We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 years later” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brant Point Grill

Brant Point Grill
50 Easton Street, Whitel Elephant Hotel, Nantucket, MA 02554
508-325-1320
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brant Point Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 114 restaurants in Nantucket
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Walsh and Easton Street
Transit: We are a 5 minute walk from the transportation hub in town.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“20 years later”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Had had a wonderful meal years ago and came back. The view is still beautiful but the food is tired and ordinary with too much butter. Very disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanRuppert, Manager at Brant Point Grill, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Hello -

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at the White Elephant. Every year we create new dishes and change to keep up with new trends and dining styles. It looks like we missed the mark with your meal. If you would like to contact me directly I would really enjoy discussing what we could have done to provide you a more modern experience.

Jonathan Ruppert
Corporate Director of Food and Beverage
Nantucket Island Resorts
jruppert@niresorts.com
(508) 638-3417
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    61
    29
    28
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The White Elephant Breakfast is tasty and filling. the service is wonderful. The view from the patio only adds to the dining experience.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanRuppert, Manager at Brant Point Grill, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback. I hope to see you soon.

Jonathan Ruppert
Corporate Director of Food and Beverage
Nantucket Island Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brant Point Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner at the Brant Point Grill in Nantucket on August 23rd.
The food was excellent and the wait staff top notch, especially Diane MacDonald, who was very attentive to our every dining need.
Can't wait to return.
Bill M.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanRuppert, Manager at Brant Point Grill, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hello -

Thank you so much for your feedback. I agree, Diane is such a gem. This was her first season with us and it looks like we will have many more to look forward to. I look forward to seeing you next season as well.

Thank you,
Jonathan Ruppert
Corporate Director of Food and Beverage
Nantucket Island Resorts
jruppert@niresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, unattentive service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Went for lunch and dinner on two separate days. Service was friendly but just poor and unattentive. There are tons of wonderful restaurants in Nantucket, so don't waste your money at Brant Point Grill. If you want a water view, go to Cru or only go to Brant Point for a drink.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanRuppert, Manager at Brant Point Grill, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hello -

Thank you very much for your feedback. I would like to hear more details concerning your experience with us. If you would like to contact me directly I would truly appriciate it.

Respectfully,
Jonathan Ruppert
Corporate Director of Food and Beverage
Nantucket Island Resorts
jruppert@niresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere & great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We just had cocktails and appetizers at the outdoor bar here, but everything was lovely! The service was warm, friendly, and professional. She made some great recommendations on drinks and even had the bartender make a specialty cocktail that we served at our wedding here 6 years ago, but is not on the menu anymore. When I asked if they could make us up a cheese plate, the server didn't even flinch, and said that it was no problem. My aunt said the pate was fabulous and really enjoyed it.

You can't beat the atmosphere! It's right on the water and you can watch the ferries come in. My husband & I stop in every time we're in Nantucket and have never been disappointed. Even if you can't have dinner here, stop in for a drink or appetizer!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanRuppert, Manager at Brant Point Grill, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I am so glad that you had such a great time with us. It looks like all the beverage training pays off. It makes me very happy to see that you are able to share such a special part of your life with us at the White Elephant.

Take care,
Jonathan Ruppert
Corporate Director of Food and Beverage
Nantucket Island Resorts
jruppert@niresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brant Point Grill also viewed

 
Nantucket, MA
Nantucket, MA
 

Been to Brant Point Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brant Point Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.