We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downyflake

Downyflake
18 Sparks Ave, Nantucket, MA 02554-3954
508-228-4533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 122 Restaurants in Nantucket
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Whenever I visit Nantucket, Downyflake is one of the first places that I visit. Great diner food, great atmosphere for a great price!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    30
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A GREAT place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Large group or small, the Downy Flake can accomodate you. Several large tables for parties of 6 or even more! They have breakfast specials each day - all prepared from scratch right there at the restaurant. Home made donuts all morning long. Great selection of breakfast sandwiches, omlettes, traditional breakfast dishes and pancakes for the kids - chocolate, berrioes, you name it! Great prices, great serving sizes and wonderful servers who make sure you always have a hot cup of coffee. Centrally located on the island (near the rotary at Stop and Shop). Highly recommended. (They also serve lunch.)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cute place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A diner type cute place in mid island, a little bit of a walk from Nantucket town. Gets packed in summer, not sure if the a\c was working or if they even had any. Not sure what all the hype is @, we enjoyed our breakfasts better at Black Eyes Susans and Fog Island cafe. Not sure @ the donuts, have had better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Price, Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

One of my favorite places to eat breakfast with the family. Be prepared for a wait. Donuts are so good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Stop in and visit the lovely ladies at the pick-up counter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The baked goods are to die for but the ladies behind the counter are delightful with a great sense of humor too. My husband appreciated the early morning banter. If I lived locally, I'd stop in every day so it's good that I don't. Not to be missed on your way out to the beach.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downyflake also viewed

 

Been to Downyflake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downyflake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.