We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel om way home from Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Auburn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Auburn to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Auburn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10-12 Johnson St., Auburn, MA 01501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Watertown, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel om way home from Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

This is a nice Holiday Inn just outside Worcester, Ma. Rooms were spacious and clean. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    71
    20
    2
    4
See reviews for
73
37
11
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

we stayed here as a stop over, the hotel and our room was clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. This place is just as you would expect from the Holiday Inn Express properties. Breakfast was great, and the hotel is close to the highway and easy to find. There is plenty of secure parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

The many times I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, has so far been up to my standards. The rooms have been clean and well stocked with your needs. The hotel staff have been courteous and helpful, always there when needed.
Hey all in all, you can't beat that complimentary breakfast, if you leave hungry, shame on you. I certainly would return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011 via mobile

The GM, Vicki and the night auditor very helpful andnthe rooms are clean and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I recently stayed here with my wife during a visit to the Worcester area and found the hotel to be very nice for the price. The front desk staff present during check-in was friendly, helpful and efficient. They made us aware of complimentary breakfast hours and had us en route to our room in a matter of minutes.
Our room was larger than we had expected, also a nice surprise. A suite that allowed my wife to work on her laptop at the little couch in the adjacent "room" without disturbing my nap. A decent bed too. We both slept well. The hotel appeared fairly new and was clean throughout from what I could see. Our guestroom certainly was spotless. The bathroom was small but contained all the essentials; soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion and plenty of towels. What more did we need?
Complimentary breakfast was fairly standard as they go; juices, coffee, teas, yogurt, fruit bagels, etc. as well as some hot items served buffet style. Eggs, sausage and cinnamon rolls to name a few. Not bad.
All in all a great value. Many of the hotels in downtown Worcester are very pricey and offer little more in amenities for a lot more money. Furthermore, some of these chains are tired and badly in need of update. Don't waste your money there when you could stay here for much less and be perfectly comfortable. The La Quinta nearby is a PIT!
The only shortcoming I found here was wifi service, which kept going in and out. It may have had something to do with our proximity to the actual machinary in the hotel, but was frustrating at times regardless. Fortunately, we weren't there to get work done. Had I needed a more dedicated connection I would have tried the lobby or a corded system. Oh, and along those lines, there is a public computer station on the first floor for guests to use if they don't have their own computer with them. Two desktops and a printer could come in handy for researching area attractions.
I handed my key cards in at check-out and the woman who took them was curt, could have been friendlier honestly, but ceratinly will not deter me from choosing this hotel again. Dealing with the public day in and day out can be taxing, I know, but let's try to remember that this is the service industry. I'm in the business too and a smile or a "Thanks for staying with us!" goes a long way.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killington, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The nice thing about the Holiday Inn Express is that you get a consistent experience, a clean room and a decent price. The Holiday Inn Express in Auburn, MA provided all that with large rooms with kitchenettes, complimentary breakfast and fair service.

Unfortunately where this one failed was in having lots of problems with room keys. There were multiple weddings going on and when we returned from the one we were at, there was a long line at the front desk. We thought that was weird but went up to our room where we quickly realized that our room key did not work. That line was all the other people whose room keys also did not work. The one person working the desk eventually told us that the keys are extremely sensitive and demagnetize if next to credit cards, cell phones, etc. This cause a long delay on getting into our room and was a bit of a pain.

The other problem with this property is the elevator. It may be the slowest elevator in the world. The hotel only has 4 floors, but this elevator made it seem as if there were 40! We spent a lot of time waiting for it to come.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed there because our son goes to a college nearby. Got there around 4pm, and the check in counter was packed. There were 2 front desk clerks and they handled everything with grace and ease. Got to our room, microwave and fridge were nice. The internet code worked great (note: you have to get a code for each device). Breakfast was satisfying. 2 complaints…. #37 room (or at least 437) had a housekeeping closet next to it, so it gets noisy early ….and…they only have 1 elevator (that I saw), and it gets backed up frequently.

Room Tip: Ask for you room NOT to face the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Auburn

Address: 10-12 Johnson St., Auburn, MA 01501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Auburn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn!The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn is conveniently located in the heart of central Massachusetts and is easily accessible from I-290, I-395 and I-90 (Massachusetts Turnpike).The Auburn hotel is only minutes away from downtown Worcester, which is home to the DCU Center, as well as the Hanover Performing Arts Center. We are also a short distance from the Thompson International Speedway and the Brimfield Antique Fairgrounds. The Auburn hotel is accessible to many colleges in the area that include Clark University, Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI), College of the Holy Cross, Assumption College and Becker College.Old Sturbridge Village, an outdoor living history museum depicting life in the 1830s, is just a short distance from our Auburn hotel. Stay connected with our equipped business center complete with PC and printer. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center or easily turn business into pleasure with our oversize hot tub. The retail pantry offers last minute convenience items, snacks, and beverages. Receive complimentary deluxe Express Start Continental breakfast daily and at the end of your hard day unwind in our comfortable Simply Smart bedding. Come experience the great value and exceptional service in Auburn and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Auburn Hotel Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
Auburn Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Auburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.