We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a relaxing weekend away from life.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Traverse Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Traverse Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Traverse Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Grand Traverse Village Blvd., PO Box 404, Acme, MI 49610   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Acme
MI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place for a relaxing weekend away from life.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have been to GTR approximately 5 times in my life. I have never had any issues at the resort. Arie is wonderful. Views are spectacular. My room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    135
    106
    88
    65
See reviews for
104
147
7
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
maui
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This past weekend we stayed at the Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, but this time the condo's. We were there for the Iceman Comenth bike race. Previsously we stayed in the tower which was nice, but it was expensive plus the views and pricing can be different. This year the group was staying at the resort and when we were ready to book, the tower was full so they offered us a 1 bedroom condo for $20 less a night then the tower room. We stayed in the Vallye View condo's and we couldn't have been happier. It was spacious and we even had a great view of the water from our balcony. The kitchen area was smaller then anticipated, but still it was nicer then a hotel room. The kitchen had dishes, pots and pan, silverware everything you need to make food with. There was no oven but a 2 burner stove and microwave. We were close to walk back and forth to the hotel so that was great. Only thing that I didn't like, it that darn resort fee!!! OMG really $14.95 then you have to pay taxes and hotel taxes of about $12 a night more. This adds on $27 dollars to the price of the room. I can't figure out this resort fee. Other hotels that have pools don't charge it. Anyway that did not stop us from enjoying out condo.

Room Tip: If you are looking for more space choose a condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTResort, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property. If you participated in the Iceman Cometh Challenge, we hope you had a great time! We do understand how the resort fee can be frustrating. The fee allows us to offer amenities like access to our Health Club, Fitness Center and Private Beach Club, Free Wi-Fi, HD Channels, Parking, Bellman Service, Complimentary shuttle to the airport and nearby casino and more. We make sure that our resort fee is listed on our website next to each package and that our reservation agents inform all potential guests when providing a quote. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a great time. The resort was great. The spa was a wonderful place. So relaxing. The restaurants and the stores were nice. The people were friendly and helpful. The restaurant on the 16 th floor has wonderful views. While having brunch we seen an eagle flying over lake Michigan. We stayed in the tower so we had a good view from our window.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and all it has to offer. I like the little gift stores- its a convenient place to get a quick snack or gifts to take back home. The pool area was top rate, clean, and very large. Exercise area also. Clean, clean rooms, and crisp linens. I used to go there years ago to the bar at the top for sunsets and it was a phenomenal view, the only one of its kind in the area. Golfing is very serious business there, but we did not try that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed for three nights with the "Romance Package". It included two breakfasts and a dinner! We ate breakfast at the grill and it was very good and the staff was great. For dinner don't miss Aerie. The food was very well prepared and beautiful to look at, plus included in the package. As for the room, it was very nice and big. We stayed in the tower with a lake view, and even with the bad weather from hurricane Sandy it was still beautiful. We spent time in the pool and outdoor hot tub too which was very nice. As an added bonus we took our dog to the Dog Dreams Inn and he had such a great time he slept all the way home! Will use that service again.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, go for the tower, it's a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, MI
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have passed this resort at least 20 times on my way "up north" and have always wondered why anyone would ever stay here. Last week my husband had a conference there and I accompanied him. The resort is on the outskirts of Traverse City, a resort area in northern Michigan that I just don't get. This area is a several mile long strip of 2 and 3 star hotel/motels along the shores of Lake Michigan. The beaches are sandy but that is about the only draw. There are no quaint lake front restaurants and bars. No wonderful boardwalk. Just traffic, a large state camp ground, mini golf spots and downtown Traverse city. A tourist trap. Drive 20 miles further west and experience a true Michigan "up north" in towns like Glen Arbor and Leland. Anyway, Grand Traverse Resort is a tower hotel surrounded by golf courses, condos and timeshare properties. It is not located on the lake. It looks totally out of place. We asked for a nice room with a view and we were put in the 4 story building next to the 16 - 18 story tower building. We had a view of the tower and nothing else. The room was typical. The carpeting and sofa appeared to be brand new. The sofa looked as if it had never even been sat on. The bathroom was unremarkable. The toilet and vanity were very low. At first I thought we must be in a wheelchair accessible room - they were that low - but we were not. Shower pressure was poor. The smell of popcorn permeated the hall and the room. (There is a popcorn machine 4 stories down in the bar.) The mattress was much too soft for my liking. The resort is large and the hotel is a convention center. There were several conventions and weddings taking place. The lobby bar consisted of about 10 bar stools and a few tables located in the cavernous lobby. There was nothing appealing about it. The only other bar was a sports bar/restaurant with a free pop corn machine. Unsupervised kids were running in and out grabbing popcorn everytime we passed by which was often since the bar was located across frtom the elevator to the room. Our banquet food was unremarkable. The banquet service was excellent. The hotel is owned by the same people that own Turtle Creek Casino and there is a shuttle to the casino. Other than that it is necessary to get in a car and drive several miles to restaurants and bars. If you are a golfer this is probably an ok place to stay, otherwise I just don't get it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was there for a conference so I didn't experience a great deal of the resort. However, it was very nice. My room was very comfortable (and I was in the main resort, not the tower rooms which I hear are much nicer). I guess the only disappointment with my room is that there was no fridge. It's a wine area. It would have been nice to keep a bottle of wine in the fridge rather than ice bucket. I think the tower rooms have a fridge.

The only restaurant I ate at was the sports bar and it was good - the usual. The stores in the resort a nice touch but I didn't shop in them. The staff was friendly. Check and check out was fast. Overall, it was fine. Nothing really good or really bad. It's what I expected for the price paid. If you are staying there to visit Traverse City, it's about a 15 minutes ride just so you know.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra, you might consider the Tower Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Traverse Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Traverse Resort and Spa

Address: 100 Grand Traverse Village Blvd., PO Box 404, Acme, MI 49610
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Acme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Acme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Traverse Resort and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our 900-acres northern Michigan Resort just outside of Traverse City. Enjoy 54 holes of championship golf, spa, indoor/outdoor tennis, indoor water playground, fitness center, private beach club, 4 restaurants, shopping & more. Choose to stay in the signature 17-story glass tower, in a condo down at The Shores or in the newly renovated Hotel. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Traverse Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Traverse Hotel Acme
Grand Traverse Resort Spa
Grand Traverse Resort Acme
Grand Traverse Resort And Spa Grand Traverse County/Acme, MI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.