We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jetties Beach

Jetties Beach
Jetties Beach, Nantucket, MA 02554
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 69 things to do in Nantucket
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best island beach within walking distance of town, Jetties is ideal for kids.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just OK...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Jetties is conveniently located, has the best amenities of any Nantucket beach, and has a nice playground area and fun tide pooling opportunities to keep the kids busy.

When I look for a beach, though, I look for sand, surf, and sights.

Jetties' medium-to-coarse sand is nothing to write home about, there is no surf (being a bay-side beach), and it isn't particularly beautiful to me. While you may get good glimpses of sailors and kite surfers doing their thing, enjoy the convenience of the OK restaurant, or have fun playing ball on the wide expanse of sand, I would trade Jetties for any of the south-facing beaches any day of the week.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    19
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“PACKED WITH FAMILIES!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Average beach thats packed full of families vacationing. This beach has little to no waves or currents, so I take it these are factors in which families choose this beach. Also it is a great place to watch the ferries and passing boats. As far as the beach it's self, its quite rocky with shells all over, not the most pretty on the island but it does get better the ore you walk towards steps beach.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Child friendly gorgeous beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great for kids especially at low tide. Nice changing facilities and good restaurant right on the beach.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Burgers on the beach and a cold beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Perfect locatiojn on the beach with families, not a smart restuarant but a relaxed location to grab a beer and some food whilst at the beach. Shorts and flip flops kind of sums it up!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, Ny
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice beach fair restaurant - good kid place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had two family dinners - 9 of us at Jetties restaurant. The first night there was a wait of almost 2 hours at 6:30 PM. The kids enjoyed playing in the sand and at the playground. The adults found some chairs and had wine in the sand while we waited. I ordered lobster - it was fair. The kids enjoyed hotdogs - all beef. Popsicles were not so healthy. Service was fair.

Second night we came early - 5:30 and got right in. We had calamari - ok - hamburgers - ok - they had no raw onion., margueritas, chardonnay and white Bordeaux - and it all seemed overly expensive for what it is.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jetties Beach also viewed

 

Been to Jetties Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetties Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.