We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Place to Eat on Nantucket!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fifty-Six Union

Fifty-Six Union
56 Union Street, Nantucket Town, Nantucket, MA
508-228-6135
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 122 Restaurants in Nantucket
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nantucket, Massachusetts
1 review
“My Favorite Place to Eat on Nantucket!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I have been going there for years with my family and friends. The atmosphere is always warm, friendly, and fun. The food is excellent- seared rare tuna, clams casino, javanese spicy fried rice, and fifty-six burger are some of my favorites, but the calamari they just added to the menu this summer is AMAZING! It is comforting to enter a restaurant and see familiar faces, from the regular customers to the staff. On busy nights, it does take a little longer to receive your food since everything is made to order, but it's definitely worth the wait!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing food and rude management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

Wen have been to many restaurants on Nantucket but this wasnby farnthe worst experience. I ordered the duck and it was tough and chewy. Our very young waitress replaced it with the chowder which was cold and contained so much thyme, it was inedible. The management never came over to address our problem and when we finally spoke with her, she claimed that she liked the chowder and she shrugged her shoulders at our comment about the duck.
The dining room was pleasant and the patio looked like a fun place, but we will never return to this restaurant.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gottaluvItaly, Owner at Fifty-Six Union, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
It is unfortunate that you failed to tell the public that you did not pay for the duck or the chowder. However, we appreciate your review and we have changed our product since you were here. You had an unpleasant experience at our restaurant and there was nothing else that we could do for you but to apologize. We strive to make sure that all of our customers are pleasantly surprised by what we do at Fifty-Six Union...we think you should try us out again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant, Great Food & Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We visited 56 Union with 4 adults and 5 teenagers. We had 3 bottles of wine reasonably priced, a few mixed drinks, appetizers for everyone, entrees, but no desserts. Our bill without tip came to $500. Call ahead, ask for the table in the garden gazebo. Ask for the sommelier, owner Wendy [--] will be your guide if she is there. Wendy is an excellent host and offers very good, reasonably priced wine selections. For starters many of us had the authentic clam chowder with roasted corn. They will also prepare the seared tuna as an awesome appetizer with excellent presentation. The adults went for the Veal Chop and the Diver Scallops. Gourmet food with nice presentation. Most of the teens went for the 56 Burger Special which featured duck that night. The duck was a bit gamey for teen tastes, but they change the burger special frequently. This was an excellent night in an excellent setting.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011 via mobile

he javi rice was spicy and delightful, my duck was cooked to perfection, the servers were friendly and great with suggustions. One of the best places we ate on the island

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is a gem of a place a short walk out...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This is a gem of a place a short walk out of town. The food and service were fantastic. This family operates a top notch restaurant. One of, if not the, best meals and service we had on Nantucket all week. We will make this a regular stop during our visits to Nantucket!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fifty-Six Union also viewed

 

Been to Fifty-Six Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fifty-Six Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.