We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi by Yoshi

Sushi by Yoshi
2 E Chestnut St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3510
508-228-1801
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 123 Restaurants in Nantucket
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This BYO drinks has suffered in quality since our last visit a couple of years ago. The sushi is adequate, but soups and noodle dishes are sad. We did talk to the management who is working to improve its once stellar reputation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
“Average but over priced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I took my 12 year old there for lunch in June. I am really sorry, but this place is HIGHLY OVERPRICED. We ordered 3 roll, 2 nigiri pieces, 1 miso soup, 2 bowls of steamed rice, 3 drinks= 70.00 with tip! Are you serious already? We were on the island for an entire month, so we had the opportunity to visit many restaurants while on island. It just was average for the price paid, nothing to write home about. I just cannot justify going back to this place. Because it was so outrageously priced, we ended up going to the Thai House for sushi instead. Also, I was so hot in there that I had sweat pouring down my face. Open a window!~

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“We love Sushi by Yoshi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have been to Sushi by Yoshi several times for lunch while vacationing on Nantucket. We have always had really flavorful sushi at a reasonable cost by Nantucket standards. It is BYOB and that makes it even more affordable. We enjoyed the Nantucket Ocean roll and the eel on California roll, seaweed salad and the Udon soup. All were fresh and delicious. The dining room is small but cozy, nothing fancy, casual with good food. We will definitely return to this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, MA
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Mediocre Japanese Food in Dim Setting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We did not like Yoshi and our lunch was the worst meal we had on the island during a 4 day visit. The service was OK, but the space is cramped and not very comfortable. Japanese food is our favorite and we are well versed in the cuisine. Every dish we had was mediocre. The seaweed salad was tasty but swimming in too much sauce that was oily. The few pieces of sushi we had were nothing special. The worst however was my wife's soba noodles. The dish was made with thin udon noodles and not soba. The noodles were mushy with a bland sauce. I tried the rice with curry sauce which tasted like it came from a can. And, it was not inexpensive!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sushi On the Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Sushi by Yoshi if you want take out is great...but if you want to sit down and eat Sushi, go next door to Town Restaurant and enjoy quality sushi as well sitting down in an outdoor and nice environment. I would recommend both.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi by Yoshi also viewed

Siasconset, Nantucket
 

Been to Sushi by Yoshi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi by Yoshi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.