We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like sleeping in a flea market stall” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vanessa Noel Hotel Green

Save Saved
You added Vanessa Noel Hotel Green to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vanessa Noel Hotel Green
33 Centre Street, Nantucket, MA 02554   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 hotels in Nantucket
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Felt like sleeping in a flea market stall”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Literally felt like entering the Walton's home, and being shown to their attic...the bed was comfortable though. Not worth the money, but the location is good. I was shown one of the tiny rooms in the Vanessa Noel hotel after checking out of the Vanessa Noel Green hotel. It was very, very small (probably the flip flop or ballerina room- the concierge told me it was meant for 1 person), but a much more clean, aesthetically pleasing room with a beachy feel...I hadn't realized the green hotel was really green- old rickety furniture, scratched up walls, mismatched toiletries, etc...like a weatherbeaten b&b in a small rural town.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay here, stay in the regular Vanessa Noel hotel. I travel a lot for busines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    1
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aix-en-Provence, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were very much deceived by this hotel. The rooms where small, the bathroom tiny and not at all updated. Almost no furniture and the closet consisted of a mere metal bar. We couldn't find anywhere the 'design and luxury' aspect of it, except for the price.
The beds were very uncomfortable and the extra bed we asked for looked like coming from an old military camp.
So really, book here only if you have plenty of money to waste!
The only positive thing was the location, close to all the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Pretty outdated, but kind of charming. Overall it was a clean, quiet place to stay in the heart of downtown so we couldn't complain. It was one of the least expensive options and filled our needs. Don't expect many hotel amenities or services though.. You are pretty much on your own. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We booked this room for 3 nights at a rate of $260, aware that the bathroom, while private, is located a short distance down the hall. When we arrived, we were told that an upgrade to a room with a bathroom en suite was available, but for an additional $100 per night. What we were not told was that the bathroom is the smallest bathroom in America! It is barely 5' by 5' where you had to squeeze your feet between the toilet and bathtub just to close the door. Also, there are no towel racks, only 2 small hooks on the back of the door, which were needed to hang the very heavy, but somewhat shabby robes.This room was apparently the broom closet in the original house.
The room itself was probably the original parlor of the house, with a doorway sealed behind the bed and a large radiator in the fireplace. The closet was very tiny, the shades inadequate to keep out sunlight or prying eyes (the room being on the first floor), and the TV had only about 6 channels. The window AC was barely adequate, especially since there is a gap under it, as well as gap by the radiator pipes open to the outside.
Service was friendly and helpful and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel is located in an historic building. It has been updated to be environmentally friendly. The room was spacious and lovely. Everything was spotless. The only problem is, the (private) bathrooms are either next door, or across the hall from your bedroom. I don't consider this a minus, but some may. The management is TERRIFIC! They bent over backwards to make sure we were happy.

Room Tip: Just be aware that the bathrooms, although private, are not attached to your bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Despite negative reviews we were convinced to book this hotel. We only lasted about 10 minutes before we went to management to get moved to the main hotel next door which was fine. Every bad review you read on the Green Hotel is true so ditto on all things noted. The main hotel has comfortable beds and a good enough feel. If you book the Green Hotel (especially for the hefty price) you will be very disappointed by any standard.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ropehawn, Manager at Vanessa Noel Hotel Green, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Dear ellebelly
The Vanessa Noel hotel and hotel green are two separate hotels. The two different hotels are located in separate buildings located on two separate property lots adjacent to each other.
Hotel Green is Nantucket’s first and only organic environmentally friendly hotel. All the beds are custom made by green sleep, the bedding is all organic linens from France. The marbled bathrooms are furnished with lush hemp towels and bathrobes and ayurvedic kama amenities from India. All cleaning supplies are organic and environmentally friendly. We have many return guests that request and return to Hotel Green every summer

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Vanessa Noel Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

This may not be an upscale bed and breakfast but it sure is a quaint hotel with a bit of charm and not nearly as expensive as most of the hotels in Nantucket ! This hotel was very clean and a great location ! "center of the city" ! I had a great time and hope to visit again soon !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ropehawn, Manager at Vanessa Noel Hotel Green, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Dear Preston
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Hotel Green this past summer. We remain committed to maintaining our original objective of only using environmentally sustainable products to decorate and furnish our hotel. Though we avoided a "gut" renovation which we felt would rob the building of some of its innate and historic charm, we worked hard to find luxurious, yet ecologically responsible items with which to furnish The Hotel Green. These items include the amazing green sleep mattresses, the hand woven 100% organic French bed linens and the ayurvedic Kama bath amenities from India. We are thrilled that you joined us last year and look forward to hopefully seeing you again this summer. Please call us at (508)228-5300 or email vnh@vanessanoel.com with any reservation questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vanessa Noel Hotel Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanessa Noel Hotel Green

Address: 33 Centre Street, Nantucket, MA 02554
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 hotels in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vanessa Noel Hotel Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vanessa Noel Hotel Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.