We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not be back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Traverse Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Traverse Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Grand Traverse Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Grand Traverse Village Blvd., PO Box 404, Acme, MI 49610   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Acme
Paw Paw, Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will not be back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The rooms are very old, small bathrooms ,tile not clean. Carpeting needed to be cleaned. The bed should be replaced. I called the resort two different times and asked if the rooms have been updated, they said yes they are very nice. Not the five rooms my family had. No room at the very small beach or outside pools.

Room Tip: Look at the room first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    157
    129
    97
    69
See reviews for
118
176
9
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed at GTR&S for a conference. On checking in, we were assigned to a first floor room in the "old" part of the hotel. The room was dark as trees covered the window, and the bath room was small. It looked like no one had stayed in the room for some time. When we noticed that the tissue dispenser was empty, we asked for another room.

The front desk staff apologized for our dissatisfaction and quickly assigned us a room in the Tower. The bell staff helped us move expeditiously. What a difference! Like a completely different hotel. A bigger and brighter room, and the house keeping was very attentive. Also the elevator for the Tower went directly to the ballroom level where the conference meetings took place.

This conference rotates through the GTR&S every 10 years or so. If I am still a conference attendee the next time it comes to this location, I will specify a Tower room in making a reservation.

By the way, those at the conference who stayed in the older rooms we less than impressed. The management should upgrade this section, perhaps restructuring the rooms to make them bigger and to incorporate more natural light.

I hate to complain and ask for a change of room, but there is a threshold beyond which such a request becomes necessary.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We visited the resort to ascertain if it would be a fitting venue for our 2013 convention. It was a perfect stay and a perfect fit for our group. We had wonderful meals (one at the hotel and one at the casino - owned by the same band of Native Americans). And lovely accommodations. The tower rooms were very nice (where we stayed) but the hotel rooms seemed even larger. The entire hotel section of the resort is scheduled for remodeling beginning this fall and ending in the Spring of 2013.

The best part was the staff! Everyone from the front desk and bell station to the maintenance staff was extremely helpful and friendly. No one except the sale staff knew we were there for any special reason yet all went out of their way to assist us. One of the housekeeping ladies went out of her way to move her vacuum cleaner cord to make sure we would not trip! (Even though the cord was not in the way.)

I would recommend this resort for one and all! Can't wait to go back and get a Spa treatment!

Room Tip: Be sure and check out the shops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

This resort is doing quite a few good eco-friendly things - check out what we think - http://greentravelerguides.com/2011/06/green-hotel-traverse-city-mi/

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I made a recent trip to Grand Traverse Resort and Spa for a relaxing weekend get away. Upon checking in my boyfriend asked what was included in the package he had purchased for us and asked for the breakdown of our room price and our spa package. The gentlemen who was assisting us didn't know the breakdown. Gave us our room key and sent us to the elevator. We entered our room expecting luxury accommodations, instead we found an outdated room with a broken dresser and a nightstand drawer that fell apart upon opening. The room was suppose to have a balcony with bay views. Our room didn't have a balcony and only a sneak peek of the bay.

We had made appointments for a massage at the SPA but were very unsatisfied with the room. This is a large complex and we didn’t receive anything such as a map to indicate where things were located. My boyfriend went to the front desk to tell them we were unhappy with the room and wanted a refund. The manager advised that the resort was booked because of several conferences but moved us to the "SHORES," condos that are owned and operated by Grand Traverse Resort. This was a beachfront condo with a beautiful view and had a pool right out side our sliding doors. However, this still was not luxury accommodations.

We spent some time on the beautiful beach before heading back to the resort for our massages. The SPA was wonderful. Brin and Julia took great care of us. We also made reservations for dinner at Aerie. This restaurant is located on the 16th floor of the tower. It was beautiful and the food was delicious. Our waitress, Kimberly, was very good and personable. Our dinner was on the house because of our earlier room issue. The menu items were on the expensive side but would have been worth it even if we had to pay ourselves.
The following morning we checked out and had breakfast inside the resort which was part of our original package that was purchased. The food was ok but the service was horrible. After getting a cup of coffee I had to wait 15 minutes for cream for my coffee. The couple at the table next to us were half way through their meal before they received there toast and condiments. In speaking with this couple, they told us they were there for a convention. Even after spending several days there at no charge they would not return to this resort. We shared that same feeling. The resort itself was older, the rooms were plain, not the luxury we were paying for, and most of the staff were not qualified to be working there.

