We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nantucket Atheneum

Nantucket Atheneum
1 India St, P.O. Box 808, Nantucket, MA 02554
508-228-1110
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 69 things to do in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Springfield, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A beautiful building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We learned about the Atheneum from our walking tour guide and stopped by on our way to lunch. It is a beautiful Greek Revival building, library, auditorium and art gallery/collection. Stop in and marvel!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethalto, Illinois
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Historic Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Atheneum is worth a visit just to see the beautiful building. If you are staying for the long term or live on Nantucket the library, itself, has excellent resources and events. The staff is helpful and offers many choices ranging from books, magazines, DVDs, and WiFi. We were only there for a few days. It is in a convenient area that makes a trip just to enjoy the architecture a good choice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great library resources and cultural events”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I like having a card here because you can do so much with it. Instead of dragging books with me, I checked out my summer reads here. They have a current CD and movie collection that rivals the store. I also had the chance to attend a really nice free Jazz concert with a vocalist and pianist that was excellent. You can also use their computers, etc like other libraries, but this place is really classy and nice. Seating area in comfy chairs. Great place on a rainy day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“So charming & beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We went to a public lecture on global warming here.
sadly, it was not well attended.
But the library is very pretty & definitely worth a stop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“One of the nicest libraries anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I love everything about this library. The librarians are all incredibly nice and helpful. You can ask about any book and if they don't have it they will order it from another library and you will have it in about 3 days. They have an excellent collection of DVDS. They offer free Wifi. And even when they are closed you can sit on their steps and use the Wifi. They also have a computer room on the second floor that makes you feel like you are in a university library, where you can use your laptop or one of their desktops. The children's section is charming, there is a beautiful garden outside, and their is a great book selection. It's the perfect place to spend a rainy afternoon. Even if you don't need Wifi or want to borrow a book, it's worth walking through this charming building.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nantucket Atheneum also viewed

 

Been to Nantucket Atheneum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nantucket Atheneum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.