We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dune

Dune
20 Broad St, (Cioppino's), Nantucket, MA 02554
(508) 228-5550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dune is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 123 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Federal and Centre
Montclair, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Excellently prepared food, with very helpful staff! Equal to the best anywhere! Appetizers were perfect and seafood entrees were prepared perfectly! Superb deserts!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    76
    28
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good choice!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We had dinner downstairs, inside and were a party of eight, including three teenagers. Our waiter was a very cordial gentleman who was good at explaining the menu. This is a nice restaurant and some of the dishes were very good. Everyone enjoyed the beet salad, a pretty and flavorful dish. The swordfish was probably the best choice of entrees, although the tuna was also well-received. The duck confit was OK, but not as good as I had hoped. I think of Nantucket restaurants we have tried, this is a good choice for atmosphere, service and food. We had a reservation and were seated quickly and were very happy with our table. The noise level downstairs was OK and we had a very nice dinner experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wow! What a wonderful surprise! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Having just arrived to Nantucket we stumbled into this gem. Farm to table at its best... Extremely accomidating for gluten and dairy allergies making sure your meal is still full of flavor! Starters were unbelievable.. Something as simple as the green salad was so delicious and fresh. The beet and goat cheese salad left you wanting more!! Onto the amazing swordfish with tzatziki and other fresh vegys! (perfect!!) and the chicken.. Oh my goodness the flavors! (Chickpea fries nice little touch!) Did not have room for dessert but how could we not try it up to this point.. Dairy free option- sorbet- chocolate at that! Homemade donut..fantastic but beyond full! Wine list was okay... Can find something reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Highlight of our stay in Nantucket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Beautifully decorated space, nice staff and amazing drinks to start the night.
Aside from the dishes on the menu they also have a few chef's specials that will be further explained by the waiters. Appetizers were great, the main I had was the half grilled chicken, it was amazing, juicy, flavorful with delicious sides, best chicken I've had in a long time!
We finished our wonderful experience with the special chef's recommended dessert of lavender ice cream with a creme brulee cheesecake, it was out of this world! I would go back to Nantucket just for a dinner here again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Better every time..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is my second time eating at dune this summer and I went there 2 other times the past 2 summers. The food and service are getting better and better every time. The apps are great and the main courses are fantastic. I had the fish with dirty rice and veges and it was so good I did not want to finish it. We also ate the tuna which was really tasty too.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dune also viewed

Nantucket, MA
 
Nantucket, MA
 

Been to Dune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.