We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff Lodge
9 Cliff Road, Nantucket, MA 02554   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Menlo Park, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, friendly, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Cliff Lodge during high season (first week of August) Given the great reviews/ranking, we were amazed that they had rooms available. The location is great, the house is charming, grounds are luscious, and the inn keeper, Sally Beck, was exactly what you would want and expect from a B&B: friendly, helpful and welcoming with good ideas on what to see and do on the island. The rooms vary greatly in size, so it does depend on what you ask for/pay for. We stayed in a room with our 12 year old (queen bed plus pull out sofa bed) and had to climb over each other a bit, but that was our choice. The house is old (part of its charm) but we did not have any issues with plumbing, wireless, heating/AC that have been mentioned in other reviews.

What sets this B&B apart: The view from the widows walk is stunning. Their membership in the Jetties Sailing Club lets you use sailboats, kayaks etc for free. Very fun. Location just out of town means it is quiet while still being convenient.

Basics/Must haves that they do well: Sally is a great host. Beds are very comfortable, great linens etc. WIFI is free and works pretty well. House is a classic; decor is very pleasant, a place you like returning to after a full day's excursion.

What keeps this B&B from being stellar/5 star:

Breakfast is really average. Not sure why but the pastries are just not that tasty. Fruit salad looked fab but was a bit flavorless. Limited selection of juices/toast/yogurt ie only OJ/white bread/vanilla yoghurt. If you didn't like those, you were out of luck.

Bathrooms are small, showers smaller. No tubs.

A/C is provided by window units and they are noisy.

If you rent bikes (really the best way to explore the island) you have to park them behind the house down about 3 flights worth of stairs. Not the end of the world but after a 20plus mile bike ride and full day of sun, would have been nice to avoid the climb.

Not sure how it rates price wise compared to other options on Nantucket, but feel like it might be 'fully priced' as they say.


This was our first visit to Nantucket, so we have not stayed any where else on the island. If we return, I will probably try another B&B, just to see if we can improve on some of the flaws mentioned above but would enjoy returning to experience Sally's hospitality in the future.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are small; stairs are steep. Rooms in the back are quieter and have views of the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    55
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
144
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This our second stay at Cliff Lodge. I loved it the first time and loved it this time as well. The location is great, 10 minute walk from the ferry and 5 minute walk from all the restaurants, but far enough to have a quite stay without the noise of the Town. The room #6 was very clean, the amenities were great. And we love Sally - she is the best innkeeper! Very warm, always smiling and eager to assist you with anything you need. The Inn is very charming and we loved the outside breakfast area, looking at the ocean and covered with flowers. You can walk to the beach from the Inn. The Inn also offers free daily passes for kayaking, sailing, paddling, windsurfing, etc. at the Jetties Beach. We went kayaking and it was great. They also provide beach bags and beach towels and there are delicious desserts in the evening. The breakfast was pretty good as well: fruit salad, cereals, granola, yogurt, skones, jam and butter, coffee and tea. If I had to make any adjustments or any recommendation, however, it would be regarding breakfast. It would be great to have some non-sweet option, at least one. Last year when we came, my mom could not eat anything because everything was sweet and she is a diabetic, so my suggestion would be to have a bowl of hard-boiled eggs for those who cannot eat sweet things (or maybe, have rye bread, instead of white). Other than that, another perfect stay at Cliff Lodge and we will be back. Way to go, Sally!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Inn is very well maintained. the rooms are large, clean and overall comfortable. Sally does a nice job with making your stay pleasant. The Inn is close to town, transportation and the beach. The quiet and tranquility of Nantucket is like no other beach resort on the east coast. Thank you for a wonderful and relaxing weekend.TC

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful weekend on Nantucket, staying at the Cliff Lodge. What a wonderful place this is, they go out of there way to make you feel at home. There was a different home made treat waiting every night, homemade brownies, sugar cookies, M&M cookies, all were great. Breakfast was served on nice china with clothes napkins. We sat outside and enjoyed the view both during the evening as well as while enjoying breakfast.

Sally and her staff were great, really made you feel at home. We climbed up to the widows watch a saw the perfect views. Short walk into town. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

First time ever renting a room on the island (always stayed with local friends or rented a house). Loved this gem of a B&B! There are certain people born to be hosts and Sally is one of them. She makes you feel like you are coming home to an old friend who can't wait to see you- sincere, relaxed and a wealth of genuine enthusiasm and information The house is beautiful (both interior and exterier gardens) and the proximity to everything is quick and easy while still being so quiet. We are already planning our return to stay at the Cliff House next June. Thanks Sally!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. If you like large rooms/suites, choose rooms 10 or 2 - if you are budget m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrysville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Sally Beck, the Innkeeper, was such a joy to talk with and extremely helpful. Our room was nicely decorated, clean & cozy. The location is quiet with a short walk to restaurants and shopping. It's also an easy walk from the Hyannis Ferry. Breakfast was delicious and satisfying. We will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We just got back from a stay at the Cliff Lodge, our first visit there after having visited a couple other places in a similar price range in years past. In short, we loved the place. Sally and her staff are wonderful. Each morning we had a delicious breakfast of muffins, bread & jam, fresh fruit salad, cold cereals, and coffee & tea. Afternoons were complemented by freshly made sweets. Our lovely 3rd floor room overlooked Cliff Road, and just down the hall is a set of steps that takes you up to the Widow's Walk, which offers a fantastic view of the environs. It's a very short walk into Town, nearby Something Natural sandwich shop, and a great jumping-off point for bike rides toward Madaket. I let Sally know ahead of time that we were visiting for a very special getaway, and she was so sweet to give us a bottle of wine to celebrate. Whether you enjoy staying at the inn during the day to cozy up with a book or sitting out in the garden, or prefer a more active lifestyle, we think this inn is perfect. Note that we ranked Sleep Quality as 4 stars instead of 5, only because there is some heavy construction going on behind the inn before the high season starts, and the men were hard at work by 6AM--but truly, any hotel in a quarter-mile radius would have the identical noise issue, so it's no fault whatsoever of the Cliff Lodge. Given the nightly noise ordinance, we think this will be a non-issue when the high season hits. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We overheard another guest talking to the staff about the small size of the shower in her room. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Address: 9 Cliff Road, Nantucket, MA 02554
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood on a meticulously landscaped property, the inn is within easy walking distance to all downtown shops, restaurants, beaches, museums and ferry services. Although best known as a summer resort, Nantucket Island is extraordinary in every season, and the Cliff Lodge welcomes you with crackling fireplaces, down comforters, homemade afternoon treats, and special activity weekends during the quirt season. Experience the leisurely ambiance and delightful charm of the Cliff Lodge as a special place that always beckons you to return. With its many comfortable gathering areas, its fireplaces, the luxury of its rooms, its peaceful garden patio, and of course its spacious roof walk offering panoramic views of the town and the harbor, the Cliff Lodge is a place of easy elegance that can make you forget that you have ever worked for a living. We take pride in offering our guests personal service in a warm and friendly setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Nantucket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cliff Lodge to your Saves list