We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Traverse Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Traverse Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Grand Traverse Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Grand Traverse Village Blvd., PO Box 404, Acme, MI 49610   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Acme
Hudsonville, Mi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We did a weekend getaway with our family of five and stayed at a condo unit. It is connected to the main facility, which allowed interior access to the pool, lobby and such. The condo has two bedrooms, two baths, a kitchen, and living room. Very nice and lots of room. The HD TV's actually had HD too. Expect a lot of kids in the pool having fun while the adult only hot-tub outside is very nice. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    165
    135
    98
    69
See reviews for
124
181
9
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you live in this century in a hotel, you need a decent internet connection. I travel extensively for work (and for fun). I'm on the road a lot! This is the worst internet connection I've EVER encountered. In this day and age, there's no excuse for that. It was basically non-functioning. It took me about 10 tries to connect, then it was so slow that I couldn't use it. Stuff wouldn't load at all. I will never come here again. If my teenagers had been along, I would have had to move to a different hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTResort, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We apologize for the poor experience when attempting to connect to our wi-fi network. Are you able to pass along the specific dates and tentative time of day you experienced the poor connection? We're unaware of any recent conflicts our guests have had when connecting to our network. We actually have a very solid infrastructure with fiber running throughout our property. We have been upgrading access points throughout our property and implementing new network configurations so it's possible there was some downtime. Your experience is certainly not the normal experience when it comes to our wi-fi network. Regardless, we apologize as having a strong wi-fi connection is often #1 when it comes to guest expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntington woods, MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We just got back from our 3 day/2night spring break vacation at Grand Traverse Resort. They were running a $159/2night special. Not only was it a great deal on a room, but the resort is great! Everything is under 1 roof plus a great pool for the kids, restaurants (at reasonable prices) and a Starbucks right on the resort! We stayed in a hotel room which has been recently updated. Each night the resort hosted a family movie night including popcorn and drinks. They had crafts throughout the day (for breaks from the indoor waterpark). I would have given them an "Excellent" but at the waterpark, they closed off the hot tub for chemicals and opened it too soon and my son was sick that night from inhaling the chlorine. But, they delivered brand new bedding at 2am. I would love to go back in the summer to enjoy the outdoor amenities and some golf for mom & dad. Lastly, the staff was fantastic. Very helpful, courteous, etc. Bell men Isiah & Jon were great, all the helpers with the crafts, movie night, candy making, etc. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is difficult to categorize. On one hand the lobby, restaurants, and spa are amazing. On the other hand the guest rooms (I stayed in a tower room) have out-dated decor, the pool is old feeling, and the hotel is VERY overpriced. I love this place and have stayed here a number of times but recently I have found myself staying at other local hotels that are cheaper and newer and then come to the resort for dinner or to use the spa-facilities.

Room Tip: Tower room only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I wanted to get away for a night before we have our first child. The resort is not what we expected. The bed was horrible and the sheets were cheap and itchy and our duvet cover had a stain on it. The interior of the room needs a lot of renovating. Also for a "tower" room that we paid extra for we also got a view of a rock roof and parking lot. We went to the Aerie for dinner and ended up just having appetizers and leaving. Although the view was spectacular everything else was lacking from the service to the atmosphere. The only thing not lacking were the prices. If you're going to charge that much at least have a dress code!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights for the Schluter Systems seminar and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room on the 6th floor had a nice view of the snow covered golf course. There were a few minor cosmetic blemishes in the bathroom but no big deal.
In the mornings we enjoyed a buffet style breakfast and omlette station. For our lunches we had a sandwich bar on the first day and pork loin with cherry glaze the next. Our dinner was served family style at Aerie on the top floor of the resort. The wine braised short ribs were crazy good.
The staff were top notch as they catered to our every whim. Awesome.

Dennis & Beth Leonard

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed for two nights in March for a conference. This is a full service resort with nice rooms, beautiful surroundings and golf in the summer. Unfortunately, everything was covered with snow when I was there. I would love to come back in the summer. My first room smelled like smoke but I was quickly offered a different room. The staff was very accommodating. The sports bar near the lobby had decent enough food. There is a casino nearby and a shuttle is run back and forth or you can drive. Traverse City is a vacation destination in the summer, so rates are very reasonable off season. Views from the tower rooms are nice. There is also a restaurant at the top of the tower that looked to be very good. One note: the bed in my room was awful.

Room Tip: tower room, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Traverse Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Traverse Resort and Spa

Address: 100 Grand Traverse Village Blvd., PO Box 404, Acme, MI 49610
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Acme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Acme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Traverse Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our 900-acres northern Michigan Resort just outside of Traverse City. Enjoy 54 holes of championship golf, spa, indoor/outdoor tennis, indoor water playground, fitness center, private beach club, 4 restaurants, shopping & more. Choose to stay in the signature 17-story glass tower, in a condo down at The Shores or in the newly renovated Hotel. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Traverse Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Traverse Hotel Acme
Grand Traverse Resort Spa
Grand Traverse Resort Acme
Grand Traverse Resort And Spa Grand Traverse County/Acme, MI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.