pritchard, BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Clean small hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Good basic accommodations with a shared kitchen area. The hotel is located two blocks from the main town square and two blocks from the main market (a must see/experience). The showers have water heaters built into the shower heads so do not run the water at full rate or it won't warm up (it took us a couple of tries to figure that out !). There is a night club a few doors away that can be noisy on a weekend night but it didn't really bother us. Be sure to try Mosa beer !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went to Antigua for a wedding in April 2012 and we stayed in Posada Doña Luisa. We got to the hotel very late (11:45pm). They had the room ready and clean for us. He just show was were it was and everybody went to sleep. The place was very quiet (at least when I was there). The kitchen is open for anybody to use and it is located in a beautiful quiet courtyard. We were able to warm up the kids milk and feed them some cereal we had with us which save us some money on breakfast outside. The staff was very nice and didn't give us any problems to check out.

The only thing is that if you get warm at night or need white noise ask for a fan in advance. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I don't normally write reviews, but this place has driven me to it. A three night stay around New Year.
On arrival, they asked me to pay immediately ($200), but wanted to charge a whopping 10 per cent surcharge for paying by credit card. Welcome to Antigua! A pleasant girl showed me to the room. I asked if I had any worries about noise from the street but was told this should not be much of an issue.
This is the only place I've ever stayed and had a nightmare without even sleeping. Next door is a bar/club which, on the first night was banging until 3 am and then the noise from the street including shouting, car alarms, blaring horns and screeching tyres did not abate until 4am.
No wonder they require payment on arrival! I would have left the following morning. Due to high season, they could not put me in another of their hotels.
The 3 people working there were actually nice and brought me foam ear plugs for the second
night!
However, I am incensed by the owners having maximised their prices for the time of year, fully aware that the guests will have to suffer DJs and live music that feels it is coming from the next room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Posada Dona Luisa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
1st, we thank anyone who stays at our hotel and anyone who writes a review, good or bad. 2nd, sorry to be so blunt, but we would ask our guest to have common sense. If you want peace & quiet during the New Years celebration, please go to a remote Island, not to a a lively tourist city like Antigua Guatemala and stay in a popular hotel 1 blk from the main central park. Please keep in mind that most people celebrate New Years, and if you have ever been in Latin America, you know they celebrate a lot more than most. So, there is going to be noise during this time. You can count on it especially this close to the main square where it is all happening.

Our normal rate for a double room is $42, & during high season (Christmas, New Years & Easter), our price is $75. This is just $33 extra, when most hotels more than double their prices. Also, during high season, if a guest arrives before New Years or in this case on Dec 29th, we ask guest to pay on that date because the banks were closed Dec 30th, 31st and Jan 1st. We did not want lots of cash in the hotel register over the holiday weekend. On the credit card surcharge, we keep our rates low for everyone. So, if you pay cash or travelers checks, you get these low rates. If you want to pay with a credit card, we charge what the credit card merchant charges us for that transaction. Here is Guatemala, there is only 1 credit card company, so they have a monoply and have very high rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The room I was given was large enough, but had a funky kind of smell. The toilet is partly under the sink, and there is only one faucet in sink and shower for water, so you get the temperature they offer. I didn't see the kitchenette or microwave others mentioned, nor was I introduced to it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posada Dona Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Dona Luisa

Address: 7a Ave Norte No. 4, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Dona Luisa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Dona Luisa is a beautiful small budget hotel in the heart, of colonial Antigua Guatemala. We offer everything that you could need during your stay in Antigua, fast Wi-Fi, cable TV, travel services, maps & tourist info. Our goal is to make your stay as comfortable as possible, while staying within your budget. Our great location, only 2 blocks from the central park, allows you to be close to everything, but it is far enough away to give you a very peaceful rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Posada Dona Luisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada Dona Luisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.