We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Dog Pub

Sea Dog Pub
15, South Water Street, Nantucket, MA
+1 508-680-1342
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 114 restaurants in Nantucket
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Vermont
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I arrived on a slow night and when seated asked for the wifi password, they couldn't come up with it. No big deal... I ordered a haddock sandwich with fries. I wasn't exspecting gourmet food in a pub but they are clearly clueless in the kitchen. The haddock came on a Wonder Bread hamburger bun, ( is that the best they could come up with ? ) and the french fries were over cooked and crunchie. Granted its one of the cheapest places on Nantucket but I'll pay more next time and go elsewhere. I think I would stick to drinking beer here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    14
    18
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“food place with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have been going here regularly since summer ended and it just gets better and better. Wing night is fantastic, with 4 flavors and plenty of sauces. All the food is great and the servers are wonderful. The beers are even good, and I don't really like beer!! The burgers are huge and perfectly done.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat and hang out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had some lunch just a few days ago and everything ordered was very tasty and good presentation. Unlike some other reviews, we did have a good experience. Local beer was good and everything was prompt. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Sea Dog was out to sea...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Very disappointed the food and service didn't match the great ambiance of this restaurant. Waited approx. 10 min before a waitress approached for drinks. Eventually, throughout the experience 2 apps came out wrong and 1 dinner... Still sitting here awaiting check as I type this review... Future diners beware.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Change”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a new addition to the island of Nantucket. If you are tired of seafood (I don't understand how that can happen), this is a nice change. They have typical bar food, wings and burgers but they also have fish & chips and other seafood selections. The local beers are also worth trying. I do not drink beer yet I tried one with a hint of Apricot and it was nice and refresing. I plan on returning to this place next year!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Dog Pub also viewed

 

Been to Sea Dog Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Dog Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.