We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Serena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Villa Serena to your Saves list
La Villa Serena
Callejon del Espiritu Santo #16, Antigua 000100, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 88 Antigua B&B and Inns
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My stay at La Villa Serena in Antigua was the most pleasant experience of a lifetime. Beautiful room and courtyard, and a rooftop setting that offers exquisite views of the city skyline, the volcanoes, rainbows, birds, butterflies and lightening shows. The hospitality far surpasses any experience I have ever had at a bed and breakfast, and the meals were delicious. The owner, Marina, is a wealth of knowledge and guided us to places and sites that would align with our interests and her intuition on that was perfect. Truly a place filled with love. A very quiet part of town and yet you are just a 10 minute walk from the center of Antigua.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
26
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here in the summer of 2010 as part of a mission trip. I thought we would be roughing it in regards to food and accommodations but instead I thought I was in paradise! Marina is the most gracious hostess you will ever meet. She even gave up her private room for us to accommodate the size of our group. (I wouldn't even do that.) Every room is unique and magnificent, the gardens and courtyards are stunning. We were watching volcanoes spewing from the beautiful rooftop, the food was fresh and incredible along with the staff. It has been three years since I have been there and the memories I have of La Villa Serena and Marina are life long and unforgettable. I doubt I will ever stay at such a fabulous and memorable place again. Thank you Marina for providing your gift of hospitality to so many of us. :)

Room Tip: All of them are unique and wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

La Villa Serena in Antigua Guatemala: a unique experience!
I was suggested by a friend to spend in Antigua the Easter Week - they call it "La Semana Santa"-..... so I booked my stay at La Villa with my best friend: six days in Heaven!

The owner Marina is a deligthful lady and a perfect host. At breakfast and while returning from our excursions we were offered all kind of drinks, fresh fruits, cheese,sausage and local delicacies, basically anything we wanted. Knowing I am Italian, Marina and her attentive staff made for me the best coffee I ever tasted outside of Italy!

We had our meals in a lovely courtyard patio, surrounded by blooming orchids, palms and flowers, with the sounds of cheery birds and an old fountain.

The B.B. is a traditional 2 storey villa, 7 minute walking distance from the bustling , noisy "scene" where everything happens, but a very quite escape so that you can really have sweet dreams in comfortable queen size beds!
Each room has a different style/inspiration, lot of space and all the amenities we needed.

Marina made us feel part of the family: as La Villa was fully booked with guest from the States and Europe, she was our mentor in discovering the hidded trasures of Antigua and the neighbourhood.
I rate La Villa Serena a 5 star B.B. and I have just booked a stay in the fall for my son and his family.
Thank you Marina and good luck to La Villa!.

Mario
Torino, Italy
May 2, 2013

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Capturing Antigua’s La Semana Santa celebration is a dreamy once in a lifetime experience. Being at Marina’s La Villa Serena, was like returning to my mother’s womb. Every aspect of our stay is so memorable – delicious, healthy, nutritious meals prepared with market-fresh ingredients, magnificent home setting with bursting colorful flowers and hammocks for relaxing after a long day of exploration.
The homey, cozy rooms full of personality were spacious and unique where the beds were perfectly comfortable for this tall traveler. And how luxurious to have great hot showers available 24 hours a day!!
I felt as if I walked into an Architectural Digest magazine centerfold. A new home in Antigua, where I long to return again, Marina’s vast suggestions and recommendations for our daily excursions were always on the tip of her tongue. Her housekeeping staff, were busy bees, anticipating my traveller's needs and keeping the place immaculate!
I highly recommend La Villa Serena for that personalized holiday retreat we all need.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was in Antigua during Holy Week with a team of colleagues. It happened that we had scheduled a week of work during the busiest time of year.
Our rooms surrounded the central patio area. They were nicely sized and appointed. The staff was very accommodating to our needs. Marina was a fantastic host, giving us invaluable information about the area and also arranging breakfast for our early 5am waking schedule.
If the you are looking for a place that feels like a 2nd home instead of a cold hotel, check this place out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visited Antigua in March 2013, this is a very quaint B&B, it has all the amenities of a hotel but much more welcoming and a more personal touch associated with a B&B. Marina and her staff were very accommodating of all our needs and offering their expertise of what tourist attractions to visit, helping us book etc. From the rooftop balcony of the B&B, you can see the surrounding area of Antigua and a great view of the volcanoes. With only about a 15 min. walk to the central area of Antigua, I would highly recommend La Villa Serena!

Room Tip: The second storey rooms offered the better views of the surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessejean
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had originally reserved a room for the night at Chez Daniel, but upon arrival, we were told they were full and taken to La Villa Serena. To be honest, I was very confused about what was going on and felt like I had no control over the situation. None of this was Marina's fault. We thought Marina, the owner of La Villa Serena, was lovely. Super friendly and nice to talk with.

The B&B is a little off the beaten track, a short walk to the town center. It has a great courtyard filled with plants.

The rooms were cute, but our shower was terrible. Little to no hot water, and it sprayed funny. The bed was not the most comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Serena

Address: Callejon del Espiritu Santo #16, Antigua 000100, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet and secluded neighborhood, we invite you to visit our premises and delight yourself in our lush vegetation and our collection of more than 300 hundred orquids. Have a wonderful and restfull night's sleep in an extremely confortable mattress and cover yourself with a cozy down conforter. In the morning have an amazing complimentary breakfast, including homemade marmaledes, fresh juices and Antigua coffe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Villa Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Serena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.