We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Nantucket” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Figs at 29 Fair - CLOSED

Figs at 29 Fair
29 Fair St, Nantucket, MA 02554
(508) 228-7800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Cuisine of Chef Nimesh Maharjan feature dry-aged steaks, local seafood and fresh local produce known for its pure tastes, bold flavors and striking simplicity. An extensive wine list and warm Nantucket hospitality.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best in Nantucket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Having eaten at several restaurants in Nantucket this was by far the best food, service and atmosphere! I had the scallops and my friend had the halibut. Both were flavorful and cooked to perfection.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    2
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vero beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Figs is now called 29 Fair Street; One of trhe best on island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We have loved Figs Restaurant for many years. This year it is not called Figs but simply 29 Faitr Street . It is under new management, The Executive Chef and Proprietor is Nimesh Maharjan.

We have eaten there several times this summer...It is simply the best restaurant on Nantucket..a cozy gem. Last night ny wife had Stripped Base that was presented in a Mediteranian Style with a light sauce of tomatoes, eggplant and olives that was truly outstanding.

Kudos to Chef Nimesh

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

All american experience! So happy we choose this spot for our anniversary dinner. It was so special. The candle lit tables are beautiful and the food is amazing. I fell in love with the spot one morning when I walked by but it is so much better at night! I love the whole rustic feel and the presentation of each dish was beautiful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Will give many restaurants on ACK a run for their money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The amuse bouche was buttermilk soup over watermelon, caviar, and sea bass. Each bite was with different flavors…True talent in the kitchen.
Appetizer special was a garlic cream and green sauce with frog legs…oh my.
When ordering the scallops dish…I was nervous about the Hazelnut raison vinaigrette since I am not a big raison fan… Needless worry! I am not sure how the raisons were done but, my closest description would be caramelized??? The dish was spectacular. Multi-layered flavor again.
Others at the table had the squash blossom appetizer, the ceviche with lovely & dramatic plantains , the halibut with favas and chanterelles, the risotto where the diner choses his truffle to be grated, and the hanger steak special.
All were pleased with excellent food by Chef Charles Salliou and Chef Nimesh Maharjan. I am excited to have written the first review for Etch in Nashville and now the [new] 29 Fair Restaurant in Nantucket!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have been to this restaurant several times for dinner, and most recently, for brunch. It was wonderful! The atmosphere is so charming, as it is located in one of the oldest buildings in town.
The food is outstanding. Beautifully presented, and fresh! Their famous popovers, fresh from the oven were brought to us while we waited for our meals. Delicious!! My eggs benedict were perfect, and my husband's eggs with lobster, were amazing. There was a light rain falling outside, and to be in this lovely restaurant, eating such wonderful food, served by people who were warm, friendly and professional, was truly a pleasure. Thank you 29 Fair!! We'll be back!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Figs at 29 Fair also viewed

Nantucket, MA
Nantucket, MA
 
Siasconset, Nantucket
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Figs at 29 Fair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.