We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Century House is an elegant home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Century House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Century House to your Saves list
Century House
10 Cliff Road, P.O. Box 603, Nantucket, MA 02554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 40 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Century House is an elegant home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

The innkeepers have transformed an elegant Nantucket home into a never to forget bed and breafast. The location is perfect and with walkable distance to downtown. Breakfasts are both sumptuous and healthy. Nantucket Harbor is visible and Cliff road is filled with classic Nantucket homes and the perfect road for walking or a run. I have been threre for three straight seasons and always look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    16
    2
    10
    11
See reviews for
22
95
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston, Ma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Three consecutive years at the luxurious Century House in Nantucket, and three years of incredible vacations. Nantucket is one of the world's prime vacation destinations, and to make certain you maximize this opportunity, make your reservations now at The Century House. It doesn't get any better!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

My husband, Tom and I stayed at the CH the last week of the summer for four nights. We had an airline glitch and it rained for two and a half days. Jean literally bent over backwards to help us and make us feel welcome. The Inn is beautiful. They are so nice. The service was pristine. Our room was a little small, but gorgeous and that was the one we picked! We are saving for a bigger room and another great vacation next year. Two thumbs up for the Century House!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Ma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We just had a great four days in Nantucket. September is a great month for Nantucket. The weather was beautiful. The Century House is a charming and luxurious place to stay. It is pristine. It's so clean I tried to look for dirt & couldn't find any. Everything is in top shape. Although the inn is old, our bathroom was like new with marble tile and new fixtures. The bed was luxurious, triple sheeted, plenty of pillows. The beauty & charm of the old Nantucket, but modern where you need it. Beautiful rugs everywhere. Plenty of lamps in the room, so you can read in bed and see at the desk....
A great breakfast buffet is served with fresh fruit, oatmeal, cereal, muffins, bread...which avoids the trek out to a restaurant. There is always ice, soda, and such out in several spots along with mints, cookies in the afternoon, just like being home. There's also a lovely wrap around veranda with table & chairs, including rocking chairs. Computers & refrigerators are available... beach towels... A cozy living room where you can sit & visit with others if you wish, including the hosts, Jean & Jerry, always charming. I can't think of anything they were missing.
It's in a great location, just a little down the road from the center of town so it's quiet, but only a short walk to the shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I've just read the review posted by "DrTravelerJohn" and I'm honestly shocked, my personal experience at the Century House was the total opposite of his.

My husband and I stayed at the Century House just before Labor Day and we had a wonderful time. The Inn Keepers Jean E. & Gerry were very kind and helpful. Gerry is a bit of a know-it-all but he's harmless. The House is beautifully decorated, clean, bright and in great shape (especially when you consider the fact that it really is about a century old).
The daily breakfast was great, fresh berries granola, homeade oatmeal and an assortment of baked goods and breads. Prior to our trip I thought I'd miss eggs & bacon, but I didn't and I truly looked forward to their hearty & wholesome breakfast each day! The freshly baked cookies every afternoon were pretty good too.

As far as DrTravelerJohn's comment about vermin and rodents, I have NO IDEA what he's talking about. I'm awfully afraid of bugs and rodents so I always keep an eye out for them, we stayed there for five days and I never even saw an ant!!

We stayed in the Daylily room. It was small but had two windows, a sitting area, a seperate bathroom and a patio of it's own so I never felt cramped. The rooms are overpriced, but everything on Nantucket is overpriced. An ice-cream cone is $8 for goodness sakes :-)
The house is just about a seven minute walk from town and a 10-15 minute walk away from Jetties & Steps Beach. It's a great place to stay if you'd like a quiet, peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

My husband and I spent three nights at the Century House celebrating our tenth anniversary. Gerry and Jean E were fabulous and interesting hosts providing us great local advice, wonderful breakfasts and some very special touches that made our anniversary a special one to remember.

The location, while being very close to all the action in town and beach shuttle to Madaket, was blissfully peaceful at night. The beds and linens are super comfortable. We had a very quaint room, "Sweet Pea" with a separate entrance off the lovely porch. Equipped with rockers, table and chairs, books and drinks with fresh lemons and limes (did I mention fresh baked cookies daily?) , the porch was a welcome "addition" to our room for most of our stay.

The room was "cozy" with a tiny bath, but beautifully decorated. Because the weather was absolutely perfect, we did not spend much time in our room, so its size was not a problem for us. If space is a priority for you, you may want to consider one of the "deluxe" rooms.

Dinners at the Straight Wharf Restaurant, Madaket Millie's and American Seasons were all unbelievably good. Drinks at the Cliffside beachfront bar were lovely. We would recommend the walking tour of Siasconset, a trip to the Cisco Brewery and scooter rentals in addition to enjoying the beach.

Thanks Jean and Gerry for a weekend to remember. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

My fiance and I had had a wonderful time at Century House. They are great at all the tiny details that make a stay memorable. Great breakfast, afternoon snacks, cleanliness, charming ambience. We did a lot price shopping before we booked and found Century House to be competitive in the very expensive/exclusive market. We stayed in two rooms over three nights because the room we wanted wasn't available three nights in a row. The first room was very charming but small, which is my only criticism. The second room "snap dragon" was great, very spacious and lovely. Location is great. We really appreciated the quiet at night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Century House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century House

Address: 10 Cliff Road, P.O. Box 603, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breezy, wraparound veranda, top cliff historic residential location preferred for sophisticated travelers looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of daily life. Century House provides the classic Nantucket experience. Located within walking distance to beach, restaurants and town tucked away. Luxury renovated rooms, patios, and gardens. All rooms have private baths, complimentary buffet breakfast, snacks, gourmet coffee and tea, soft drinks, beach towels and beach bag. Free Wi-Fi. Century House is the oldest continuously operating guesthouse on Nantucket. Built in 1833. Completely renovated since 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Century House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Century House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.