We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect family getaway with toddler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brass Lantern Inn to your Saves list
Brass Lantern Inn
11 North Water Street, Nantucket, MA 02554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
2015 Season Begins...
Ranked #7 of 40 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
“The perfect family getaway with toddler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The staff was lovely and accomodating. They had a pack and play ready for us and high chairs in the breakfast room. The kitchen was a nice space too where we could store the baby's needs. Our room was lovely. One piece of advice would be to not take the room facing the street if you have a baby you would like to sleep past 7am. Not noisy, but not quiet. Our second room, we extended our stay was only a bit further back but quiet and charming. The best part was we were a 2 minute walk to the childrens' beach, with swings, sand, playing field, and morning music classes at the bandstand. And it's right on the shuttle route to Madaket and Jetties Beach. And 1 minute from town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    42
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
35
104
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NY/Westport/Provence
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
418 helpful votes 418 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had stayed in numerous places on Nantucket until we found the 'Brass Lantern' 3 years ago. We have just returned from our third stay and I can't think of enough positive adjectives in describing our 'Home away from Home' on Nantucket. Next summer, I am hoping to stay for a few weeks! Michelle and her 2 wonderful Hostess' are truly wonderful. It is the perfect blend of being there exactly when you need something or for the wonderful breakfast and the delighful 'Tea' served everyday and yet, there is also a sense that the Inn is your home too and thus, you are welcome to do things on your own (look around for wine glasses, use the facilities in the garden without any requests, have appetizers and a drink in the beautiful LR before going out to dinner), I love this feeling of informality coupled with the most helpful, professional group of Ladies who run an Inn/Hotel, anywhere (And I travel a lot...look at my reviews) When we arrived in the middle of a rainstorm, Sharon came to our room and asked us if she could dry some of our clothes. We had not even asked...it was her idea. Sharon is the afternoon Hostess and can giive you good advice on 'Nantucket Town', in general. She , along with the lovely Emilie who runs the morning shift, are two of the reasons that the Inn has such a nice ambiiance. Emilie is a one-woman-show at Breakfast and is always there when you need her, smiling and is the perfect person to greet you as you start your day. Michelle, the owner, is a font of information and she truly appreciates her loyal guests. She truly runs a top notch operation. We have stayed in 2 different rooms but our favorite is 'Sconset' with its very comfortable large bed, sitting area, modern bathroom, flat-screen TV and a mixture of antiques and rustic touches. Two bottles of water a day are included as well as some lovely Crabtree and Evelyn Products. Cara, our Golden loves this room,too. Once Michelle knows that you have a well trained pet, she is very easy on letting you enjoy time around the Inn, inside and out, with your pet. Cara has an outside shower for returning from the beach, towels and two bowls for her meals ....she is a happy girl at the 'Brass Lantern'. I've seen most of the rooms by peeking or while being cleaned...the only real difference is size..all are cozy and lovely. The Inn has a lovely garden for just reading or relaxing or taking a long breakfast until you are ready to go to the beach or walk the 1/2 a block to the center of town! The decor of the main rooms is classic and inviting. Yes. The Brass Lantern is truly special which goes well with the magnificent Island of Nantucket.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The room was clean and well appointed. The staff was courteous and responsive. They allowed us a 1 hour checkout extension which was much appreciated. The location is very convenient for in-town acitivities and walk to Jetties Beach. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

We stayed one night mid week with our Golden Retriever. The inn was cozy, bright, and very clean. The staff was pleasant and rarely seen which I though was nice. The room was very tiny, no space to walk on one side of the bed! It was the size of a large closet, for close to 300 a weeknight on the island, I was surprised! Those who travel with large dogs can't be very picky unfortunately. It seems that that area of town is pricey in general. The little yard area for the dogs is
adorable! Also, for a b&b the breakfast was very very dissapointing..we ate around 9:30 and as for fruit There were as few pineapples and orange slices left, some bark-like granola w plain yogurt, small scones only cranberry, 2 cranberry muffins, ( if u dont like cranberrys or carbs ur screwed) assorted bagels, Coffee and Oj More of a cheesy 'continental' as far as I'm concerned. I expected so much
more! I have heard such good things about B&B breakfast so that was a letdown. The lil dining area however, is clean and cute! We stayed in the room next to the dining area and i was relieved that we did not hear much noise.wouldn't say this was the best place, or the worst. If your traveling with a large dog I would definitley recommend a larger room!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We are new to the Bed and Breakfast scene so I wasn't sure what to expect. The Brass Lantern was a short walk from the ferry and in a great location close to town. Our room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The breakfast of muffins, bagels, granola, and yogurt was great as were the freshly baked cookies in the afternoon. I was hoping we would get to meet the owner/staff at breakfast time to get some tips on where to go to eat but we didn't see anyone. Since this is our first time at a B&B, I am not sure if this is normal but I was surprised not to meet anyone. Other than that, we had a lovely stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Just got back from a short trip to Nantucket with my girlfriend and dog. A friend of mine recommended the Brass Lantern Inn and I am glad i took his advice. This B&B is truly the best way to go staying on the island. From booking the reservation to checking out of the hotel, this stay was perfect. The staff is just as warm as the daily 4pm chocolate chip cookies. The Inn is in a great location with a short walk to town. This rooms are spacious, breakfast is delicious, and the outside courtyard is great way start your day or an afternoon nap.

I do not have one negative thing to say about this hotel and highly recommended it to all. Kudos to the Brass Lantern Inn team.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittenango, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed three nights over the fourth of July weekend at the Brass Lantern Inn.

Pros
*Honestly, its a great location. One block to town.
*The beds were super comfortable. I'm considering asking them what mattress they use, because I might buy one for home.
*The sheets were amazingly soft. Probably the best sheets ive ever slept on.
*Staff were very nice. Took care of anything (do you have a salt shaker? i need a bottle opener), etc... You never notice they are there though, so if you want something, you need to call on the phone.
*Fast free wireless internet
*A/C in each room, very quiet. Slept wonderfully.
*Super soft and fluffy towels - again amazing.
*Check-out is at 11am, but you can store you bags, and they even have a shower and towels for you to wash-up before you leave if you want, after you've checked out. That is a nice touch.
*The outdoor garden is very nice. It was a great place to go and relax outside.

Cons
*Opted for a $65 champagne/flowers in the room ahead of time. The champagne was Korbel, but a small (half-sized) bottle. Guess I should have expected this for the price, but was kind of disappointed.
*TV in the room was smaller than my computer monitor. Perhaps a 15" tv?

Neutral
*Breakfast is included, but its continental. Pastries, bagels, fruit. Very nice. Adequate. We walked into town and got breakfast at one of the many fine restaurants in the area.
*A very small parking lot is available. Holds no more than 3 cars though. But, who needs a car on nantucket?

All-in-all, I think this place was great. Its not a full-service hotel, and I think people should be aware of that before they book. But, its lovely, and reminds me of the "boutique" hotels that you see all over the place now... nice room, nice location, very little amenities. Perfect for Nantucket.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms with a queen bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Address: 11 North Water Street, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nantucket the way it should be, warm hospitality and a gracious and classic setting. The Brass Lantern is a 17 room boutique hotel and offers superb accommodations, a fresh and plentiful breakfast and afternoon tea, a lovely patio and garden and a perfect 'walk to everything' location for couples, families and groups. The Brass Lantern is pet and family friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Nantucket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brass Lantern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.