We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centerboard Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Centerboard Inn
Save
You added Centerboard Inn to your Saves list
8 Chester Steet, Nantucket, MA 02554   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 40 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Austin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

I'll make this short and sweet, just like our stay in Nantucket. From our initial greeting to the breakfast to the recommendations for dining and leisure, we could not have asked for a better host in James Blunt.

The Centerboard is a well appointed, clean, classic Nantucket guest house in a perfect location near downtown but just far away enough to feel private.

Having stayed at some of the other top B&B's on the island, this one has become my favorite. A personal touch goes a long way.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    35
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
216
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lboogs311
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

My family and I have started a tradition (this was our 6th year) of going to Nantucket for the Daffodil Festival every year. This is our sixth year and each time, we have stayed at the Centerboard. We rent the Boathouse room and the other room downstairs and absolutely love it. We have our own private enterance and even a kitchen to cook if we so please. The inn is quiet, clean and in the perfect location. We can walk right into the center of town. James, the inn keeper is wonderful. The breakfast is delish-I just couldn't imagine ever staying anywhere else. We continue to have our annual family getaway and will continue to stay at the Centerboard.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

The Centerboard Inn is charming. I loved the quite rooms and views of the old shingle houses and cobblestone streets. The Inn Keeper, James always had freshly roasted coffee ready for us in the early morning and gave us maps and suggestions for our daily tours around town. I recommend renting a jeep (ask James) In fact James makes you feel right at home and he's known for his home made granola! The location was within walking distance of the Whaling museum and all of the center of town attractions. You will love this charming experience!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod, ma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

The charming Inn Keeper, James, makes his own signature coffee by roasting his own beans- absolutely a wonderful morning treat in the beautiful sun room. The Inn is an antique, gorgeous architecture. The guest rooms are cozy & comfortable and well appointed (have stayed in 3 different rooms) Love the location as walking distance to town & beaches, a great B&B experience!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

Dear Centerboard B & B,
I wanted to extend a huge heart felt thank you for a wonderful experience at your Bed And Breakfast. I have traveled the USA (everywhere except the northwest, Alaska and Hawaii) and have stayed at many B & B's along the way! I have never written a review for any of them. However, my experience was truly so wonderful, I have taken the time out of my extremely busy schedule to write this review to share with others what a top notch B & B Centerboard is!

Upon entering this beautiful House, I first noted the cleanliness which is clearly present everywhere. That is always the most important aspect of any place of which I stay. My host, James, was extremely welcoming and accommodating. I was not too familiar with Nantucket and his assistance with maps and directions was most helpful. His knowledge of the island, including the history of Nantucket, is very impressive. Thank you James for helping to make my stay even better with your local recommendations as they were extremely helpful!

I stayed in room # 5. My room was beautifully decorated, with a beautiful comforter, lavender flowered sheets and the most comfy pillows I have ever rested my head on. I love a good hot shower, and that is exactly what I got. The soap, shampoo and towels were abundantly supplied. The hair dryer was very powerful for its size and over all, this is one of my favorite rooms to stay in! I was able to see a few of the other rooms, including the master suite, and was very impressed with the decor of all of these as well. Very nicely done!

As for the morning breakfast, I was greeted with freshly baked bread, granola, strawberries, yogurt, and more. It was all delicious! The coffee, which is freshly roasted by the host himself, is awesome! A great way to start the morning!

Over all, I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone as it was a truly enjoyable experience! Great location (walking distance to many of the top restaurants on the island such as the Brotherhood Inn, Queequegs, and the Centre Street Bistro) and very close to main street where the center of town is located.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

I was not going to send this review but decided that I personally depend on Trip Advisor, it was only fair to travelers and even perhaps the Centerboard to be honest.

We just returned from a wonderful 3 days in lovely Nantucket. Crowds were down and weather great, in fact one day was summer like. The only that marred our stay was staying at the Centerboard Guest House. Before I go any further let me say, James Blunt is an outstanding host. He truly does his best to welcome all guests and make them feel at home. Our problems began on the summer like day. We were on the second floor of the inn. A sign in the bathroom warned to turn off air conditioner before using hair dryer. I can understand that. What I could not understand was where the air conditioner was. Upon calling management we were told the air conditioners were down for the season. This was just September 15th. One of the reasons for choosing this Guest House was the ad that the rooms were air conditioned. We did find out that other rooms had air conditioning but not ours. Yes, the air conditioner may have broken down and they did not want to have it fixed this late in the summer, but we were paying the same price as those with air. It would have been nice to have it reflected in our rate along with the apology.

The deluxe expanded continental breakfast with home made pastries, coffee cakes or muffins was a half slice of loaf bread and cantaloupe. Cereal and yogurt was also provided. You actually felt ill at ease eating more than one piece of anything as there was not enough for everyone. It was a very uncomfortable experience.

Our room was nice. Bathroom small but you would expect that. What we did not expect was lack of soap! There was one small bar of soap for the sink and that same bar was for the shower. Not a good experience. We did have to ask for more soap and the next day it was provided.

This is not our first time in Nantucket, but our first and last at the Centerboard Guest House. I had read all the raving reviews and wanted to stay there.

My mother always taught me not to say anything if I could not say something good. I thought twice about doing this review but know I would have wanted to know about these unnecessary inconveniences on our otherwise lovely stay in Nantucket!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lordfarthingham, Manager at Centerboard Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2009
First let me say how sorry I am that the guest had an unsatisfactory experience here more than 6 months ago. With such a long run of uniformly positive reviews, hers came as quite a shock to me. As the Centerboard's resident manager I do my best to ensure every guest's utmost comfort and well being. I firmly believe that if this guest had been more communicative with me while she was here I could have made things right. If she had said, "Please put the a/c back in," I would have, no further discussion. If she had wanted more of anything we offer at breakfast all she had to do was ask. As for the soap, we try to conserve where possible. The sinks have liquid soap pumps. One bar of bath/shower soap usually is sufficient for two people staying a few days, but more is the guest's for the asking, as it was in her case. At the Centerboard we are genuinely committed to excellence in hospitality. We take all guest comments to heart and try to learn from them, as we will this one. Sincerely, James Blunt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

We stayed for almost two weeks during the holidays. Our room was the main suite, and it was better than expected. The house is wonderful and the inn keeper, James, is just the best. He knew how to balance hospitality and care, with an unobtrusive style. As wonderful as the beautiful old inn is, it was James that made our stay absolutely memorable. Of course Nantucket during the holidays is fantastic too!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centerboard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerboard Inn

Address: 8 Chester Steet, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a whaling captain's family manse, the 1886 Victorian structure, now a popular Nantucket MA bed and breakfast, was completely remodeled by new owners Paul and Lauri Benk in 2012. The interior has been painted and detailed; the floors refinished; furnishings, fixtures, carpeting and rugs have been replaced; and perhaps most importantly, all beds have been replaced and fitted to be luscious and inviting; featuring fine linens from Frette, Matouk and Serena & Lily. Sumptuous down duvets top all beds at this Nantucket luxury inn, along with fluffy fresh down pillows (of course down-alternatives are available if you have allergies). Each guest room at this lovely Nantucket bed and breakfast has an individual refrigerator, air conditioning, and a beautiful private bath featuring Frette towels and bathrobes and Malin-Goetz spa amenities. Wireless Internet access is available throughout the Inn and iPads are now available for guests to use during their stay ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Centerboard Hotel Nantucket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centerboard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.