We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin

Save Saved
You added The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   24 Old South Wharf, Nantucket, MA 02554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Hot Dates, Cool Rates
Oslo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We came to Nantucket on a warm spring day with all the trees in blossom. That, together with our stay at The Cottages and Lofts at the Boat Basin made my 2-day vacation on Nantucket just fantastic. The Cottages and Lofts has superb location close to the main street, lovely cottages, and warm and friendly staff. I was also visiting Bostion and New York, but it is Nantucket I tell my friends about.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear TunafishOslo - all of us at the Cottages and Lofts are happy to hear you enjoyed Nantucket and your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    22
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
21
50
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My wife and I spent a few days in mid-May at the Cottages, along with our standard poodle, Putter. Our suite on the second floor overlooked the bar on the little plaza just at the entrance to the ferry and docks. The three of us really enjoyed the people watching from the deck. The location could not have been better with the downtown area within easy walking distance, including the local supermarket. Each morning, early, Putter and I walked to Brant Beach and the lighthouse where he could have a good rum. Rented a car one day to drive around the island, stopping for walks along the beach, or a good hike. The staff at The Cottages were friendly and responsive. A question on our bill was resolved with no fuss. Easily five stars for us!

Room Tip: Might want to be careful about being too close to the bar on the plaza during the season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Mike C - thank you for sharing this review and thank you for the kind comments regarding our team here. Glad Putter had a good time as well. Hope to see you on a return visit to the island. Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I brought our toddler to Nantucket and we stayed at the Cottages. My parents also joined us for a few nights. Staying at the Cottages at Boat Basin was the best choice could have made. The location is perfect. It's right on the water and a stone's throw from the action on main street, children's beach, whaling museum, the grocery store, etc. It's about a 10 minute taxi drive from the airport. Also, there is a great restaurant/bar on the property called Slip 14 along with shops and so many beautiful boats to admire. We stayed in Meridian, which is a very family-friendly (bathtub, tons of open space to play, full kitchen with dishwasher, etc.) two-bedroom cottage on commercial wharf. It is the furthest wharf from the bars/restaurants/shops and is wonderfully calm and quiet. Each morning we watched the boats from our deck and fed the ducks. The staff at the Cottages is hardworking, friendly, and accommodating (especially Rosie!). The cottages themselves are well-maintained, clean, and charming. I cannot make enough wonderful comments about this place! My family and I will be back! Hopefully sooner than later.

My one recommendation would be to post detailed information and photos of each cottage so that people can make an informed decision on which cottage meets their needs. I had to dig around a bit to land on Meridian. I'm glad I did the research though; it worked out SO well.

Room Tip: Commercial wharf is the quiet wharf. Meridian is a lovely 2-bedroom with a great view and large/open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear PeachRH - all of us at the Cottages and Lofts are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing this review. We hope you get a chance to visit us again before the summer is over. Thanks again! Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife, and two other couples have been staying at the Cottages for many years, and each year enjoy our stay more than the year prior. The location is superb, the accommodations are lovely, but the warmth and welcome you receive from the staff is the reason we continue to return. In particular, two members of the staff distinguish themselves as the best of the best. Karen and Errol are simply incapable of having a bad day, and their energy and positivity is incredibly contagious. We look forward to returning for years to come.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Dave_Chll - thank you for your review and the kind words, especially regarding Karen and Errol. We all hope to see you again soon. Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed in John Jay at end of pier for a couple of nights. We were there in May, would be very busy in high season. Beautiful big windows and great areas on two sides to sit outside. Awesome when we were there but lots of people walked by and looked in which wasn't a problem but would be if happened more/when docks are full and area is busy. Nice staff, great accommodation and amazing location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear NorthBayVisitor: Thank you for sharing your experience at the Cottages and Lofts at the Boat Basin. Your kind words are appreciated and thank you for staying with us - we hope to see you on a return visit to Nantucket. Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This area is VERY noisy!! Make sure you do not stay in the Crow's Nest. It is above the bar and we did not sleep until 3 am then the cleaning people arrived at 6 am. Worse two nights of sleep we have ever had on vacation

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to be far away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear ann k - thank you for your review as your feedback is very important to us. I apologize that you were inconvenienced by the noise in the area where you stayed. The Cottages and Lofts, being on three different wharfs, has many options when it comes to location, views and floor plans. Information regarding these can be found on our website (property map - floor plans). In addition, you can always call us for this information. Also, please know that our housekeeping deparrtment doesn't start until 9am and you can always schedule housekeeping at a time that is convenient for you. Thank you again for your review. Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We've just returned from a four night stay at The Cottages & Lofts at the Boat Basin in Nantucket. Our one bedroom cottage, Upper Mermansion, had a spectacular view of the basin and the town. We had sunrise to our left and sunset to our right. The entire staff was friendly, courteous and welcoming. Our cottage was clean, bright, and very comfortable. We had a large south facing deck, where we enjoyed reading in the afternoon. We also took advantage of the bicycles which the property has on site for its guests! Thank you for a wonderful stay! We hope to make this an annual event!

Room Tip: Be sure to check the floor plans on the website to help you choose the best cottage for your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jim1834, Manager at The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Tomten175 - thank you for your review. All of us at The Cottages and Lofts are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again next season. Keep an eye on our Hot Dates Cool Rates promotions for special rates on special dates. Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin

Address: 24 Old South Wharf, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Boat Basin Hotel Nantucket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;