We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LL lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Languedoc Inn & Bistro

Le Languedoc Inn & Bistro
24 Broad St, Nantucket, MA 02554 (Formerly Le Languedoc)
508-228-2552
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 123 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“LL lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Fantastique meal on the patio at LL! After the delicious bread and a wonderful bottle of wine, three of us shared two starters -- the salad special that included whipped mozarella, heirloom tomatoes, seared peaches, and greens, and then the cheese souffle -- both were really lovely, and the souufle was a rare treat. Our entrees were equally special -- grilled lobster, and steak frites, both done very well. The service was very friendly and attentive, and we chatted with the chef about his experiences living on Nantucket. Overall the evening was so nice and a memorable experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    24
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for a special evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a VERY nice restaurant with impeccable service. I would highly recommend for a special evening!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, CT
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have visited Le Languedoc every year we have stayed in Nantucket. They have a wonderful selection of wines by the glass as well as the bottle featuring fine French wines. Our waitresses have been friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. All our meals have lived up to the"Nantucket standard" but NOT at some of the "usual very prices" at the majority of fine restaurants in Nantucket.
Our best remembered meals included their lobster dinner, cheese souffle, lobster bisque & the NY strip frites. My wife was very satisfied ordering their half-plates which cost approximately half the price of the regular dinner. LL with its incredible service, outstanding food, classy decor & quiet coziness puts it on top of the Nantucket dinner experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

With all the very good (and expensive) restaurants in Nantucket, Le Languedoc stands out. My wife and I had never dined there before, during our many yearly trips to Nantucket, but decided to this week. It was fantastic. Nice atmosphere, food and service. Their prices are reasonable, comparatively, and they have several entrees you can order a half portion of. As a result, I had two fantastic half portions, per the waiter's suggestion, rather than a single entree: a soft-shell crab plus a quail dish. My wife, who is a lite eater, had a single half portion sweetbreads dish, which seemed quite large to both of us. As a result, even with a few drinks, the total bill was very reasonable for a great meal. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Island favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We come here every year and, if possible, it was even better this year. Our service was outstanding (friendly and helpful) which had not been the case for our past few visits. The wine selection is tremendous. Our food was really wonderful as always. I had the foie gras to start followed by cavatelli pasta with lemon and escargot and tomatoes. The snails were tender and perfect. My husbands lobster bisque was heavy and flavorful. His soft shell crabs were crisp and not soggy. Save room for the bittersweet chocolate pot du creme! We would recommend the house red highly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Languedoc Inn & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Le Languedoc Inn & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Languedoc Inn & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.