We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Good Choice in Antigua!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada Dona Luisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Posada Dona Luisa to your Saves list
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7a Ave Norte No. 4, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Another Good Choice in Antigua!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Seems to be a chain of hotels in Antigua of which Dona Luisa is one. I have stayed in three of the hotels, same owners, on more than one occasion. These are well run places and very helpful to the travelers. Unable to get a reservation at Don Valentino, arrangements were made for Dona Luisa via a young lady in Don Valentino. Nice place, clean with hot water and a small kitchen. I usually stay at one of these hotels when in Antigua. Only issue might be location. The surrounding area is dark and muggers lurk.

Room Tip: If unable to make a reservation in one of these hotels, they will do all they can to provide accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    25
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
18
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Feldkirch, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Helpful and friendly staff have travel connections for day trips around the beautiful city of Antigua. It is also located downtown where you can easily walk to watch the lights and the street life. I liked the interior design and the care taken to keep it clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elberta, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Except for the music from the near by bar, we really liked staying here. The little fan provided helps drown out the noise. It is clean, the mattresses are ok. The staff is very friendly. If you stay, take your own wash cloth and shampoo, soap and large, soft, towels are provided. Location wise, you can't beat it! I am sure we will stay there next year when we go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The visit in this place was very nice because this very nice place.
The next time in Guatemala (in 2013 ) i will be staying there for sure !!!
The people were interested in my stories and there was a possibility to cook.
This place gives a secure feeling witch is needed over there.
Lusaluna.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Hotel Posada Dona Luisa in Antigua, Guatemala, is conveniently located close to the town square, shoppes, restaurants, and sights. The rooms are clean but with no air conditioning or fans. Our shower had little water pressure and it didn't drain very well. No food is offered but you can buy bottled water and sodas at the front desk. If all you're looking for is a place to rest and sleep, this would suit you well - but wouldn't a hostel do as well for less?

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have more window air circulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I found this place clean, comfortable and i was on budget and it had all i wanted for a good price. Its close to central park and the staff were pleasant and friendly.

I would agree with some of previous reviews that if you're staying on a Saturday night, the neighboring bar/club music could get super loud.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We found this hotel comfortable and it has a great central location close to the main square. Good shower, comfortable bed and spacious room. We found it quiet but we were there mid week so not sure what is like in the weekend. Rooms on the upper level have better natural light and are more private - they open on to an internal balcony overlooking one of the many ruins in Antigua. Staff on reception friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posada Dona Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Dona Luisa

Address: 7a Ave Norte No. 4, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Dona Luisa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Dona Luisa is a beautiful small budget hotel in the heart, of colonial Antigua Guatemala. We offer everything that you could need during your stay in Antigua, fast Wi-Fi, cable TV, travel services, maps & tourist info. Our goal is to make your stay as comfortable as possible, while staying within your budget. Our great location, only 2 blocks from the central park, allows you to be close to everything, but it is far enough away to give you a very peaceful rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Posada Dona Luisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada Dona Luisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.