Except for the Spa and Aerie, I would not return nor recommend this resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandExperience, Manager at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Hello and Greetings from Grand Traverse Resort & Spa. Thank you for providing us with the challenges that you encountered as well as your positive comments regarding your most recent visit. Inspiring service, it’s what Grand Traverse Resort & Spa has earned a reputation for over the last 30 years.

We are thrilled that you were able to experience Kimberly’s excellent service, fine cuisine and a memorable dinner in Aerie, our restaurant located on the 16th floor overlooking Grand Traverse Bay. We also appreciate your patronage in our Spa and are pleased to hear that Brin and Julia took great care of you.

On behalf of the entire staff at Grand Traverse Resort & Spa, I apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations with your accommodations however I appreciate that you brought this to our attention and we were able to accommodate you in a beach front condominium. Each guest room is inspected prior to our guest’s arrival and we will research why there was a deviation from our process.

As you mentioned, our resort is large, sprawling over 960 acres. At the time of check-in, we distribute the room keys in a welcome packet featuring a map of our resort and all of our offerings. In addition, we offer a designated guest service agent in our lobby 24 hours a day to ensure that every guest has an opportunity to share their experiences with us. I apologize that your welcome packet was incomplete and I will immediately bring this to the attention of our Guest service manager for resolution. The morning breakfast experience that you encountered in our Sweetwater Bistro is unacceptable and it will be my pleasure to research the reasons for the service not meeting expectations.

We continually seek ways to elevate our guests’ experience and satisfaction by improving our facilities and our service. We will share your comments with our staff to assist us in our ongoing effort to provide Inspiring service and a great guest value. Thank you for choosing us and sharing your comments. Please feel free to call my direct line @ 231-534-6510 to discuss your experience further. We sincerely hope you allow us another opportunity to serve you.

Tilman T. Ellis CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We travelled with my parents, our 30th anniversary, their 54th and stayed for three nights in the tower. Our rooms were adjoining with a delightful view of the golf course (we were on 12th floor). Large spa tub which was great way to relax at end of day. The pools and sauna were great. Mom and I swam laps in the morning and sunned at the outside pool while the guys played golf. The golf courses are beautiful. Food was great at the hotel restaurants. Staff was friendly and attentive from the bellman, front desk, to the housekeeper and wait staff. We took advantage of a package. We paid for two nights and got the third for free, also each couple received two breakfasts and one dinner. The vouchers were good at any of the hotel restaurants and we enjoyed our food every time. The tower gave us the convenience of being close to the pools, workout rooms, and restaurants. We would stay in the tower again. We also had our dog stay at the 'Dog Dreams Inn" which is associated with the hotel, so we could see her every day. She also seemed to enjoy her trip. Nothing but good things to say about this trip.

Room Tip: Best view is higher floors in tower (10 and up).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saginaw, mi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Staff was very helpful and friendly. We celebrated our 49 aniversary there and had a wonderfull dinner, the chef came out to talk to us about our selections. It may seem a little pricy but it is well prepared and is really special. Check in and out was a breeze and no hidden charges. If you are looking for something on the top end this is it.

Room Tip: Get the buy two get one free with a dinner and bk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Traverse Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Traverse Resort and Spa

Address: 100 Grand Traverse Village Blvd., PO Box 404, Acme, MI 49610
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Acme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Acme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Traverse Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our 900-acres northern Michigan Resort just outside of Traverse City. Enjoy 54 holes of championship golf, spa, indoor/outdoor tennis, indoor water playground, fitness center, private beach club, 4 restaurants, shopping & more. Choose to stay in the signature 17-story glass tower, in a condo down at The Shores or in the newly renovated Hotel. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Traverse Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Traverse Hotel Acme
Grand Traverse Resort Spa
Grand Traverse Resort Acme
Grand Traverse Resort And Spa Grand Traverse County/Acme, MI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.