We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the Meatloaf!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bentley Pub and Restaurant

Bentley Pub and Restaurant
602 Southbridge St., Auburn, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Skip the Meatloaf!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nice atmosphere and service. But skip the meatloaf. It's awful. Comes out cold and dry. Lukewarm sauce from the can with mushrooms. Meatloaf was rolled like it came straight from a dog and sauce added. Staff did not come back to table until the meal was over. I ate the side dishes and left the rest for the chef's dog. I bet the dog could not eat it either. Tell the chef to make real meatloaf and at least heat it up and make it tasty.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    34
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

my wife and I ate there. I had the Rueben Sandwich with fries . Sandwich was very good,
fries ok , My wife had the lobster pie , sides where baked potato and summer squash , food was
very food my wife thought the potato and squash could have been hotter
We shared apple pie and ice cream which was fine ,
Also nice touch is popcorn and cheese and crackers to start. Service was very good.
would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Glad they're back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

So glad they brought back the Picadilly as the Bentley - we went to the Picadilly for years. It's kind of like the Cheers for when we're in the area. You know the food, you know the drinks, it's reliable and always good! Go for the lobster roll, the clam chowder, the fish & chips....

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“I think cardboard with breadcrumbs!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Dropped into this place today for lunch, very disappointed.

They had a lunch promo, 2 for $20. I am totally amazed that food can actually be prepared to taste like nothing, not even bad! Just NO taste whatsoever, except for seasoning. We both ordered the baked haddock filet, which was probably not haddock, probably frozen, and definitely horrible X 2, a unanimous opinion. Rice... hmmm, well just rice, the veggie also unimpressive. The special came with an appetizer, chicken tenders of some sort, also mostly flavor-less, also with a desert choice (brownie), well it was sweet.

With 2 for $20, I shouldn't expect much, but hey guys, you need to up your game and maybe the prices to make the food edible, not a sideshow to the beer. I think this ranks as the worst meal I've had in quite some time. Not sure about the rest of the menu, but for sure steer clear of the fish!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good Lobster Roll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very friendly staff and helpful suggestions about the menu. Food was good and served quickly. Then went back after work for a glass of wine and popcorn.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bentley Pub and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bentley Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bentley Pub and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.