We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Service with breathtaking views!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin to your Saves list
The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   24 Old South Wharf, Nantucket, MA 02554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Hot Dates, Cool Rates
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Top Notch Service with breathtaking views!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My review is long LONG overdue.
My husband and I got married on Nantucket in June of 2011 and stayed at the Cottages (as well as the White Elephant Residences). However we chose to stay at the Cottages for the week after our wedding for a little getaway since we weren't going to go on a honeymoon until December. For 6 nights we stayed in the Crow's Nest and two nights at the White Elephant Residences. The cottages views blows the residences out of the water!!! (Also, the cottages are cheaper in comparison). The Crows Nest is a studio cottage located up above the boat basin (I want to say on the 3rd floor) and above Slip 14 (bar/restaurant). The cottage is beautifully decorated and very comfortable for a studio. It has a full kitchen, king bed, decent size bathroom, and a not to miss AMAZING view!!! From the Crow's Nest we could actually see where we got married at the Great Harbor Yacht Club making it even that much more special for us! The boat basin was extremely accommodating and even had a beach bus to take you (and any gear you might need) to any beach of your liking. ALL the staff are amazing! Including the "Helper" golden retriever :) (or maybe he was a lab--still super cute)...The cottages were/are perfect for my husband and I because we like to be right in the middle of it all and that is exactly what you get at the Cottages. There is nothing better than waking up in the Crow's Nest and having a cup of coffee in the morning watching all the boaters go in and out of the marina...I also need to mention that they have keurigs in every cottage...Great touch!!! Also, If you are staying at the cottages a car won't be necessary, you are literally right in town and walking distance to all the amazing restaurants Nantucket has to offer!
Later in the 2011 summer we also stayed in the "John Jay" (1 bedroom) and the "Three Brothers" (two bedroom when we brought our son)... All times we had the same amazing service and every view and cottage was just stunning! We will be back this June for our anniversary and can't wait!!!

Room Tip: Crow's Nest can be a little loud in the summer months due to Slip 14 (restaurant below). But if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    23
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
54
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two days with our two-month-old baby. We loved our little one-bedroom loft, Upper Mermansion, which had great views of the water and docks out of almost every window (including a couple fun octagonal portholes). Service, while simple, was very friendly and helpful - just what we wanted. We'd love to stay here again.

We particularly appreciated the baby-friendliness of the place - we were provided a pack-and-play, and because of the seclusion of the place, weren't too worried when he cried at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stayed in Straight Wharf 2 Bedroom Loft which was tucked away down an alley right in town. Unlike many of the cottages that were right on the docks this place was a VERY roomy loft that suited us perfectly. Were only there for a vouple of nights, would have loved to have stayed a little longer. this place made me feel as if I had my own cottge right in beautiful Nantucket. Able to walk everywhere we needed right around corner from ferry.

Room Tip: appears to have the cottages scatted around the basin, so could not confirm. Would look to see if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I recently visited the Cottages at Boat Basin for our 20th Wedding Anniversary (October 2-4). We chose this property because it really epitomized the charm of Nantucket. There's nothing better than sipping a glass of wine on your patio, while watching a seal meander through the harbour! The location was superb and the staff was exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Although we did not bring our JRT with us this visit, we're certain she would have been treated like royalty. Our one bedroom cottage (Young Hero) was clean, but very tiny. The sitting area had a small, rather uncomfortable loveseat placed perpendicular to the television. It was not very conducive to "nesting". The bedroom was just large enough to accommodate the queen sized bed (which was very comfy). Our hotel room in Boston boasted more square footage than our one bedroom cottage, which was a little ironic! Despite this (one and only) shortcoming, we would return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I recently stayed at the boat basin with 3 other high school buddies. We get together 4 times a year to celebrate birthdays .
Our experience at the boat basin was excellent, , we were within walking distance to all the activities downtown, enjoyed the convenience of the bicycle loaners for our rides along the trails to the beaches and used the video library for the night we stayed in to relax.
Every employee interaction was positive, friendly and knowledgeable.
great place to vacation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We visited Nantucket just before Memorial day in 2011. We spent three nights at the Cottages and had a wonderful time and so did our corgi. Although not not competitive with the North Rim, the view of the boat basin was interesting and the location was an easy walk to the market,many restaurants and innumerable shops. All the amenities promised the pet on the web site were provided and the staff went out of their way to be pleasant to both humans and pets. The rooms were very clean and given the time of year vary quiet, a great time was had by all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed at the cottages for a girls weekend and was more than impressed. One could not ask for a better location as the cottages are a short walk from the Hyline Ferry, overlooking the water and cobblestone streets of Nantucket. We had 2 cottages that were clean, spacious and had a beautiful balcony overlooking the Gazebo bar. In addition, the staff were very friendly. We were able to take a bus to the beach and the hoetel provided beach towels, chairs and a cooler. Overall, we had a great experience and will definately be staying at the Cottages again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin

Address: 24 Old South Wharf, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Boat Basin Hotel Nantucket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottages & Lofts at The Boat Basin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.