We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centerboard Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Centerboard Inn
8 Chester Steet, Nantucket, MA 02554   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Valley Forge
1 review
“Warm and Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

We just had a lovely stay at the Centerboard. Although my husband was in Nantucket on business, we traveled with our two children. Very few B&B's accommodate children. The charming Houseboat Suite was perfect for us. It was roomy with so much attention to the layout of the room and great use of every inch of space. My son loved sleeping in the berth-like bed. The little kitchen was an added convenience and the bathroom was so clean and updated with subway tile and a very nice shower. The bedding was super comfortable and I am in search of the same make of pillows that they used as they were the fluffiest I have ever laid my head upon!!!
After a long day of driving it was so nice to be greeted by such a welcoming host. James even brought us a complimentary bottle of chardonnay. We all loved James' lesson on roasting coffee beans as well as drinking the freshly brewed coffee. Anytime we needed anything, we had James' cell phone number and he was at our service.
We had a wonderful stay and would definitely choose the Centerboard for our next trip to Nantucket.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    30
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
200
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

When a group of 8 "30 something" women decided to have a girls weekend on Nantucket for the Holiday Stroll, we started researching house rental options vs. Inns and hotels and stumbled on the Centerboard Guest House. It ended up being the perfect accomidations and set up for a group our size.
We "took over" the rooms on the ground floor with a private locked entrance. The "House Boat" became our gathering spot (when not enjoying leisurely breakfast in the cozy dining area in the main part of the Inn!) where the kitchenette came in handy and we also had "Room 7" for additional sleeping space.
The accomidations were clean and nicely updated while still keeping with the theme of the house. The location is an easy walk from the ferry and all restaurants and shops, and the Inn Keeper and other help at the house were wonderfully accomidating and friendly. The coffee cakes and home roasted coffee is worth going back for!
It is a perfect place for any small group of friends or family gatherings as well as for a romantic getaway on Nantucket!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

We enjoyed the Centerboard, being there in the quiet season as restful and cozy. The plethora of top reviews here seem a bit over the top, as this is a modest guest house on a busy traffic corner in the village, not some bucolic retreat. We enjoyed the master suite although it is on the first floor right at the street corner. Upon arrival no one was around which was fine as we were early, but I went looking for ice in the kitchen wo no avail. Later found that to get ice one must take a small ice bucket from the room out to the street then down a path next to the house then into a rear door and down steps intot he basement and down a corridor; not a very friendly experience especially at night...Innkeeper was hospitable enough, I would not say particularly warm and friendly.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyBlunt, Manager at Centerboard Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2009
With only 2 'average' reviews out of 79 I am moved to respond. Had this couple let me know of their early arrival I would have been there to greet them, and fill their ice bucket, and show them the already-filled ice tray in their own personal refrigerator-freezer. With a big budget interior overhaul less than 2 years ago, there is nothing 'modest' about our 7-guest room inn. The 525 square foot suite where this couple stayed (for about $200.00 a night, less than the price of a standard room at a Courtyard by Marriott) is loaded with period antiques and plush guest amenities, including a working fireplace and a 2-part spa bathroom suite with vast marble shower and Jacuzzi tub. The bedchamber of the 2-room suite overlooks our quiet, private rear garden area and is buffered from the street by the large separate living room. As our website clearly explains and the provided map shows, the inn is not in the middle of the retail grid of town. We are in a historic residential enclave about a 10 minute walk to the center of town. All the B & Bs on Nantucket are considered to be "in town." None bills itself as being in a "bucolic" setting. Finally, no reviewer in my almost two years at the inn has ever criticized me for lacking warmth and friendliness. I'll stand on that very public record.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Just stayed at this perfect inn. Very convenient close to ferry, shops and restaurants.
Rooms were very comfortable, James the Inn keeper is extremely friendly and does an excellent job.
Have stayed in several other small inns on Nantucket and would recommend this one over the others. Rates are competitive in season or off season. I strongly recommend the Centerboard.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I chose the Centerboard for our honeymoon, and we hit a homerun. We spent a long time choosing the perfect place, relying heavily on these reviews on TripAdvisor, so I know how important it is to give an accurate picture of our experience.

We stayed in the Suite, which I highly recommend for anyone looking for a relaxing time. Comfortable couch to spread out on, fireplace (which we didn't end up using, but we were glad it was there just in case!), big roomy 4-poster bed. The Suite is very well appointed, but not stuffy in any way. Clean, comfortable, and calm would describe the Suite very well.

The bathroom was great, with the highlight being the shower. The water pressure could be adjusted to be very powerful, which was really wonderful. The whirlpool tub was also nice for a relaxing soak after wandering the island all day.

The location of the Centerboard is perfect - only a couple blocks from the very center of town. That distance was nice because we still felt a little separated from most of the shops and restaurants, but were only a couple minutes' walk from it all. Finish your book? Just walk to the bookstore close by. Want to shop? There are tons of great little shops a couple blocks away. The American Seasons, one of the islands' great restaurants, is just across the street from the inn, so if you want a fantastic meal, it's right at your doorstep. Not to mention the countless other amazing restaurants that are within close walking distance. After all the fantastic rich food we ate, we were glad of the opportunity to work it off a little on the walk home!

It was great to start every morning with a delicious and healthy homemade breakfast and a chat with our innkeeper, James. He has led a very interesting life in the hospitality industry, and has some amazing stories! He's a great resource about the island - ask him anything. He was able to respond to our every request - and I can say that we didn't have many, because seemingly everything was provided for us without even asking. But most importantly, he made us feel so welcome and right at home from the moment we arrived, exhausted from a long day of travel the day after our wedding. We knew immediately that we had made the right choice, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

If any of our friends and family tell us they will be visiting Nantucket and are looking for a recommendation, I will tell them they are crazy to think about staying anywhere else. After we had such a top-notch experience at the Centerboard, why look any further?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

We had stayed at the Centerboard many years ago and we were happy to find that it hasn't lost its charm. Great location, cozy, perfect for our visit to Nantucket. Innkeeper, James Blunt, was very knowledgeable and especially helpful in recommending several of the many great restaurants on the island.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We loved the Centerboard Guest House. We stayed in the Houseboat Studio and it could not have been more perfect. The house was clean and very well kept. The decor of the main house was just perfect. The innkeeper was extremely helpful and very gracious. We were unsure about staying at a bed and breakfast -- we'd really enjoyed our stay in Nantucket last year at a hotel, but we really struck a home run on this one!

I highly recommend this house!!!

Debbie -- Upper Marlboro, MD

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centerboard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerboard Inn

Address: 8 Chester Steet, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a whaling captain's family manse, the 1886 Victorian structure, now a popular Nantucket MA bed and breakfast, was completely remodeled by new owners Paul and Lauri Benk in 2012. The interior has been painted and detailed; the floors refinished; furnishings, fixtures, carpeting and rugs have been replaced; and perhaps most importantly, all beds have been replaced and fitted to be luscious and inviting; featuring fine linens from Frette, Matouk and Serena & Lily. Sumptuous down duvets top all beds at this Nantucket luxury inn, along with fluffy fresh down pillows (of course down-alternatives are available if you have allergies). Each guest room at this lovely Nantucket bed and breakfast has an individual refrigerator, air conditioning, and a beautiful private bath featuring Frette towels and bathrobes and Malin-Goetz spa amenities. Wireless Internet access is available throughout the Inn and iPads are now available for guests to use during their stay ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Centerboard Hotel Nantucket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centerboard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Centerboard Inn to your Saves list