We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Unexpected Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Traverse Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Traverse Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Grand Traverse Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Grand Traverse Village Blvd., PO Box 404, Acme, MI 49610   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Acme
Waretown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Unexpected Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had an opportunity to stay at the Grand Traverse Resort and Spa during a recent business trip. When I heard about the place and was told we would have dinner "on the beach", I just couldn't believe my ears. But, the place was spectacular. My room overlooked the golf course and the mountainside, which was just as spectacular a view as the view of the lake and beach.

Looking inside, the room was great, clean, spacious and very comfortable. The help was very friendly and made the visit more than pleasurable. I enjoyed the stay, had a great night's sleep and look for a reason to head back to this resort with my wife for a week long stay. Michigan was so much more than I anticipated. Great place to try if you want something different.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    156
    129
    97
    69
See reviews for
118
175
9
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a very nice resort with average rooms. Rooms are comfortable enough but need improving look wise.
The tennis courts, gym, and pools are great. Beautiful lobby with a very friendly and fun bartender. Great shopping areas inside, love the candy shops! Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I went to this resort years ago and couldn't wait to return...not at all the same. Our room was dirty, the mattress sank into the middle, tube was filthy. We travel almost a week each month and I have to say this is pretending to be a nice place with rooms falling apart inside. Play golf I guess and leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I picked this resort for our "babymoon". You know the last vaca before baby arrives. Based on what we read we expected beautiful rooms, top-notch service...the whole nine yards. What we got however was nothing special at all. The room: while the bed was super comfortable everything else was kind of dirty (the tub especially). My husband had asked for strawberries to be waiting for us when we arrived. They didn't come. When he asked about it, the front desk told him in a not so nice way they'd need 24 hours. For chocolate covered strawberries...really? We also paid extra for a water front view. I could see the bay alright....if I stood right next to the window and peered as far to the left as possible. Not so romantic...which was the goal of this trip. The families seemed to all be enjoying themselves. They have a lot to kid that is kid friendly. Maybe we should have saved this trip for after baby arrived.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

After staying at a different hotel down the road & having a horrible experience, we called Grand Traverse Resort & they got us into a room that morning (hours before check in time). Every staff person we met was nice, helpful and professional.

The resort wasn't busy at all, my children had the pool almost to themselves.
The resort was clean, the shops were nice to browse in. Having starbucks in house was really nice too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have stayed at this resort in the past, and the last 3 years, in a rental condo on the property grounds. I will say that last year was probably our best year....but this year things really went south.
When we checked in we were told we couldn't have a 3 bdrm condo in Singletree as originally requested, as they were all booked up. (If you do decide to go - SPECIFICALLY request Singletree condos). So we ended up in the older brown condos near the entrance (Bayview Lane). At first, this was fine, as we had rented one of these several years ago, and while not new, it was still well-kept. Not so with this unit...
We tried to check in early (which I had put on the reservation), however, we were told the condo wasn't ready and that housekeeping needed to finish cleaning it; they would put it on a priority list. No surprise, and we were willing to go and have lunch. They assured us they would text us when it WAS ready. The front desk did not even try to call or text, and when we finally made our way back to the lobby at 3:30 - we were greeted with: "Oh, didn't you get the text? It's been ready since 1:30!" Strike one.
Then, when we went to the unit the problems started multiplying:
--There was no washer and dryer in the unit. One of the reasons we rent a condo is for the convenience of the kitchen, refrigerator and facilities, including a w/d. The front desk told us "very few of our units have them" yet, the two years previous we did have it. Did we just get lucky??
--The shower door tracks in both bathrooms had "crud" in it. It literally appeared as if it hadn't been cleaned in several months. The caulk and grout were also moldy.
--The patio/deck was lacking for chairs...there were two. Mind you, this is a 3 bedroom unit, that sleeps 8 if you include the sleeper sofa! Wouldn't you have enough patio furniture for you or your guests? The screen on the patio was also torn, and the master suite screen door was missing.
--Stains on the valances...
--Bathroom counters were dusty....
--The unit generally was dirty - and appeared as though it had not been touched in months. Wasn't housekeeping supposed to be in there cleaning it, which is why we couldn't check in early?
Strike two.
So we meandered back to the front desk to have our room switched...to which they responded - "we are totally booked." Again, maybe not a surprise, since it was a holiday weekend. So we listed our concerns, and the response was - "Gee, what would you like us to do?" The attitude was deplorable; rude and definitely not becoming of a customer service representative.
We pressed them for a discount; to which they responded with a $25/night deduct. Now mind you, these condos are NOT CHEAP; $25 was nothing.
We were going to the spa on Sunday - so I inquired about a discount there; maybe 20% off services? Trey Kelley (I think that was his last name...) said he "couldn't do anything about that, but he would call the Spa." He never did.
When I finally talked to a customer service representative later on the phone, to again reiterate our dissatisfaction, I was told we would get 1/2 off the room rate for our first night. Fine.
When we checked out, I must say, the woman at the reception desk was very nice, and told us that all of our concerns did go to the Manager on duty. She also was kind enough to take the $25 per night off of our bill.
Will I stay here again? Not if I can help it.
Overall, customer service and quality for the price you pay is not worth it. I've had better luck at cheaper properties!

Room Tip: If you can, request the Singletree condos. We have had better luck in those units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTResort, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We again apologize for the inconveniences that you mention. We value our repeat guests a great deal, so it was disappointing to hear that we did not meet your previous expectations. Meeting our guest's expectations is at the top of our priority list and when we don't do that and a guest informs us, you can be certain that it reaches the entire chain of management, including every staff member that you interacted with during your stay. With that said, the experience you shared is certainly not what our guests have come to expect. As a previous guest, we hope you can agree.

When it comes notifications on your room being ready, we have a text message system that automatically sends out a text message to our guest's phone as long as we have their phone number and carrier. We ran a few tests and didn't come across any problems. It's possible that we did not enter the correct carrier, so we do apologize if the text message never made it through. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback on our page. Do not hesitate to contact us at 231-534-6000 should you want to further discuss your stay.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We chose to stay here because the location was convenient. For a very expensive hotel, the amenities in the room were sparse. We didn't have time to try the pool or gym. It was not anything special although the price was above average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Traverse Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Traverse Resort and Spa

Address: 100 Grand Traverse Village Blvd., PO Box 404, Acme, MI 49610
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Acme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Acme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Traverse Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our 900-acres northern Michigan Resort just outside of Traverse City. Enjoy 54 holes of championship golf, spa, indoor/outdoor tennis, indoor water playground, fitness center, private beach club, 4 restaurants, shopping & more. Choose to stay in the signature 17-story glass tower, in a condo down at The Shores or in the newly renovated Hotel. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Traverse Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Traverse Hotel Acme
Grand Traverse Resort Spa
Grand Traverse Resort Acme
Grand Traverse Resort And Spa Grand Traverse County/Acme, MI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.