We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cliffside - best of both worlds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffside Beach Club & Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliffside Beach Club & Hotel
46 Jefferson Avenue, Nantucket, MA 02554   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Nantucket
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cliffside - best of both worlds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Cliffside for 3 nights as part of our pre-baby getaway. This place is unreal - we could literally step onto the beach from our room. The umbrellas and beach chairs made lounging on the beach perfect for a pregnant lady! Our room was very nice with great bath products and a mini fridge. My husband loved sitting on the leather couch to gaze out at the water from the open window. Nantucket Town is an easy (and quite charming) mile walk away. We walked frequently and enjoyed the cottages lining the road. Cabs are also easy to come by in town and the hotel will call one for you. For us, we liked the close proximity to town with the bonus of the beach out our back door. The staff was quick to help with anything and dinner at The Galley, which sits on the property, was amazing. The pool area is also gorgeous. Would definitely recommend for those seeking to get away from it all and still have reasonable access to town.

  • Liked — setting
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    8
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2006

My husband, 19 year old daughter and I stayed at the Cliffside for three nights in July. Our room had been recently renovated with granite countertops and shower. It wasn't huge but just fine. The beach was lovely. Beach chairs are set up for you by the beach boys who separate the families with children from the ones without so we sat in a nice quiet section of the beach. They just added a beautiful pool area as well. There is a nice restaurant next to the property called The Galley. It is not part of the hotel but is popular with guests and non guests although it is quite pricey. Continental breakfast is provided which included the usual fare--bagels, cereal, coffee, juice, etc. If you like, you can have lunch delivered to you on the beach. Just let one of the "beach boys" know and they will place your order for you from a restaurant called "Pronto" located in town. Prices were extremely reasonable. Nantucket town is an easy mile walk away where you will find wonderful restaurants (American Seasons, Club Car, Languedoc) as well as plenty of shopping.
We had great weather which made our trip all the better. By the way, we flew to Nantucket from Boston via Cape Air (a nine seater plane). I am not a great flyer but the 45 minute flight was truly enjoyable. It was a fine little getaway. I recommend it highly.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — lack of nearby food market
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2005

I recently spent a night at the Cliffside. The hotel is right on a beach. You can get a room with a balcony that opens up onto the beach or even a room that looks out onto the beach. The hotel is very small, and rooms are not luxurious, but perfect for right on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2004

We stayed at Cliffside for 3 nights just after our wedding in early September 2004 and LOVED it. We stayed in a Goldcoast cabin and although the room was not huge, it was lovely and secluded, with a private beach deck and beach right in front of that. The amenities are very nice, it is low-key but luxurious, like a lot of Nantucket. Overall it was just idyllic and perfect for our mini-honeymoon. We highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2003

We stayed at Cliffside and loved it. The owners were wonderful and very accomidating. The location is ideal, and there isn't one thing I would change.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2002

We stayed at the Cliffside last June. We vacation on Nantucket every summer and have tried different hotels/inns each time. By far, the Cliffside was the best!!!! We found other accomodations in the same price range to be sub-par. We stayed right on the beach and were brought an umbrella and two beach chairs each morning. The beach is private in that area so it is much more tranquil than the nearby Jettie's beach. It is also in walking distance to town which is a major drawback to the Wauwinet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cliffside Beach Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Beach Club & Hotel

Address: 46 Jefferson Avenue, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliffside is a unique combination of a small hotel and private beach club, which offers its guests a range of amenities rarely found in an intimate resort with only 27 accommodations. The European flair of St. Tropez comes to life in this unique and relaxing setting. The hotel was featured on the cover of Elle Décor as the prestigious French magazine’s pick, as one of the best resorts in New England. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Beach Club And Hotel
Cliffside Beach Club Hotel Nantucket
Cliffside Beach Hotel
Cliffside Beach Nantucket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffside Beach Club & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cliffside Beach Club & Hotel to your Saves list