We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Convento Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Convento Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
El Convento Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2a. Avenida Norte # 11, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We loved our four day stay over Easter week. El Convento is a zen like experience with fountains, candles, interesting woodwork, great lighting in an old convent with all the modern conveniences. The bedrooms are all different with comfortable beds, flat screen TV, huge bathrooms with all the amenities. We ate several meals and had drinks on the upstairs patio which was lovely. Staff was professional and went out of their way to be helpful. It's a five minute walk to the central square.
With all the options we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    47
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
40
129
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great location on 2nd ave / 2nd st so easy to get into the centre. Room was lovely, nice outdoor space too. Shower was fantastic which makes the difference from a nice place to a great place. Only downside for me was the lack of a bar area, though did have a lovely sitting room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here for three nights while in Antigua and couldn't believe how gorgeous this place was. Everything looked spotless and well-decorated. The room was incredible, with a large comfy bed and one the best bathrooms I have ever seen. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was even a charge on our room that shouldn't have been there and they just took it off no questions asked when we said we were sure it wasn't us. The rooftop lounge is truly unbelievable. Daytime has actually some pretty good views and at night (!!!) has the most amazing lighting setup. Feels like a dream. Anyways, very much enjoyed my stay here. Didn't have the food other than the breakfast buffet (which was pretty good but not amazing).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We had three nights here in a 'junior suite' and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was comfortable and had a small balcony. The hotel is a bit like a maze with lots of outdoor space and also had a pleasant roof terrace.
The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the food was lovely. One thing to be aware of is that certain things on the menu take a little while to prepare - for example Parmesan risotto takes approximately 30 minutes. However, the food is worth the wait.
The hotel is very well located for exploring the town. Our first day coincided with the big religious parade on the fifth Sunday in Lent and the town was very busy. The hotel had leaflets and maps for this parade which were very useful.
All in all, this was a relaxing stay in a busy town.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Beach
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were staying nearby and decided to go here for drinks one evening. The rooftop bar/patio has wonderful views of surrounding volcanoes. Covered by a huge tree with hanging lamps, it was quite romantic. The staff was very attentive and friendly. I decided to return one morning to try internet. I had coffee (surprising bland) and juice (fresh squeezed, delicious orange juice). The WIFI worked well, but sap was constantly dripping from the trees onto my laptop and phone, which later required a lot of cleaning. I also notice some seats were sticky. I went back another day for breakfast. This time I avoided the coffee (I tasted my friend's and found it to be the same) - surprising in a place known for coffee. I had a platter of fried eggs accompanied by red sauce, fried plantains, black beans and sausage. it was beautiful, but it seemed to have been held on a hot plate while the other meals were finished. It must have been brought up and put at the bar for awhile before being served. I say this, since it was oddly horrible. The eggs were dry with hard yolks thus rubbery. All the food but the beans was cold (not warm but cold). The plate was warmer than any of the food (how odd is that)? For the area the breakfast was somewhat expensive $15-20. I expected more (like a hot meal). My friends had something like eggs benedict, which they liked. They said theirs weren't hot either but at least they were warm. Now I wonder how the dinner would have been. I had wanted to try the food in the dining room, since a person in reception told me to try the restaurant, since the food was guaranteed delicious. Perhaps breakfast there would have been better or other meals, but I never had the chance, since it was emptied to redo the floors the whole time I was there.

Room Tip: We did get to see some of the rooms which all looked really wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 separate nights during our 9 days trip to Guatemala. El Convento was the best hotel. Colonial style building with hundreds of details, looks like a museum. We had a chance to stay on both floors in differrent rooms. First floor room had small private patio with hot tub (did not use it- didn't have enough time), wooden fireplace and huge bathroom with shower with skylight. Second floor room had bigger bathroom with 2 sinks and additional shower. Everything was spotless clean. When you come they light nice scent candle for you. At evening they will knock to your door to say good night and give you small dessert.
Everybody was extremely nice and helpfull.
Restaurant was excellent- nice cozy room and very good food and service. We were twice and we loved everythig, especially desserts.
We would definetely come back to this hotel again. One of the best hotels were ever stayed.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms have patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The best hotel we stayed at in Guatemala; interesting, calm, cool moorish layout, two blocks from Parque Central. Lovely room with water fall shower & its own completely private mini garden with water fountain. Modern cuisine in Sitz restaurant to best international standards by inspirational chef Titi Bruderer. Roof terrace & bar fabulous, eat by log fire on roof after dark. Cool off in the plunge pool by day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Convento Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Convento Boutique Hotel

Address: 2a. Avenida Norte # 11, Antigua, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#7 Business Hotel in Antigua
#9 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Convento Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Convento Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Convento Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Convento Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.