We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but very modern and informative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whaling Museum

Whaling Museum
15 Broad Street, P.O. Box 1016, Nantucket, MA 02554
508-228-1894
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 49 attractions in Nantucket
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The history of Nantucket's whaling industry and artifacts are exhibited at this museum.
Goldach, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Small, but very modern and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

very good film about Nantucket (check showing times), interactive programms, extraordanary friendly and helpful staff, very modern place. Check also the view over the harbour from the roof top terrace!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your trip to the Whaling Museum. We are delighted that you attended the presentations, had an opportunity to watch our original film, and found our dedicated staff to be helpful! We are also glad you had an chance to see the rooftop deck and the stunning view of Nantucket. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    75
    8
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Good history of Nantucket whaling days. The film a bit long but worth seeing. Good for kids and adults

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Whaling Museum. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and had an opportunity to see our film by Ric Burn, Nantucket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth a stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The whaling museum is worth a stop. Take the time to listen to the presentation on the Essex, the inspiration for Moby Dick. It is quite a tale.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Michele,
Thank you for your review of the Whaling Museum. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Essex Gam presentation and had a chance to hear a truly intriguing historic tale. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I would like to have spent more time here, but we only went over for the day, so we cut the time short, the Scrimshaw display is wonderful, the timeline is amazingly informative. Beautiful view from the top of the museum..

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so glad that the Whaling Museum was part of your day trip to Nantucket. We hope that you come back for a longer visit the next time that you are here. We have wonderful daily presentations as well as screenings of our film Nantucket that will add to your overall experience and provide a wonderful, in depth perspective on Nantucket's history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is one of the best museums I have been to a long time. If you have read accounts of the ill-fated Essex whaling expedition, it is even more fascinating. If not, it is worth going to the daily talk ("gam") about it. And if you miss that, it is still a great place to visit!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Randy,
I was just thrilled to read your review of the Whaling Museum. Your sentiments certainly reflect our mission and we are more than delighted to know that we met your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We look forward to seeing you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whaling Museum also viewed

 

Been to Whaling Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whaling Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Whaling Museum to your Saves list