We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brass Lantern Inn to your Saves list
Brass Lantern Inn
11 North Water Street, Nantucket, MA 02554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
2015 Season Begins...
Ranked #7 of 40 Nantucket B&B and Inns
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Lovely small inn convenient to center of town. We were there for Film festival so it worked perfect. It also had good access to bike to Children's beach and was half hour bike ride to ocean. Breakfast was not special, but sufficient. Nice apples around all day and home baked cookies in late afternoon. Shower in our room was a standup stall, so not much room, but fine for us. They provided an air mattress for my 8 year old son to sleep on which was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the 17 room Brass Lantern Inn. I am sorry that our breakfast selection did not strike your fancy; most of our guests really enjoy our breakfast - with home made granola and yogurt, fruit and cheese platter, fruit cups, fresh baked muffins and scones, bagels and toasts, jams and jellies, fresh squeezed orange juice, a selection of teas and Island roasted coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    42
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
35
104
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Although we booked at the last minute, we were well accommodated in a lovely room on the 3rd floor. The stairway was rather narrow and steep but Andrew grabbed our bags and brought them up so it was no problem. Great location, clean lodgings, lovely grounds, and delicious breakfast. The staff was very helpful, as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackinnkeeper, Manager at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for letting others know about your stay at the Brass Lantern! The stairs are steep to the third floor, but the trade-off is a great view of the Harbor. Thank you for commending Andrew in your review - he has just finished his third summer with us and is back at college.

Hope to see you another time at the Brass Lantern!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We enjoyed one of the best vacations at The Brass Lantern in Nantucket last weekend! Such a warm and inviting home! The staff is wonderful. Spotless rooms, wonderful ambiance. Location is perfect! Food was fabulous...homemade chocolate cookies, muffins, coffee cake! What's not to love! Michelle, you can be very proud. Thanks again for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! You expressed what we hope all guests feel after a stay at the Brass Lantern - relaxed, refreshed, pampered - and planning to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Excellent stay, May 8 and 9..celebrating our 35th anniversary. The room was beautiful and quiet. This inn is a charming place near the center of town. You can walk to shops, restaurants and ferries. Owners and staff are gracious and very attentive. We would stay there again.
Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your 35th anniversary at the Brass Lantern. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This Inn is very well maintained and has "non intrusive" and gracious service. The home and grounds are very clean, and this is an excellent location for the perfect Nantucket vacation. Both quiet and close to town, it is also very easy to walk to the Jetties beach and the fantastic restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: We liked the Elizabeth Starbuck room. Though the bath is not renovated, the location of the room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed the Brass Lantern and your Nantucket holiday.

As you can imagine, renovation and maintenance in this 17 room inn (Main Inn built in 1832) is an ongoing process. Since your stay, the bathroom in Elizabeth Starbuck, one of our most popular rooms, for the reasons you described, has been painted and freshened up. We look forward to your next visit so you can 'check it out'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putney, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have now stayed at The Brass Lantern four times, for a total of 12 nights. It is comfortable, welcoming, relaxed and I can't recommend it highly enough. All of the staff are friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is delicious. I want to only use superlatives, as The Brass Lantern deserves them. Nantucket is wonderful: I recommend you visit the island and stay in the incomparable Brass Lantern Inn.

Room Tip: We love the Garden Wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Wow! Thank you for your wonderful comments! It is lovely that you consider the Brass Lantern your 'home away from home' - I think that is the highest compliment that you can make. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I visited Nantucket for the first time during the above mentioned Festival. The weather was spectacular and so were the accomodations at the Brass Lantern Inn. Room was spacious, location perfect and breakfast was all you could ask for. We can't wait to return to this lovely Island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments - we are glad that you enjoyed your "Daffy Festival" stay at the Brass Lantern and we look forward to welcoming you back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Address: 11 North Water Street, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nantucket the way it should be, warm hospitality and a gracious and classic setting. The Brass Lantern is a 17 room boutique hotel and offers superb accommodations, a fresh and plentiful breakfast and afternoon tea, a lovely patio and garden and a perfect 'walk to everything' location for couples, families and groups. The Brass Lantern is pet and family friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Nantucket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brass Lantern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.