We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Holiday Inn Express” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3536 Mount Hope Road, PO Box 177, Acme, MI 49610   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Acme
Clarkston, Michigan
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“It's a Holiday Inn Express”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here one night and I have stayed here before. I got upgrated to a larger room. The room was large and had a frig and mircowave. There was a free popcorn in the room. The bathroon was a standard bathroom. The room was very clean.

I used the exercise room. There are 3 peices of equipment. They were all 3 in good working order. Did not use the pool.

This hotel is a about 4 miles outside the town of Traverse City. It is on the same road that takes you into Traverse City. The Grand Traverse Resort is about a mile from this hotel. They have great golfing at this resort.

From my room window I can see the water. You want to ask for a room facing the water. It is across the street.

You have to drive everywhere from this hotel, to far to walk.

The staff was very friendly when I checked in.

Many hotels in this area.

I stay here because I am on business and it serves all my needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    48
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
35
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SAGINAW
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our company has been staying here exclusively for the past three years. The other hotel nearby,could not/would not,meet our requirements. Nor meet our expectations. Very happy to stay here. Being out of town for weeks and months at a time gets old, but the folks here make every day a little more enjoyable. Thank you Jo Ellen, Kathleen, Jennifer, Ed, and the rest of the very professional staff. See you all very soon. Again.

Room Tip: Odd numbers face the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica F, Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! We strive to ensure all of our guests have the best experience when they are away from home. We are always happy to have you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Clean no frills hotel. Stayed in a double queen sized bed layout. Both beds were very comfortable and the linens were clean and fresh as was the whole room. The bathroom was well supplied and very clean. I have stayed at much "higher end" HIE brand hotels but this place has everything you need for an overnight stay. It is relatively close to restaurants and the gambling casino. I did not see any shuttle buses in operation.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Here’s a very pleasant surprise! We booked on short notice, and used IHG points to get this property for free. We were concerned about the distance from Traverse City, but that was actually a non-issue.

The Assistant GM checked us in, and very kindly upgraded us to a small suite. (thank you IHG Gold status!) Our room had a king bed and a foldout couch, along with a microwave and fridge. VERY clean, very nice. Plenty of towels, lots of room. Solid wifi signal throughout.

We had breakfast two mornings here, and it was thorough and well prepared. Kiddo loved the pancake machine.

We enjoyed the pool each evening, too, with Kiddo splashing happily, whilst we enjoyed the hot tub/jacuzzi.

There is no restaurant here, but happily recommend both Franks BayView Inn (see my review) and Thatsa Pizza (see my review). The BayView is a short drive, while Thatsa Pizza is walking distance. Hint: If you order from Thatsa Pizza, do NOT have them deliver… just walk down the hill, across the Sleep Inn parking lot and around the fence, and there you are.

I did read prior reviews about things like noise, renovations, etc. YES, they are finishing renovations, and there were guys installing mirrors on our hallway. YES, I did see room doors which had a good 2 inch gap between the floor and the bottom of the door… (ours wasn’t one of those). That said, there were no smells, the carpets were clean, the wallcoverings were fully attached, and we were quite happy here.

Net: YES, the Gardiner family would return to this property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is a good standard facility. No complaint's except ONE and it was the breakfast "EGGS" were so bad ... grainy and not fluffy and tasted like yesterday's eggs. I could not eat them and I am not a picky eater. They should not have served them. I really like my "Holiday Inn Express" hotel's this was so unusual to have to say "THIS WAS A BAD EGG"... :O(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your concerns regarding the quality of our eggs on the breakfast bar, I would like to ensure you that we take the health of all guest very seriously and we would never jeopardize the health of anyone. This is not typical of our standards and we will address this concern immediately. We definitely take responsibility for this and we are taking the necessary steps to make sure this does not happen again. We would like to thank you again for sharing your experience and thank you for being so loyal to our brand. We look forward to seeing you in the future for your travel needs when visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Labor Day Weekend we went to this hotel for a couple cays stay. The staff was wonderful. The bedding and pillows were great. Room had a nice size. Prices were as high as hotels that offered "more" amenities. Walls are thin, and it was very noisy (late night, and early morning). Toilet problems. There was a foul odor of a "sewage smell" coming from the toilet and waste products that backed up. Maintenance was nice, quick, friendly. The ceiling fan did not operate so bathroom was steamy after showers. Also ceiling vent was half hanging off ceiling due to a screw missing. Outside windows were fogged up between panes so view of water was clouded and impaired. This hotel is undergoing a refurbishing, and hopefully these details will be addressed. The breakfast hours are 6-9:30 and each time we went down, it was crowded, and food needed to be replentished. Fruit was under ripe. Lots of people and kids, loitering so we couldn't eat there and left to go out to area restaurants. Never used pool because there were too many people. There were foreign adults wearing street clothes swimming in the pool and hot tub. There were health concerns why management didn't do anything. They need a larger breakfast area. Also the computer had no paper for printing all days we stayed there. Maybe they couldn't handle so many people all at once?

Room Tip: Do know any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
I would like to thank you for sharing your concerns while staying with us over the holiday weekend. We understand your concerns and as we are undergoing some renovations these area’s are on our list of things that need attention immediately. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered while attempting to get breakfast. We take all feedback very seriously and all issues will be addressed and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future to wow you, we do hope to welcome you back to our hotel and Traverse City in the future so you may experience our service and new hotel amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here over the Labor day weekend. Waited until the last minute to make reservations, but I think that worked out to our advantage. Our room was a king suite, which was large and spacious. Came with a kitchenette, they even provided some microwave popcorn-nice touch. My only dislike was that the actual bedroom didn't have a door to close, or a way to have some privacy in the actual bedroom. Both TV's are within 3 feet of each other, so we had competing channels and couldn't really hear what we each were watching. The bathroom was clean, had nice faux granite counters. Shower was clean and large, although the trickle of water pressure meant more time in the shower. Bed was comfortable, and the hotel seemed quiet. Nice pool and hot tub that we enjoyed. Breakfast was fair-pancake making machine was broken, and they are only open until 9:30. (We like to sleep in a little on vacation, hence the idea of vacation!) having breakfast open until at least 10 would be ideal. All in all, a good stay, and we would come back here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your input regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. We utilize all comments so that we know when we are doing a good job and where we have opportunities. I am very glad that you liked your room with the exception of not having a two room suite that is separated by a door which we apologize for. We are currently reviewing the breakfast times for our summer season and talking about all opportunities we have in the future that will be more of positive impact for you our guests. Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City

Address: 3536 Mount Hope Road, PO Box 177, Acme, MI 49610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Acme
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Acme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 miles from Cherry Capital Airport and Downtown Traverse City, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Traverse City is your best choice in Traverse City. You ll find the things that are most important whether you re here for business or pleasure. Whether you re coming to Traverse City for business or just for fun, your room at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Traverse City is your personal retreat. Amenities such as high-speed internet, plush towels, and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night. And start each great day with our Express Start Hot breakfast as well as our 24 hour coffee service. You can take a dip in our recently re-surfaced indoor pool and spa, as well as enjoy our workout room with a spectacular view of our countryside. And when it s time to dine you can choose from an eclectic group of area restaurants. The best of Traverse City is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Traverse City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City Hotel Acme
Holiday Inn Acme
Acme Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City Grand Traverse County, MI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.