We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“up island place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lambert's Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lambert's Cove Inn to your Saves list
Lambert's Cove Inn
Off Lambert's Cove Road, 90 Manaquayak Road, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“up island place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Up island on the Vineyard is our favorite part of the island. The Inn puts you right there in a gem of an inn. We have stayed there multiple times and have found the Inn to be run in a competent and professional manner. We last stayed in the Bar Harbor room which was cozy and large. The grounds are beautiful especially the pool. Breakfast was delicious and dining room relaxed. Along with the pool there are multiple places to swim including one of the best beaches on the island at Lambert's cove. You will need a car to fully take advantage of the island. Off season is the best season to be "on" the Vineyard. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCIR, Owner at Lambert's Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you Leo for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Kell and I always strive to do whatever we can to make your stay a pleasant one. You are wonderful guests and we look forward to seeing you again.

Scott & Kell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    17
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
119
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

There is no place on the Vineyard quite like Lambert's Cove Inn. The inn's most remarkable feature-there are many-is the location. The inn is tucked away in semi-rural West Tisbury, up a mile or so of country road, and just a fifteen minute walk from what some would say is the island's best calm water beach. The inn itself is classic New England, but interior spaces are done in a variety of inspired styles and colors. The rooms are modest, but creative and comfortable. The grounds are outstanding, featuring beautiful gardens and a peaceful pool area with loungers and cool jazz that can relax even the most stressed out city dweller. Dining is comfortable, and the menu creative. This is a spot for people who want to enjoy an authentic up-island Vineyard experience, a bit removed from the lively night scene in Oak Bluffs or Edgartown. We've visited the last two years during July 4th week-when the rest of the island was a bit over-crowded-but our stay at Lambert's Cove was utter peace and tranquility. It is a very special place, run by very special, gracious hosts.

Room Tip: Rooms are very unique. We preferred rooms in the guest house, a short walk from the main inn buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCIR, Owner at Lambert's Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hey Steve,

We like you love the up island experience. This pastoral town is full of local flair and steeped in tradition. WE have expanded our little slice of heaven to include chickens, goats and a farm that is supplying our restaurant with the freshest ingredients available. Thank you for writing this review and look forward to seeing you again.

Scott & Kell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a wonderful anniversary stay at the Lambert's Cove Inn and Restaurant. Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. Food was over the top great and the rooms were clean, cozy and charming. The Inn sets in the woods for a more relaxed and out of the crowds experience.

Room Tip: Seaside Room looks out at the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCIR, Owner at Lambert's Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Susan,

Kell and I are so glad you enjoyed your anniversary stay. Thank you for taking the time to wrote this lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was our second year staying at lambert's cove inn and we loved it as much this time as last year. The grounds are magnificent and we especially enjoyed spending time lazing by the pool and hot tub. Your stay at the inn includes a wonderfully scrumptious full breakfast each morning. The location is perfect, close to the most beautiful beach on the island, and a short drive to vineyard haven for shopping or to Chilmark for beautiful pastoral scenery. Scott and Kell are gracious hosts and the rest of the staff are friendly and helpful. We will most definitely return!!

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms in the main inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCIR, Owner at Lambert's Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Diane,

Thank you for such a great review. Its always a pleasure to have you and Todd with us. We look forward to your next stay. Thank you for writing this lovely review.

Scott & Kell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This Inn was one of the greatest places we have been. Scott and Kell made our stay very enjoyable and were helpful, friendly and knowledgeable . Landscaping was beautiful and the rest of the staff made it worth the trip. I found the people, property, accommodations and food to be excellent. We enjoyed the beach and the Ice House Pond that was just off the property. I enjoyed the hot tub (very relaxing). We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCIR, Owner at Lambert's Cove Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Ed & Gail, We should be thanking you. As I mentioned when you checked out, you were kind and gracious guests that we enjoyed a great deal. Its guests like you that make our retirement enjoyable. As you can see by one of the other recent reviews, not all guests are as appreciative as you are and as you can probably tell from reading our other reviews, we are very fortunate to get more guests like you then the latter. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just returned home from a weeks stay at the lovely Lambert's Cove Inn in Vineyard Haven on Martha's Vineyard. What a great place. You enter the Inn to a beautifully furnished center hall and a welcome desk. On either side of the center hall are two very nicely appointed sitting rooms. A great place to relax with a glass of wine after a day of touring the island or lounging by the swimming pool. Our room was on the second floor with windows on two sides of the room and since the weather was coolish we were able to get a nice breeze at night with the windows open. The view of the grounds from the room was so pretty. The inn is beautifully landscaped and maintained. The room had a comfortable double bed plenty of storage for all our clothing and a modern bathroom with tub and shower combination. The restaurant is a bonus at this very quiet and relaxing establishment on Martha's Vineyard. We can't wait to go back again next summer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Palm Beach guest room very quiet and all by itself up a little private staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCIR, Owner at Lambert's Cove Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Mr Gerard, It was our pleasure to have you and your husband with us for your honeymoon. As we explained in our many conversations while you were here, Kell and I left the rat race of the corporate world to do something we enjoy, hosting guests and entertaining. So many of our guests are delightful and kind and so appreciative of what we do and you and Mr. Locke were among those guests. You are welcome here anytime and we certainly look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We just came back from staying four nights at Lambert's Cove Inn, a lovely retreat in West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard. It was just my husband and I for a long weekend and we had a wonderful stay. The owners, Kel and Scott, have done a terrific job of making this an inviting and restful environment. And, Janice at the front desk and Jonathan who runs the dining room, all were very friendly and helpful.

We stayed in the Sanibel room and dined at the restaurant. The accommodations and dining experience were both wonderful. I am a picky traveler and I did not have any complaints. The staff went out of their way to help us and attend to our every request.

Worth staying at if you are visiting the Vineyard and want a romantic and peaceful getaway.

Room Tip: Sanibel room was great, in the guest house and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCIR, Owner at Lambert's Cove Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Debra and John,

As we are with so many of our wonderful guests, we were very sad to see you guys leave. It was such a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to your next stay. So glad you made it home safely and John found his wallet. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lambert's Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lambert's Cove Inn

Address: Off Lambert's Cove Road, 90 Manaquayak Road, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Martha's Vineyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lambert's Cove Inn, Farm & Restaurant is known as one of the most romantic retreats on Martha's Vineyard. Situated on seven acres of spacious lawns, gardens, forest and meadowlands in the pastoral town of West Tisbury, it offers tranquility and seclusion. As you follow the winding road, shaded by towering trees, that leads to the inn, you'll know when you arrive, that you have indeed found a very special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lambert's Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lambert`s Cove Inn & Restaurant Hotel West Tisbury
Lambert`s Cove Inn And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lambert's Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.