We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Convento Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Convento Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Convento Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2a. Avenida Norte # 11, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breath taking!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I love this place, was a great stay amazing view from the rooftop, the rooms takes u back in time beautiful, My husband and I stay three amazing nights our last night we had a very delicious dinner at the restaurant, we had complementary Cava, dessert it was very nice Chef titi took her time to explain the dinner menu! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    42
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
39
117
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

The room was beautiful, nice private patio and bathroom. But it was just 30 steps from the restaurant and just in front of a big patio where people stayed laughing and talking until at least 11pm. Horrible!! This is not tolerable for this type of hotel.
Breakfast is a typical american style and fruit; but if you want something sweet you only can find 2 kind of biscuits. That's all. I ordered toasted bread with jam.!
Do not try the orange juice, not juice at all.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights (jan 3 & 4, 2013) at the Suite de los Caballeros. This hotel is located like four blocks from the main square close to the "entrance" of the city. Although small, the property its beautiful, full of character and charm. The architecture and design of the public areas and private rooms made our stay in Antigua much better, adding an taste of history and sample of the lifestyle of Antigua back on the XVII century.

Room Tip: Suite de los Caballeros had a huge bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Such an unassuming exterior leads into a quiet oasis. It feels like you are in a luxurious convent. There are beautiful courtyards leading to the rooms with indoor gardens and pools. The room we had was a junior suite and was very spacious and luxurious. Candles, artifacts and Spanish decor filled the room. The bathtub was big enough for a family with a separate shower . Two skylights lit the room in the morning. The kingsize bed was very comfy.

Room Tip: Second floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I loved this hotel but then I just loved everything about Antigua! It might seem a bit of a rabbit warren but there is a long narrow courtyard and the rooms are off that. I loved the huge skylight in our room in place of a window. The room was large enough and the bathroom had a very large shower recess, great for hanging any hand washing to dry. The large orange owl piece in the lobby was the symbol of Antigua and of course I found them in town and bought one to take home. However they did not give me a wake up call at 4am as requested and the breakfast box to go did not materialise so the last morning was a bit disappointing in terms of service, but the doorman had a smile and the porter came and got my suitcase. Free wifi here worked well. The food was very nice - I had lunch and breakfasts - not large servings but delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Nestled away behind a large unassuming brick wall is this quiet hideaway. Several lush outdoor courtyards leading to the 20 odd rooms make this hotel appear smaller than it actually is. We stayed here for 2 nights (each one on different ends of our trip to Lake Atitlan). Both our rooms featured an extremely comfy king bed, ample room, a living room (large flat screen tv), a good sized bathroom with lovely enclosed glass shower (rain shower with pressure control), huge soaker tub and a private grotto/garden with our very own outdoor jacuzzi. The staff was amazing, accommodating, pleasant and went out of their way, time & again to give us top notch service with a smile. The in house restaurant was very delicious, inexpensive and serving good portions. On our last night there we invited some friends to the hotels rooftop garden lounge, sat by the fire, ordered wine, beer and a cheese platter. We were undecided on where to eat dinner that night, after wandering the city much of the restaurants had closed. We returned to the hotel and the staff happily sat us down and weighted on us with impeccable service despite the late hour.

Be sure to use their black tiled lap pool located in the center courtyard garden. I recommend a warm soak in your private Jacuzzi and a dip in their serene pool (located under a 100 year tree canopy with lanterns). A perfect way to unwind after seeing the sights in Antigua and before you enjoy a great meal (make sure you hit Hector's, a local hole in the wall gem with divine food). After doing my share of world wide travel, this is the hotel that all hotels will now be measured up against. There was just something inexplicably amazing about every second spent here. A true gem. Well done!

Room Tip: Make sure you try their restaurant. Not only was the food delicious, but the service, atmosphere &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A medium sized boutique hotel, decorated with very good taste and with wonderfully comfortable beds. I would definitely recommend it!! I had no problems with the service despite the fact that I had heard this issue from some friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Convento Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Convento Boutique Hotel

Address: 2a. Avenida Norte # 11, Antigua, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#7 Family Hotel in Antigua
#8 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Convento Boutique Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your El Convento Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Convento Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Convento Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.