We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant on nantucket” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oran Mor

Oran Mor
2 S Beach St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3528
508-228-8655
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Oran Mor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 122 Restaurants in Nantucket
Price range: $29 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Broad Street
Description: Oran Mor Bistro is located up a flight of copper stairs in an historic Nantucket home. The restaurant has an intimate bar and three dining rooms with attractive earth-toned decor that are a warm prelude to delicious, beautifully prepared food. The bar radiates warmth of the past with its wide plank flooring, pen and ink bar top and gaff-rigged wine glass racks. Oran Mor features handcrafted cocktails from the freshest ingredients, house infusions and specialty spirits. The wine list predominantly features wines from France, small American producers as well as a travelogue of wines from around the world. Oran Mor Bistro is owned by Chef Chris Freeman and his wife Heather. The cooking style is one of inspired simplicity; each ingredient complements one another to create a unique, savory dish. The evolving and innovative menu is derived from the changing seasons and their bountiful offerings. Showcasing native seafood, fresh local produce and naturally raised meats from select farms.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
1 review
“Best restaurant on nantucket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Exceeded my expectations. Food was unique and delicious , portions small but appropriately sized. Cozy atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    26
    17
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boxborough, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dinner during restaurant week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We usually don't have luck with a "restaurant week" menu but Oran Mor really came through. Both my husband and I enjoyed their special menu--the food was fantastic. The atmosphere is okay with the tables close together. If your planning a romantic dinner--maybe ask for a more private table for two.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a nice meal here during our visit to Nantucket. The service was attentive and professional and the food was top notch and creative. We ordered a halibut entree which was delicious, loved the creativity of using popcorn for crunchiness, however, the popcorn which I believe was stove top popped was burned and very chewy and some of the kernels did even pop causing you to feel like you bit into rocks.... it would have been a perfect dish if the popcorn was tender and fully popped.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a very nice meal with excellent service tonight
Very low key and enjoyable.

The duck and halibut was excellent

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Special treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a wonderful meal in this very comfortable setting. Excellent service and delicious food made this a real treat. ( oysters, scallops, duck and desserts - all great)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oran Mor also viewed

 

Been to Oran Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oran Mor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.