We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Is Just What An Inn Should Be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawthorn House
Save
You added Hawthorn House to your Saves list
2 Chestnut St., Nantucket, MA 02554   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 40 Nantucket B&B and Inns
cottagewood
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This Is Just What An Inn Should Be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

After vacationing on Nantucket for the past 14 years, we have finally found THE place to stay--The Hawthorn House. It is charming in the truest sense of the word-- i.e.-- not pretentious or trying too hard. Just comfortable, peaceful and lovely. Can't wait to go back!
p.s. The location can't be beat!

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
42
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

My mother and I stayed several days at the Hawthorne House. The location is fabulous; a side street with very little traffic, only a few blocks from Main Street and pretty much in the center of the downtown shopping and restaurant district. We chose Room 1 on the first floor because it had two beds, something which is usually fairly difficult to find in B&Bs. We liked our room, tho it was very cozy; there wasn't a whole lot of space in the room beyond the beds.

It had wide pine floors and charming decor. The bathroom was adequate, but it didn't come anywhere near matching the sleeping area in terms of decor/charm (rolled flooring, nondescript vanity & sink).

The price seemed very reasonable for a town which was otherwise very pricey.

As others have mentioned, the Hawthorne House doesn't feed you breakfast on site, but instead they give you coupons to use at one of two restaurants in town. This is a real treat as it allows you to eat on your own schedule and gives you a wider range of choices than a B&B breakfast probably would.

We ate the first morning at Arno's on Main and loved it. We were very disappointed the next two mornings to find that Arno's has chosen not to open for breakfast those two mornings--probably because it was still the off-season, and so we ate at the other breakfast choice, Even Keel, which didn't match the atmosphere and charm of Arno's, but which was very busy and seemed to be a local favorite.

The major drawback of our particular room (on the main floor) was noise. This property is on a side street, so there isn't as much traffic as one would hear on a busier thoroughfare, but we were startled pretty early one morning (5 or 6?) by something that sounded like a street sweeper. And, while we didn't hear a whole lot of traffic on the street, our door was right next to the front door of the establishment, so we did hear a good bit of coming and going by other patrons. I am a fairly heavy sleeper, but my mother (who is a light sleeper) was bothered by the noise of other patrons at the B&B. I would suggest that anyone who has sleeping issues not select either of the ground floor rooms at the Hawthorne House as both have their doors right by the entrance door.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

We stayed at the Hawthorne House one night in April. We started driving there on a Friday afternoon and arrived Saturday at 3:30 AM. We slept for a few hours in the parking lot of the Hy Line cruise and took the 6:30 AM cruise over to Nantucket. We rented a car from Young's Bicycle shop (an excellent place) and proceeded to the Hawthorne House. The B&B is on a quiet street in town near the police station and post office. The location is excellent and you can walk just about everywhere in town.

As mentioned we arrived early (around 8 AM) and they graciously let us check in at this time! (normal check in is 2 PM). It pays to see Nantucket in the off season! The proprietors were both very nice and helpful, willing to assist in any way necessary. The room (6) was exactly as described. It had windows all around and a day bed to set our stuff on. Everything was very comfy and clean.

We were given two $9 vouchers to choose from either of two cafe's for breakfast (we ate at both and 41 seemed nicer).

When we go back to Nantucket we will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The room was fabulous!
  • Disliked — No Free Wireless Internet (however their were some open networks nearby)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

I have now stayed at the Hawthorn House multiple times, and every time has been absolutely amazing! You can't beat it for convenience to Main Street for all the shopping in downtown Nantucket, and you feel like you are really staying in someone's home!

From the moment I arrived, I was welcomed by the proprietors, and felt like I was staying with family. They were extremely friendly and provided me with details about where to go, what to see, and where to eat. You can tell when you stay at the Hawthorn House that they really try to make you feel as comfortable as possible.

The inn itself was beautifully kept, and all the rooms were absolutely spotless. The beds were very comfortable, and being able to take a walk to the wharf in only a few minutes was wonderful! I would recommend the Hawthorn House to anyone and everyone considering a trip to Nantucket. If you want a real home away from home, there is no other choice!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, AR
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

This was a wonderful Bed and Breakfast! It's a great location for shopping, bike riding, eating, and close to the wharf. It was easy to find our way around and the small walk was excellent! The rooms are very cozy...quaint rooms, great decor, and not to mention the fresh flowers! Diane and Mitchell were great help with our wedding plans, and were very sweet! I would recommend this B&B for anyone of any age! It made our Honeymoon on Nantucket even better!!!
Yalanda & Dennis Dickson

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

We had a wonderfully cozy room at the the top of the house. It had a private bath and window air condintioner. We could see the ocean from our window. Across the street was the vistor center. With in 2 blocks of the main downtown area and 4 blocks to the docks where the ferry drops you off. The owners were extremely kind and helpful. The house was left open at night so you can come and go. Each room has a private key for safety. Extremely wonderful and I recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Nantucket, MA.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

The inn was clean and super convenient. The room was decorated in drab colors with lace curtains...you get the idea! But, if you are not picky about decor and don't plan on spending too much time in your room, the accommodations were fine and the location could not be beat if you're interested in being in the heart of town. There was a small TV with cable and window A/C units which is nice if needed, and not always found in guest houses.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Low-end bath products
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Address: 2 Chestnut St., Nantucket, MA 02554
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior location and value distinguish this attractive 1849 guesthouse. 9 rooms all have private baths, wi-fi, mini-refrigerators, and air-conditioning in season. Breakfast is provided in two local restaurants using a voucher system. Open year round. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.