We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Point Light

Great Point Light
Coskata-Coatue Wildlife Refuge, Nantucket, MA
508-228-6799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 69 things to do in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Towering more than 60 feet, this historic lighthouse was established in 1784, destroyed in 1984 and rebuilt in 1986.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We rented a jeep and drove out to the point to watch the sunset and it was beautiful. We drive on the beach in NJ so we undersand what to do. If you don't know the rules, I would suggest you ask before just driving out there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Must Do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

No trip to Nantucket is complete without a drive to Great Point Light! Though it is an effort to deflate your tires and figure out how to get your jeep into 4 wheel drive (heehee) it is well worth the effort! My hubby and I spent two hours sitting on the beach, watching the seals go by and sharing a little champagne in a toast to our anniversary. It was very romantic despite the fact that there were many people around. We were also glad that our inn had provided us with an umbrella.
Bring a blanket, pack a picnic and enjoy the spectacular views.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very fun day of off-roading in the sand in a rented jeep. Lighthouse is very scenic. I won't do this every time but you have to get out there at least once, it's definitely worth it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Beautiful area, great adventure ! Loved watching the seals frolic in the waves.This remote area is great. Thick sand and only possible with a 4 wheel drive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Point Lighthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It's well worth the visit! You can only go in/ climb to the top if booking your excursion with the trustees (just google great point lighthouse trustee). It was $60 per person, but totally worth it! Al, the guy who gave the tour, picks you up in a central location, drives you to Great Point, all the while telling you about the local flora etc. I learned about tree swallows, etc, it was super interesting, and you could tell that Al wasn't being fake about it, he's a local who was raised there and really cares about Nantucket. Going all the way to the top and looking out to where Nantucket Sound meets the Atlantic was a real treat. I highly recommend this tour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Great Point Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Point Light, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.