We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin

Save Saved
You added The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin
24 Old South Wharf, Nantucket, MA 02554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hot Dates, Cool Rates
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great little cottages. Fun experience to stay at the wharf. Great location. We particularly liked the bikes that were provided by the hotel. The service was great. I was worried that the cottage would have evidence of prior dog visitors, but they were clean and comfortable. It was a great unique experience, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    21
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
49
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
columbia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We just returned from a week at the Cottages at Boat Basin on Swain's Wharf. We stayed in Zena's Coffin, which is a two bedroom cottage at the very end of the wharf. Excellent location! Quiet and calm. Since it was the week before July 4th, not all the boat slips were full and the boats that were docked were very quiet. Our family members for this vacation were myself and my husband and two of our 20-something sons. My two sisters visited separately for a few nights and slept on the pull out sofa in the living room. As all true cottages are, ZC is small, but more than adequate for a Nantucket vacation. After all, most of the time we were on the beach! The staff were amazing and very helpful which we all greatly appreciated. ZC is also a Woff Cottage so we could have brought our dogs along. We definitely plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Swains Wharf, where the Woof cottages are located, is the quietest location and the one we would cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on for our anniversary and we had a great time!! The cottage was amazing with great amenities. The cottage was very clean and the staff was great!! We will go back again!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Adorable cottages...awesome location you can walk anywhere, the fishing boats leaving at 4,5,6 not so great... Diesel fuel wafting into your place...not so great.... Would we do it again? ...hmmm probably the kids loved it... Very clean and excellent staff.
If you get seasick don't go... Your cottage will move in rough seas

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Mommcc - glad to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thanks for the kind comments! Sounds like you stayed on Old South Wharf where the Cottages are literally right over the water. We have Cottages on two other wharfs where the Cottages are on solid groud so if/when you return - look into Cottages on Swain's Wharf and Straight Wharf. Hope to see you and your family again soon. Jim Storey, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were looking for a place that we can call our home away from home, as we grow as a family. We found the perfect place at the Boat Basin cottages. It is perfectly located and very comfortable. We stayed at the Upper Mermansion. It is on the pricey end and yes, it is cramped and the kitchen is not new (it is called Mermansion, not McMansion!) - but there was much thought on detail and service to make our visit stress free.

What we thought:

- Service is topnotch. Knowledgeable, great listeners and you get the sense that they all love what they do. Ally from the front desk is excellent! They genuinely try to accommodate as best as they can within their constraints. We were interested in seeing how other cottages look (for our next stay!) and they were more than happy to tour us.

They are not your traditional hotel/condotel, but they did think of ways to close the gap and I think they are even more responsive than your typical hotel. We stayed the week before Memorial Day and there is no front desk personnel after a certain hour. There is a black phone set up at the entrance so you can contact personnel at the Jared Coffin house (our key stopped working and they were there to help us in no time). In another example, on our first day, we noticed the K-cup machine and the toaster would not work when used at the same time. We called the front desk and in less than 5 mins, there was an engineer in our unit checking out the switch box. They also have the perks of a nice hotel - access to a spa, etc.

- Accommodations. Cramped and very clean. How tiny ... the sink is 2.5 feet off the ground, shower stall is 2.5 ft square (but hey, water temperature is nice and towels are fluffy). Interestingly, they managed to situate the windows in our unit such that we have great privacy and good light. The unit is tiny but given all the pluses we were ok with that. Yes, the kitchen looks dated but again, that's not important to us. It is functional and most important - impeccably clean.

- Location is Excellent. The Upper Mermansion is on the end of the dock and has great water views. As noted in other reviews, the grocery store is on the other end of the dock and excellent for essentials (bottled water, etc). Everything is within a 10 minute walk.

We had such a great experience, we cannot think of considering any other place when we come back for future trips. Including some pix here. Tripadvisor only allows three. We hope these are helpful ... I had a hard time visualizing (e.g., how tiny is "tiny"?) when I was reading reviews.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Being a very frequent visitor to Nantucket, we are fortunate enough to have tried several types of accommodations on the Island. We have stayed at both hotels and residences. Each time, we have stayed, we always discuss the pros and cons. Consistently, the Cottages have remained one of our top choices on the Island. We have stayed many times at the Cottages and would definitely return again. The view from their balconies is top notch. I could spend hours on the balcony, just watching the boats come into harbor. The location is exceptional. You are steps away from everything downtown, yet you are far enough away that you can enjoy a peaceful retreat upon entering your cottage. The staff is exceptional. When the ferry was cancelled on Friday night due to weather conditions, the staff was able to accommodate us to stay on Sunday night instead, in an upgraded cottage. Unfortunately, due to our jobs, we were not able to take advantage of staying over until Monday, but the fact that they offered spoke volumes. Although we have never taken advantage of their pet-friendly policy, it is nice to know the option is there. While the furnishings and kitchen are getting to be somewhat dated, it somehow fits just perfectly with the fact that it is a small cottage right on the water. Somehow, the latest and greatest technology and appliances would seem out of place in these quaint buildings. We've stayed everywhere on the Island from the shanties outside the Summer House to large residences with million-dollar views. But, time and time again, the Cottages are in our top list of places to stay on the Island. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Cottages to friends and family - in fact, I can definitely stay with 100% conviction, that we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Perfect! Arrived early;friendly staff had our upgraded 2 BR unit ready within an hour. It was our 25th anniversary and our children had arranged for rose petals and chocolate covered strawberries to be waiting for us! Great surprise! One of the best percs are the bikes, helmets and bike locks available free of charge. Front desk staff provided us with a bike trail map. Plentiful towels and bath products, comfy beds and linens, kitchen stocked with coffee and cream. Books and DVD library available. We appreciated the short walk to the quaint shops, the grocery and liquor stores, and the ferry. No need for a car to taxi anywhere! Took advantage of the bike paths, too.You know how you sometimes check into your hotel and can't wait to drop you stuff and get out? This place is exactly the opposite. It was such a great place, inside and out, we had a hard time leaving our deck, and stayed on it until check out time. The boat basin provides entertainment itself- all types of boats motoring and sailing, fish and birds. I suggest you pack a light backpack and head over. We took advantage of the hot dates, cool rates special. So glad we chose this unique place and will take our family back next year.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room- they all have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin

Address: 24 Old South Wharf, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty lodging in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Boat Basin Hotel Nantucket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.