We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster Roll Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sayle's Seafood

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sayle's Seafood
99 Washington Street, Nantucket, MA 02554
508-228-4599
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 114 restaurants in Nantucket
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lobster Roll Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Eveeryone recommended Sayle's for a great lobster roll. Alas, not only was it small, but it wasn't very tasty. The lobster was mashed so that no pieces of lobster remained. Very disappointing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    25
    15
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Sayles was just as I hoped it would be. A bit out of the way, friendly staff, and good local seafood at reasonable prices. The fried oysters were great. Eating on a nearby outdoor table made it a perfect Nantucket outing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“My husband went here 4 times in 1 week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

3 dinners plus an emergency take-out run before sprinting to the airport!
My husband loved everything - the lobster, quahog, clams, oysters, the fried everything-they-had platter! The last one is called the combination I think. :)
We went right at beginning of shoulder season so it was fantastic. No wait & plenty of stock.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go early, they sell out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We rented a house on Nantucket and went to Sayle's twice for fish to take home and cook ourselves. The first time, we went at about 3 and there was not much local fish left to choose from. The second time, we went right at opening and had our pick. The swordfish was the best I've ever had anywhere and I also recommend the smoked bluefish spread, which they are known for. Scallops were also fresh and good. My only very minor suggestion is to put in a bike rack, please!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

So fried is always good, right?
What else can I say?
Personally, I can't figure out what all the hype is about.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sayle's Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sayle's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sayle's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.