We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant is worth the stairs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schnitz East Deli & Coffee Bar

Schnitz East Deli & Coffee Bar
597 Ada Dr SE, Ada, MI 49301
(616) 682-4660
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Ada
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The restaurant is worth the stairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We've driven by this place so many times but never went in. The only negative is the stairs but once you're in the restaurant, it's worth the climb. Food was great, service was very good and the decor was surprisingly modern.. Try the potato chip encrusted fish.. Awesome

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Love this place. Especially the broccoli salad - delicious! Worth a trip. Make sure you buy some bread to take home.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Special sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Schnitz never fails to please. The sandwiches are fantastic and the service is fast and efficient.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An old favorite, not as good as it was.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I will start by saying this is historically one of my favorite restaurants. Sadly the last visit is when I decided I would write a review. I love the location and the atmosphere. Great drink selection and menu items. The food has gotten a bit bland, not bad but not as good as I know it can be, so the food just gets an average score from me. What has seriously slipped is the service. It is usually busy but still no excuse for getting seated and waiting for 40 minutes for someone just to take a drink order. Then after seeing the drinks sitting at the edge of the bar for 20 minutes finally having to get up and get them yourself. If I had no historical back ground on this place it would have gotten a two. I hope it works thru what ever changes are going on and gets back on the right track. Still worth a stop if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Paul Bunyan Ate Here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Or at least he should have. The sandwiches are HUGE so order half (same sandwich with half the meat) unless you have a Paul Bunyan-esque appetite or want to wrap half up for later. The breads are wonderful with too many options to list; the meats and cheeses are also varied and fantastic as are the choices in condiments. The soups are also good and worht a try as a side. You can have them whip up whatever you want or order from their menu. I usually try a cup of soup and a half sandwich and take half of the sandwich home for dinner. The salads are similarly gigantic but all are great. For lunch, get there early or be prepared to wait in line for a bit (well worth the waith). They also serve dinner which is great too. Full service for dinner and a great local "secret" that is worth breaking into.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schnitz East Deli & Coffee Bar also viewed

Ada, Kent County
Ada, Kent County
 

Been to Schnitz East Deli & Coffee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schnitz East Deli & Coffee Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.