We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Convento Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Convento Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
El Convento Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2a. Avenida Norte # 11, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a delightful meal here with friends, they have created a very tranquil place inside the Hotel and the food was stunning.and staff attentive. We viewed the roof terrace and would have dined there but it was late and I wanted to avoid Mosquitoes. We were shown around the Hotel and the accommodation by the staff as we would like to stay in this Hotel next time we visit Guatemala.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    57
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
54
178
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

An absolutely beautiful transformation with great attention to details. It's very hard to remember you're in the third world. The staff are excellent. They are very knowledgable and helpful. The rooms are gorgeous, clean and excellently equipped. There's free wifi in each room, a wood burning fireplace and excellent amenities. I got some of my best sleep of my trip here. It was much needed as well.

Room Tip: If you're on the first floor, make sure no one's above you. It can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

If you suffer from sinus congestions and are allergic to moulds you need to avoid this type of hotels. El Convento is surrounded by a high wall and inside you have lots of water pools which aggravates the build up of moulds. In this region you expect a lot of rain in the winter season from May to early November. The walls were build to protect the nuns and block the sun from shining into your rooms. There are other upstairs rooms that are more spacious and drier but most of the rooms are on the mouldy ground floors. The beds arer good.
I could not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San josé
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Beautiful, quiet and fancy. Great attention and excellent food at the restaurant. Good location, surrounded by restaurants and walking distance from important streets. We had a really nice vacation! Even amenities were really good!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Upon stepping inside El Convento from the narrow street I was amazed by the calm and beauty of the hotel. Most rooms open onto an inside courtyard with a beautiful fountain. Right from the outset you feel as though you're back into the colonial days with the architecture, the rooms that have been named after famous local people (take note where your room is located as there are no room numbers, simply a beautiful carved door of the famous person it's named after, furthermore the doors are not well light at night). Whilst the rooms may be somewhat dark, it adds to the colonial character of the room and it was lovely having a private courtyard with a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the El Convento in Antigua for one night. It was phenomenal. If you have any experience in Latin America, you know that the standard of comfortable beds is vastly different from those standards in the US and Europe. Even the best hotels have crummy board hard beds. Well not here....the beds were extremely comfortable and a king size as well. The room was intimate and tasteful. The hotel is a converted convent and only has 26 rooms. All are unique and have names. Ours was San Francisco. We had a nice balcony overlooking a lush courtyard. The staff were very attentive. The shower was huge and very nice with L'Occitane amenities. Some reviewers commented on the dim lighting....it was dim, however, given that the hotel retained the historic details of the convent, it is a modern miracle that there is lighting. I used the mirror in our bedroom to apply make up. Another advantage to El Convento is while very close to the central park, it is off the main thoroughfare so it is quiet. This is important in Antigua, as it is a lively town with lots of foot traffic on the main streets. We finished our stay by enjoying a delicious breakfast the following morning. You will not be disappointed if you choose this gem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was the first hotel in Guatemala on our trip to Central America and we loved it.

We were greeted on arrival by the friendly reception desk and while there was some confusion over our reservation, things got sorted out quickly and we got an upgrade.

The rooms are indeed somewhat dark but very comfortable and impeccably clean. Bathrooms are well stocked and spotless.

We went for dinner that same night at the hotel and were treated to a delicious dinner by the chef Titi.

Location is a little off center of the town but it only takes about 5 minutes to walk to the central park.

The only disappointing thing about this place is that it does not have a pool. Rather, they have a little something that is called a pool but it is an oversized outdoor bath if anything. We did not care about it since the purpose of the trip was sightseeing, but some may be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed at the rooms Hermano Pedro and Don Felipe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El Convento Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Convento Boutique Hotel

Address: 2a. Avenida Norte # 11, Antigua, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#5 Business Hotel in Antigua
#9 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Convento Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your El Convento Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Convento Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Convento Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.