We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprize.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siam to go

Siam to go
10 Backus Lane, Nantucket, MA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 122 Restaurants in Nantucket
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Versailles, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprize.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My grandson went to play hockey. They had a restaurant there so I decided to eat there. Well, instead of the regular type of food they had oriental food. I was informed, "No hotdog! No hotdog!" But being from Kentucky, I am used to that sort of thing. As it turned out, the food was excellent. I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai food, good value, unique location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

How can you not love a Thai restaurant in an iceskating rink?! But beyond the novelty of its location, the food is actually very good. We've gotten takeout food many times from Siam To Go (we live within walking distance) and it's always delicious and freshly prepared. Prices are quite reasonable for Nantucket. You can even watch a hockey game while you're waiting for your order, or phone in advance and it will be ready when you arrive. Staff are friendly and the cooks will make the food as mild or spicy as you like. One of the best values on Nantucket. Others must agree because it's always a beehive of activity before closing time at 8 pm with people coming in to pickup orders.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Break The Ice--Try Siam To Go!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

When one thinks of Thai food on Nantucket Island, of all places, one doesn't exactly imagine an ice rink. But, if you get beyond the noise of flying pucks and the chill in the air, there--next to the bubble gum and other sundries available to child skaters--is the take-out Siam To Go. The rink isn't easy to find, so neither is Siam To Go, but--being islanders--find it we did.

We ordered a fried tofu triangle appetizer, Tom Yum Goong soup, green curry with tofu and veggies, and vegetable Pad Thai--all at the mild spiciness level. Within fifteen minutes of ordering, we were there and it was ready promptly. When we got home, we noticed that the portions all looked good, and we were hopeful. The fried tofu with peanut sauce was fresh but a bit on the dull side. Despite the fact that it was supposedly the mildest level of spiciness, the Tom Yum soup nearly killed us with its spice! Though it was delicious and had good flavor, we had to dilute it a bit in order to make it edible for us.

Next, the curry, which smelled beautiful and was quite yummy over the white rice that it came with. The tofu and veggies complemented one another in the sauce and made for a good, hearty meal. However, our disappointment came with the Pad Thai, which looked rough--unfresh, dry, and smelling of reheating. That being said, we salvaged it by pouring the green curry over it, which masked the Sterno flavor and rescued the meal.

All in all, not the worst Thai we've had, but not the best either. The curry definitely made the night and makes Siam To Go worth a return visit. We'll have to assume that the Pad Thai just had an off night and will perhaps give it another try. So, skate on over to Siam To Go if you have a hankering for a bit of Thai cuisine!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good, reasonably priced Thai food for take-out---unique!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Siam to go rates highly in the annual Best of Nantucket survey. One should go just to see a take-out place which serves Thai food-- in an ice skating rink! One fringe benefit is to see Nantucket's school complex and its successful rink. Another plus, if you are lucky, is to meet the charming owner, whose idea this place was.

We have only tried the delicious pad thai, and always enjoy it. One serving is ample for two seniors.

There are picnic benches near the take-out window, but the atmosphere is definitely bare bones ice rink.

Get a map or directions for a first visit. It can be difficult to find.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam to go also viewed

Siasconset, Nantucket
 

Been to Siam to go? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam to go, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.