We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big beach that's perfect for kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jetties Beach

Jetties Beach
Jetties Beach, Nantucket, MA 02554
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 45 Attractions in Nantucket
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best island beach within walking distance of town, Jetties is ideal for kids.
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Big beach that's perfect for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Jetties Beach is very popular with families and with good reason. There's plenty of beach to go around and the water is warm and shallow due to the sand bar. With no surf it's perfect for smaller children. The Jetties beach bar and restaurant is fun, lively and right there on the beach with you. Facilities include restrooms with showers, a shop (in case you forget your sunscreen - but don't faint at the super high price tag for that little bottle). Nice touch is the 'walkway' out to the beach by the water, makes the little bit of a walk easier for little ones (and elder ones) on the sand. If you walk around the point to the right of the jettie you'll find a place to rent sea kayaks, small sailboats, etc.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    19
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berea, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Calmer because of its location on the Bay side. Sand bar out about 30 yards from beach is great for little kids to sit on and have soft waves come to them. Really decent food at its beach restaurant and bar.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Walkable from town, friendly crowd, good amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I had only one afternoon to spend at the beach, and nothing with me but my suit and a towel. I was able to rent a chair and umbrella and buy lunch, all without hassle. It's a nice, long, sand beach with a lifeguard. The walk from town might seem long for some, but it sure beats dealing with the traffic and parking.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great beach to spend the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

After visiting several other beaches on the other side of the island, it was nice to finally go to one where the water was clean enough, calm enough, and a comfortable enough temperature, to go in and enjoy. For these reasons, however, Jetties beach is perfect for families with babies, toddlers, and young children - and that demographic certainly dominated the crowd. My 3 kids, 9-13 years, would have preferred waves (as would have I, my husband, and 71 year old father) but at this time of year, the waves were much too rough, the water a bit too cold, and the wind a bit too cool for us to do any swimming at the other beaches where we'd previously gone. We were all quite happy to be able to fully immerse ourselves in the water. The snack bar and clean restrooms ensured that Jetties beach was an ideal place to spend a really nice beach day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sankbn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shallow Sandbar is a HOMERUN for Kids of ALL Ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Great beach with a couple hundred yard long sandbar due to the huge jetty. Kids love it as did I as we raced across it every which way playing catch and tackling one another. 10 out of 10 beach for kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jetties Beach also viewed

 

Been to Jetties Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetties Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.