We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay at Newer Mid Range Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5520 US 31 North, Acme, MI 49610   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Acme
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay at Newer Mid Range Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Had a great stay at this Hotel. It's not in the Center of TVC action but close enough by car to all the major amenities.

It's a newer hotel so the rooms are spacious, SPOTLESS, decor & furniture spanking new. The exterior has plenty of grassy areas for your pooch. It's immaculately cared for too. There are adirondack chairs for guest use at the berm overlooking US 31 & the Bay.

The indoor pool is CLEAN & in good condition. There's a nice sized jacuzzi adjoining the pool.

There's a nice exterior outdoor patio with tables, chairs & umbrellas off the large communal breakfast area.

The staff was very competent, efficient, friendly & helpful.

I got a weekly rate of $109/night for a Queen during the Summer.

The bike path runs close by & the Bay is right across the street. There's a public boat ramp & 2 modest parks for relaxing on the beach. The Acme Township park has a Bathhouse with an exterior shower. There were benches, picnic tables & grills for use.
There were some stone fire rings too for those who want to have a camp fire on the beach

Tom's Grocery is down the street.
GREAT Pizza joint next door.
There's an Awesome Authentic casual Mexican joint up the street.
McDonalds, Subway, Gas, Liquor within 2 blocks. There's also bike & boat rentals nearby. I went to Crow About Coffee a 3 mins drive which was good.
Don's Drive-in is close by too! Great burgers, fries & the CHERRY SHAKES A MUST!

Overall, VERY HAPPY with my stay. I will definitely stay here again anytime I am back in TVC.

DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    45
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
41
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Recently stayed because we. Were remodeling our home. My husband had been staying once a month and not had a bad experience . But when we made our reservation we set it for 4 days to stay in a first floor room. We were told this was set because we had a dog (dogs are not allowed on 2 or 3rd levels) we got there they put us on second floor had to ask to be moved to first floor which they did the second night then they had our check out day wrong we had to move to second floor again on our last nite. The manager on duty was a pure jerk . He was rude and treated us like we didn't mean much. For the most part the rest of the staff was nice rooms were clean butm the ones we stayed in smelled I had to go get room freshener and febreeze, they had a full hotel people running up and down the stairs all nite long room above us had someone going in and out all nite. Not very quiet or restful, and the word sleep should not be in their name because sleep is not what you will get. We will not be using this hotel ever again and we will refer our friends to stay elsewhere .

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We just came back from a trip to Michigan. Finding this pet friendly hotel was wonderful. Friendly staff, a generous continental breakfast and most of all cleanliness were the highlights. It's right off of HWY 31 so it's very easy to find. We saw all kinds and sizes of dogs at this property but there was never any noise or smell. Rooms are basic ( we had one with 2 queen beds) but the AC worked well and we were very comfortable ( family of 3 plus our dog).

Room Tip: There is a cute little pizza place next door that is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shtry, General Manager at Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Sleep Inn & Suites and thank you for your wonderful comments. Please come see us again. It was our pleasure to host your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Hill, MA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This is a place which probably has to compete with all the $$ accommodations just a couple of miles away. That said, it's doing a great job. I arrived on my motorcycle late in the afternoon. Front-desk staff was friendly, fast, and helpful in every way.

My first-floor room itself was clean, sweet-smelling and very attractive (shame on me for not taking photos). Anyway, someone paid attention to the details, putting light switches in just the right places, and light fixtures where they'll do the most good.

AC was easily adjustable and kept the temperature even.

WiFi was very speedy (19Mbps/DL) which made watching a movie on my iPad on Netflix possible.

Bed was fine for me, and had plenty of support and almost too many pillows of different firmnesses.

Shower (no tub in my room) was easily adjustable and plenty of water.

Breakfast was the best I've seen in hotels in this price range ($130/night). Eggs, bacon, sausage, and a whole range of pastries, breads, etc.

A little bonus if you're there in the summer. The hotel has a row of chairs looking out on the lake, and if you can snag one of these you can watch the sun sink into the West from a truly great vantage point.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shtry, General Manager at Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
How very kind of you to take so much of your own time to share your experience at our property with other travelers. Thank you very much! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while visiting this beautiful area we are so fortunate to call home. Thank you for your compliments and please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Was in town to visit the dunes but did not want to spend $$$ on a hotel. Was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and the room was spacious. The location is 10 min from downtown Traverse but we didnt mind because we were away from the traffic and noise. Unlike other hotels on the strip, the Sleep Inn had an unobstructed view of lake. The bonus: free hot breakfast. A variety of breakfast items could be found including sausage, biscuits, waffles, eggs, ham, pastries, etc. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shtry, General Manager at Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We sure appreciate you staying with us while visiting this wonderful area and thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Happy summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Outside main city, beautiful view of bay, but out first floor room was tiny, not very clean, and smelled like mildew. We were there for a sports tournament, so we did not have a choice. The room was WAY overpriced for its size and lack of fridge/microwave. I guess there was a wine festival in TC that same weekend, so prices were higher. Breakfast was just OK. I would not stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for bay view. Otherwise cars are right out your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shtry, General Manager at Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We sure appreciate you staying with us and are sorry to see that your stay was not more than satisfactory! I am privileged to work with a fine group of individuals committed to providing the best lodging experience possible to each of our guest's and when we fail in our endeavors to do so, I assure you, it is taken most seriously. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you if you would be so kind as to give me a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had a room on the first floor. For some reason they gave us a handicap room. This was okay, but we did not need one. It was convenient to the indoor pool and spa, which were extremly nice. It had a hot breakfast and lots of options like yogurt and waffles and bagels. The location was very good. The lake was across the street, where there were lots of sailboats. All in all satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shtry, General Manager at Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We are so happy you chose to stay with us at the Sleep Inn & Suites where it is our pleasure and commitment to provide each of our guest's with Genuine Northern Hospitality! Thank you for taking time to let us know how we did, we sure appreciate the compliments and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites

Address: 5520 US 31 North, Acme, MI 49610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Acme
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Acme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn , Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Hotel Acme
Sleep Inn Acme
Acme Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites Grand Traverse County/Acme, MI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.