We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back, great location, great for a small family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nantucket White House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nantucket White House Inn to your Saves list
Nantucket White House Inn
48 Centre Street, Nantucket, MA 02554 (Formerly The White House)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 40 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Laid back, great location, great for a small family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We just returned from six nights at the White House (mom and two teenagers). Our one bedroom apartment at The White House fit our needs perfectly. The price was reasonable given that it is peak summer on Nantucket, the location was ideal for the freedom it gave the kids to come and go as they please, and while a little smaller than expected, the rooms were clean and well maintained. We had a few housekeeping issues upon our evening arrival which were taken care of first thing the next morning. The bed and bath linens were very good quality and the housekeeper who arrived each day, was very friendly and flexible regarding our needs and it was nice to have the daily clean. I would recommend a new refrigerator and coffee maker in the near future but otherwise the kitchen fit our needs perfectly. There is a nice garden patio downstairs where we stored our bicycles and we were glad we left the car behind as there is no parking anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    9
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

My wife and I really wanted to stay at a bed and breakfast but were somewhat limited on our options due to the fact that we have a 13 month old. The Martin House referred us to the White House and we must say we were very happy with the accommodations. It's clear that some of the old reviews pertain to the earlier management of the inn as the rooms were well put together and very clean. The cleaning staff came daily and did an excellent job tidying up the room. And for an older building, the inn was extremely quiet (apologies to anyone else that stayed there if they occasionally heard our son during one of his "mood swings"). Anyway, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and feel that you would be hard pressed to find a better value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norhern Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

We made our first visit of the year to Nantucket this past weekend. We usually stay at either the Cliff Lodge or The Martin House Inn. We were told they opened a new inn (allready exsisted but is now under the same new mgn as the above 2 inns). We were impressed with the reasonable rates and decided that since we had such good luck with the other 2 inns why not try their new property. We spent 3 days in their suite which consisted of a large queen bedroom (usual down comforters, exquisite linens, new furniture), living room with flat screen TV and 2 comfy love seats and a full kitchen. As much as we LOVE both the Martin House and The Cliff House, we booked our 5 days over the July 4th weekend a the Nantucket White Houe

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, NY
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

I have been to Nantucket in the past staying at The Martin House and Cliff Lodge (which by the way I believe to be the best Inns in Nantucket). Thiis trip I was traveling with someone visiting Nantucket for the first time and when trying to book a place discovered that the owners of the Martin House and Cliff Lodge now own the White House - cost was much less and considering we were traveling off season wanted to get a bargin.

First - let me say - ignore the old reviews - they were writen when The White House was nder different ownership and management. I was fortunate in being the first renter after the new owners aquisition and the rooms were all freshly painted, beautifully decorated and one of the cleanest and most comfortable stays I have had on the island - and to top it off, it was an unbelievable value.
I would recommend this Inn for anyone traveling to the Island - I can guarantee you will be more than pleased.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

We booked The White House as a last minute trip to Nantucket (there was nothing else available on the island), and we knew going in that the place was going to be very basic (the woman who took the reservation told me as much- and, quite frankly, it was obvious by the low price) but what we experienced makes basic seem luxurious. First off, we can deal with an old bathroom, but the shower was mildewed and icky. We showered in our flip flops the two nights we spent there. Also, the first night we were there, the sheets on the bed were so itchy and scratchy I ended up sleeping in my jeans on top of the covers. And the walls were so thin we were kept up by the tv in the room next door. When I called over the next day about the sheets and state of the bathroom, I asked that the bed be remade with different sheets and the bathroom be scrubbed. Neither was done (I could tell they were the same sheets from the stain that was there when we arrived and the mildew was still there). We were disgusted (it was the first time in our lives when we didn't tip the housekeeper). Also, when I was blowing dry my hair the power went out and when we called to let them know, we were told "You must have been blowing your hair dry while the air conditioning was on." Who knew? We have been coming to Nantucket for 20+ years and this was the first time I've been truly unhappy about where we were staying (we called around and there was literally not another room on the island otherwise we would have moved after the first night regardless of the cost). It certainly didn't ruin our trip (after all, how much time do you spend in your room?) but it certainly didn't enhance it.

  • Liked — The location in town was very nice.
  • Disliked — mildewed bathroom, itchy sheets
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehousenan, Manager at Nantucket White House Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2008
New Management 11/1/08!! The White House has undergone a wonderful remodeling and will be open December 1, 2008. Freshly painted, all new oriental rugs, new furniture (romantic canopy beds) with Ralph Lauren Linens. We can't wait to show you the lovely property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

Staying anywhere on Nantucket in the summer can be crazy expensive. My husband and I went to Nantucket with some friends to go to the beach, window shop and spend our money at Nantucket's fabulous restaurants! We barely spent any time in the Inn, we were there to see the island and have fun, so the Inn accomadations suited our needs. There's no real front desk at the White House, when you check in it is with the store clerk at the Antique store below the rooms. The rooms are no frills, small TV, window AC units, you kind of feel like you are staying in a friend or relatives attic/second story. The bathrooms are private, but showers are small. It's the location that is great, it is a short walk from the Steamship Ferry wharf (longer from HyLine ferry but still an ok walk), it's close to great restaurants (American Seasons, Water Street...), it's an easy place to catch a bus or cab to the beach and it's a great place to walk around and window shop!! Nantucket is expensive, the food, drinks, shopping...and this is a less expensive option for lodging. It's not a romantic getaway Inn, I wouldn't bring kids to it either, but if you are looking for a place to sleep and shower while you experience Nantucket then it's a clean, affordable, no frills option.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2006

This is really an accomadation that the Sherburne Inn uses for an overflow situation. The Sherburne is excellent with friendly hosts and quaint atmosphere. We spent 3 nights at the Sherburne and would return; we spent 1 night at The White House and would, most likely, not return.
It's more Jersey Shore than Nantucket.
A bit noisey too on a busy Main street corner.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — It's a tired situation....
  • Tips/Secrets — Give this one a miss...
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nantucket White House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantucket White House Inn

Address: 48 Centre Street, Nantucket, MA 02554 (Formerly The White House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nantucket White House Inn is a historic property centrally located in Nantucket town. It is just minutes from Main Street, ferry docks, Nantucket Boat Basin, the Whaling Museum, and is in the heart of the best shopping and fine restaurants on the island. The Nantucket White House Inn is just steps away from the Nantucket’s shuttle buses, providing easy access to Nantucket's fabulous beaches and points of interest. The guest rooms are light and airy with charming Nantucket town views. Each room offers a private bath with shower, in-room coffee service, air conditioning, flat screen HD cable TV, free WiFi, iron/ironing board, and hairdryer. A courtyard with flower garden is provided in a private fenced in backyard. Tables, chairs, and a bike rack are available for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Nantucket White House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nantucket White House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.