We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Clams!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Clam Box

The Clam Box
916 Southbridge Street, Auburn, MA 01501
508-721-2526
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 49 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Toano, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Clams!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Boston from CT. It was my first time eating fried clams with the bag, they were wonderful! I grew up in VA, but my parents grew up in MA, they were in heaven.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    2
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Endicott, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Check your takeout order before you leave.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Phoned in an order for 3 meals. Each was to come with cole slaw and a choice of potato. What I received were 2 meals without and one with cole slaw and fries...no choice. Since the parking lot was empty, I suspect the experience would have been about the same had I ordered to eat there. The food I tried was good but getting an incomplete order drops their rating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great seafood !! (:”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

They have great tasting seafood, & they have three locations in Central Massachusetts. They also have ice cream in the summer.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was so excited to have clam chowder and clam cakes...I think that led to the major disappointment...the clam cakes were not cooked all the way thru, and the clam chowder was more of a soup than a chowder. And maybe because I took the fried clams home to eat...they were soggy, If I had not gotten it all to go, maybe it would have been better. I don't know. my 2nd trip there for another try wasn't any better.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A must on every trip to Massachusetts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I live in Texas but all of my extended family lives in New England, and my parents grew up in small town Western Mass, where some of my family still lives. We come back for visits at often as possible, especially at Christmastime. I love the roadsize seafood shacks back East, and I look forward to visits to The Clam Box (Brookfield location) every time we visit! I love their clam strip meals, and I think the tugboat size is just the right amount of food for me. When we were there last, a couple of days before Christmas, the haddock catch of the day was also amazing! Then, the icing on top of a great meal is the amazingly creamy ice cream. Last year they were out of my favorite pistachio so that made my visit this year. All in all, The Clam Box is a family staple!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clam Box also viewed

 

Been to The Clam Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clam Box, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.