We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   426 Southbridge St, Auburn, MA 01501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were in transit when we found this hotel with the help of our GPS. There are no restaurants within walking distance of this hotel so we could not have our before dinner drinks in our room since we had to drive. Room was nice and breakfast offered with the price of the room. An OK place to stay. Could detect cigarette smoke in the bathroom... supposed to be non smoking. Front entrance untidy with cigarette butts etc.

Room Tip: Unable to suggest how to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
16
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have a non smoking room but it smells like there is a cigarette smokeathon in the building or something. It just reeks of smoke and air freshener. I'd ask to switch rooms or something but the hotel is full. Admittedly I live in Wisconsin where smoking is allowed pretty much nowhere. Otherwise, the room is ok - bathroom is pretty clean. Carpet is...well, I am keeping my shoes on. Bed spread is pretty cheap. I would have definitely paid more for a better room somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Of the four Choice motels we stayed in during our vacation, we voted this one #1.
The room had two beds with a large bathroom with all the amenities, refrigerator, microwave, etc.
It was clean and quiet for a good nights rest.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
They offer a large complimentary breakfast to start the day.
There is a mall across the street and other shops and eating places within a short drive.
It has a great location to the Mass Pike and I-290. If you are coming off the Mass Pike take I-290 to exit 9.

Room Tip: I would suggest the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Average hotel. Room was a little dirty in spots, and the walls are very thin. Could hear a lot of what was going on in the next room. Beds aren't that big. Will do if you are in need of a place in a jam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Jake,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Comfort Inn Auburn. I will share this review with my housekeeping team to ensure that are cleanliness exceeds our guest expectations. This review will be used as a training exercise to aid the entire property team to ensure a higher standard of quality.

We hope that the next time you are in the area you will give us a chance to show our higher standard of quality.

Sincerely,

Brian McNally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Clean. Very good mattress. Coffee 24 hours. Library. Excellent location. Close to shopping and good restaurants. Friendly staff. What else do you really need? Easy access. This is the second time I've stayed here in two years time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Spent four nights here on a business trip. Never felt comfortable. The sheets, towels, pillows, blankets are subpar. Coffee pot did not work- my frustration the first morning was real. They fixed that for day 2. I requested better towels after day one, and was given two stacks of the same dingy stuff. Day 2, the desk and counters were covered with a shiny slime, visible and scary. Day 3, I had to find a room service person for bath towels- after they had "cleaned" my room. (also,bathroom sink had nicks and dings in it.) Had to call desk one night to request that children and dog? stop running up and down hallway. The good thing here- the breakfast room opened at 5, and it was clean and simple and fresh. Overall, business trips only. I don't like having dogs in the hotel wihout notice.

Room Tip: Ask if there are dogs on your floor. Good luck with the towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were forced to stay here a few nights when our other accommodation plans to stay with family didn't work out. Comfort Inn, Auburn could only put us up for 3 nights, not the 4 nights we needed; so we had to transfer to the CI in Marlboro (near Solomon Pond) for our last night in the area. The check-in, lobby area, common areas and room all were acceptable. Room layout was good for us, bathroom and shower OK, although not real clean. Service from all staff personnel was above average, helpful with all requests, including setting up our stay in Marlboro.
Buffet breakfast was fair; we always enjoy this offering while traveling and their morning were more than adequate to start each day. Although the hotel was fully booked with hungry students and parents; the buffet remained well stocked after they had all departed and we settled in for a quiet breakfast.
Nice, but small exercise room.
No noise issues from nearby highway (I-290).
Lots of stores and eateries nearby; check out "Bentley's" formerly "Piccadilly Pub" (one of our faves) just up the street about a mile for some fine pub fare. "Major League" diner on Rt.20 also pretty swell foodstuffs.

The bumps in the road staying at Comfort Inn, Auburn, MA. included:
1) Excessive loud door slamming of adjacent rooms at all hours - a common problem in many hotels; soft/silent door closures need to be installed.
2) Thin walls; noise in adjacent rooms will disturb even the soundest sleepers. We were forced to call the front desk after 1AM to get the folks next to us to quiet down.
3) Worn and sticky carpets - bring slippers or flip-flops; bare-footing will get your feet nasty real quick.
4) Smokers invade clean-air space! The 1st floor back door at end of non-smoking rooms corridor was continually blocked open each night by smokers who congregated right outside to do their thing. Smoked wafted up the "clean air" corridor, into our room...bleccch!

Room Tip: Avoid "door smokers" and smoking odor by choosing a room away from the corridor ends on 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 426 Southbridge St, Auburn, MA 01501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete renovation 2014 including new bathrooms, carpet and wall vinyl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Auburn
Comfort Inn Auburn
Auburn Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.